T5W Nov. 9th – Characters You Used to Love But Don’t Anymore

t5w-nov-9

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Characters You Used to Love but Don’t Anymore. There actually aren’t that many characters that this has happened to me with but I managed to find a few that I’ve lost love for over time or outright hated after a re-read.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Tris Prior
from Divergent
by Veronica Roth

Divergent Cover

 I don’t usually talk about this series even though I’ve read and I own all three books, because of how disappointed that I was with the third book. But I’ve realized over time that that wasn’t my only problem with it. When I first read it, I really liked Tris’ personality, but looking back, she’s kind of annoying. She’s a martyr and has a kind of hero complex which led to her demise obviously which is a reason why I just don’t care for her anymore.

#4: Patch
from Hush, Hush
by Becca Fitzpatrick

Hush, Hush Cover

I haven’t made my distaste for this series a secret and it was much more disappointing because I really enjoyed it the first time I read it when I was younger. Patch seemed like such a sexy, heroic and powerful love interest when in reality, he’s an overbearing jerk who plays with the main character’s emotions, who isn’t that great either. Not a fan of either of them to be honest.

#3: Scarlet
from Scarlet
by A.C. Gaughen

Scarlet 2 Cover

This is another case of I thought that the main character was totally badass and kick ass but really, it comes down to her being a martyr. Which while not a bad thing, it’s not something that I really like in female main characters because it perpetuates the idea that women have to put everyone before themselves. So while I definitely don’t hate or dislike Scarlet, and I enjoyed this series, I don’t love her as much as I used to.

#2: Celaena Sardothien
from Throne of Glass

by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass Cover

I’ve been a huge fan of Celaena since I started reading this series last year but after Queen of Shadows, I haven’t really connected with her that much. I think her shift in characterization was really harsh and I wasn’t the biggest fan of it. While I don’t hate her and I still like her, Manon is definitely my favorite character of that series now.

#1: Jacob Black
from Twilight
by Stephanie Meyer

Twilight Cover

When I first read this series, I absolutely loveddd Jacob. I was Team Jacob all day every day (though I did not want him with Bella) because I felt like he was the character that most resembled an actual guy. Edward always seemed too old fashioned and stuffy to me. However, now that I look back on it, describing Jacob that way isn’t the biggest compliment. Both of the love interests in this book are rude, self-centered and try to force Bella’s will (the little she has). I wouldn’t want either of them to be honest.

So that’s it for this post! I would love to know what are some of the characters you used to love but now don’t. Let me know what you think of my choices and if you’ve had any similar realizations now that  you’re an older reader. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

9 thoughts on “T5W Nov. 9th – Characters You Used to Love But Don’t Anymore

Leave a Reply

