How to Train Your Dragon Book Tag

how-to-train-your-dragon-book-tag

Hello everyone!

It’s Saturday which means today is time for another tag. Jessica @ Pore Over the Pages tagged me to do the How to Train Your Dragon Book Tag which she created. I loved the first movie of this franchise and this reminded me of how much! I really need to make watching the sequels a priority but then again, I say that about a lot of movies. Anyway, this tag has a lot of questions and I’m gonna keep this as brief as I can.

SO let’s get started!

Hiccup.png

Deep Blue Cover

Hiccup started out as a failure to his people. He wasn’t adept at dragon killing. Suddenly, he knows the ins and outs of the creatures he is supposed to despise. He becomes popular, and in turn he tries to use his fame to create an alliance between the humans and the dragons. In the end, he changes the minds and hearts of everyone in Berk.

It took me awhile to get into this book because while it is young adult, it reads a lot younger. But I’m glad I kept going because it’s a really fun story and series.

Astrid.png

The Wrath and the Dawn Cover

Astrid is the fierce female viking. She is strong and smart, the perfect contender to be a dragon killer. She is suspicious of Hiccup and eventually discovers his secret. Once she sees the beauty in and of the dragons, she is usually by Hiccup’s side. She stands for her beliefs and helps her friend to the very end.

Shazi is definitely one of the strongest female characters that I know. She’s brave and smart and crafty. I love her growth throughout the duology and how she protects the people she loves.

Stoick.png

Etiquette and Espionage Cover

Stoick the Vast. He is the leader of the vikings of Berk. He is strong, determined, and caring. He can be thoughtless, but he does feel responsible for his people. He loves his family. After a while, he sees reason and recognizes his son’s greatness. He is a proud man, but he is even more proud of his son in the end.

Sophronia is definitely the leader of her little ragtag group of friends. She’s the one that catches the schemes that are going on and the one that convinces everyone to go investigate with her. Good thing they don’t get in too much trouble because of her.

Valka.png

Ice Massacre Cover

Valka goes out on her own to live with the dragons. She knows untold secrets and comes out of nowhere in the second movie. She sees the world in a different light, like her son. Nowadays, most books are a part of a series. Authors have a hard time containing their words and creative worlds = lucky us!

I’m not sure if this is self-published or not but considering that I got it as a free ebook, I’m sure it’s not published by a big publisher. Which is sad because this book and series are so underrated and under read. Check this out if you’re into LGBT+ and man-eating mermaids.

Gobber.png

The Naturals Cover

Gobber is loyal and funny. He is a teacher, friend, blacksmith, and so much more. He supports Stoick and Valka, Hiccup, and all others. “He’s a bit gruff, but his heart is always in the right place.” (credit) If you were Gobber, which book characters would you ship?

I don’t want to say the characters names because this ship is still tentative and not well established but I WANT IT SO BAD! They are so alike and so cute together and just so honest and kind to each other. I need it to happen, to solidify and to become end game. Like now.

Snotlout.png

the-bargaining-cover

Snotlout is impulsive. He speaks his mind and does what he wants. He is rude and also flirty. If he was a book lover, I’m sure he would buy a book because of an enticing cover, intriguing synopsis, or just because he can. Is there a book that you bought simply because?

Honestly, I got this book because that red cover immediately caught my eye but I never heard anyone talk about. I still haven’t actually, I’m the only person I know who has read it.

RuffandTuff.png

The Raven Boys Cover

Family and friends are the most important aspect in one’s life. Sometimes the representations in books are optimal (while other times the representation is non-existent). Books can contain perfect, desirable relationships that we all want to be a part of, so choose a book with a family or friend bond that you wish were real in your own life.

I’m sorry, you are weird if you read this book and you don’t want to be part of this crew. Honestly, I would take just being part of the 300 Fox Way house if I can’t be part of the cool kids. I just want to soak in these characters presence.

Fishlegs.png

Wolf by Wolf Cover

Fishlegs is intelligent. He knows dragons by the book, and by the book only. He inspires knowledge in himself and in others. As with Fishlegs, sometimes books make one want to learn something new, research a new topic, try a new experience, or go somewhere exciting. Name a book that makes you want to expand you horizons.

I’ve never been a fan of motorcycles. I hate them and they scare the crap out of me (though guys look really hot on them). But somehow, this book managed to get me wanting to learn how to ride a motorcycle just to kick ass on it like Yael.

Toothless.png

Ink and Bone Cover

Toothless is a Night Fury. He is the only one left of his kind, making him extremely rare. He is loyal, fast, intelligent, and cute. Find the bookish equivalent to Toothless, a novel that is not read too often/under-hyped that you adore.

I’m not sure if this really qualifies as under-hyped but I do feel like not enough people have read it. It’s a book all about books and libraries and it’s action packed and intense. I definitely recommend it if you’re looking for an unusual fantasy/historical fiction.

Boulder Class.png

The Girl of Fire and Thorns Cover

Those in the Boulder Class are solid and resilient. Meatlug in particular is tough, obstinate, slow, and lazy. Sometimes it is hard to pick up the motivation one needs to complete a task. Other times, there are bumps in the road, rocky obstacles that get in one’s way. Despite the struggle, we have to rise about the challenge and persevere.

The main character in this book has to literally climb rocks to save her life so I think this choice is pretty appropriate. I really enjoyed this fantasy which was a bit unexpected for me.

Mystery Class.png

The Lost and the Found Cover

Not much is known about the Mystery Class, hence the name. Dragons in this class are cunning and stealthy making them feared above the others. Barf and Belch are a part of this conundrum. While they share one body, each head has it’s own personality. To be effective they must work together.

Honestly, I don’t tend to classify books as mysteries even when they have them. I just call them thrillers and call it a day. But this one has a very prominent mystery which was intriguing and pretty crazy if I do say so myself.

Sharp Class.png

Glitter Cover

“Sharp Class dragons are vain and prideful, and they all possess sharp body parts.” (credit) These dragons are sleek and shine, honor and self-respect. They are beautiful and graceful with their pointed limbs and they know it.

I don’t think the main character in this series is vain, but she’s extremely self-centered which is very similar and annoys me just as much. I did not like her at all, I didn’t understand her and I feel like she got what she deserved.

Stoker Class.png

Wake Cover

Stoker dragons are small and unruly. They can literally set themselves on fire making them hotheaded. This class is an explosion in a tiny package. Find a book that is small, in physical size or page number, that is full of action, mystery, or willful characters.

This is an old love of mine. A really short book, a short series but one that is pretty intense even with the unusual writing style. I really loved reading it and now I kind of want to do it again.

Strike Class.png

Perfect Scoundrels Cover

Rare, powerful, inflexible, and loyal. These are some of the descriptor words for a dragon in the Strike Class. More prominent traits of the Strike Class also include blazing speed, cleverness, strength, and navigation. They are very rare, but very mighty. They are like a wild mustang horse: hard to train but loyal in the end.

I read this book from one day to another because it’s just that good, you guys. I ended up loving this series though not as much as I wanted to but this book was one of the best finales I’ve read this year.

Tidal Class.png

The Scorpio Races Cover

As the title suggests, Tigal dragons are associated with water, specifically the ocean. Those in this class are usually larger than most other classes. Water can be soothing, but not with dragons. For most book lovers, we enjoy a relaxing read near the water (as long as your book doesn’t get wet). For dragons, find a book that matches their habitat in setting.

This book is set in an island with man eating horses in the water which is much cooler than it sounds, I promise. The water has a lot to do with the plot as do the horses so I figured it’d be a great choice for this question.

Tracker Class.png

ever-the-hunted-cover

“Natural born hunters, Tracker Class dragons have a highly acute sense of smell or taste that enables them to track down and find things.” (credit) Sadly, we humans are not trackers. There are some forms of books that are hard to find, like versions from other countries, special editions, hardcopy VS. paperback, ARCs, and more. Like Stormfly, these books are a torturing “mix of beauty and brutality.”

I really, really wanted to read an ARC of this book. This is one of my most anticipated releases of this year but luckily, it’s release is coming very soon!

Unknown Class.png

girl-out-of-water-cover

There is a lack of knowledge about these dragons, so they have not yet been classified. They could be sorted in the future, but until then they are stuck in the shadows of information. Like debut authors and their books, they are new and haven’t had quite as much publicity and appearances in the book world to be fully understood.

I found out about this book on Twitter and have been anticipating it a lot since then. It’s gonna be one of those books that I pick up as soon as they release next year.

Eel.png

Fifty Shades of Grey Cover

Dragons don’t like smoked eel of lunch. They flinch and cower from the striped delicacy. Like the eel, there are some books that people just won’t touch. It could be because of a passionately harsh fandom or because you don’t want the next book to ruin your experience with the previous. There are many reasons not to read a certain book, and while people will try to persuade you to pick it up, it is your choice to decide what you will read.

Yeah, I’m never gonna read this. I’ve read the fanfiction, I’m good.

I Tag:

Abby @ Abby Reads

Fadwa @ Word Wonders

Reg @ She Latitude

So that’s it for this post! Thanks again to Jessica for tagging me, I hope I did you tag justice! I would love to know what your favorite animated movie franchise is! I really need to continue watching these movies. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

19 thoughts on “How to Train Your Dragon Book Tag

  1. Wow, that’s a lot of categories!! Some of my favorites are on there though…The Raven Boys, Etiquette and Espionage, and some that are on my TBR (Deep Blue is still staring at me from my coffee table).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the tag! I’ve been meaning to read Rachel Caine’s series but I keep forgetting it amidst everything else I have to read…

    Also YES PLEASE WATCH THE SEQUEL. I just rewatched HTTYD 2 like three days ago and sobbed like crazy, it was so good. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome! It’s much better than I thought it was going to be honestly. I haven’t read any of her other books though
      Aww yay! Not about the crying but that it was good haha I need to make time to watch more movies. There’s so many I’ve wanted to watch but haven’t yet

      Like

  3. This tag is awesome! Who doesn’t love How to Train Your Dragon? I was very lucky to receive an ARC of Ever the Hunted and after putting it off for a while I finally picked it up. WOW! You are going to love it. The fantasy world, action and romance were really well done. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These answers are great! I’m excited for Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman too. Also, I love your choice for Boulder Class as The Girl of Fire and Thorns. I really want to reread that series.
    I know my book tag was long, but I wanted to do the movies justice. Thanks so much for participating and I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂
    Happy reading!

    Jessica @ Pore Over the Pages

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks Sara for the tag 😀
    What I really love about your tags is that I always discover new books that sound AMAZING !!
    I get that feeling with Wolf by Wolf haha! That book made me want to ride a motorcycle too. I”m reading Blood for Blood now,and OH MY GOD YOU NEED TO PICK IT UP ASAP !! It is so damn brilliant!
    I’m excited about Girl out of the Wzter as well because it sounds fantastic and the author is so nice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

