Book Traveling Thursdays Nov. 24th – It’s Thanksgiving!

btt-nov-24

Hello everyone!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING! I wish I was in the US right now because I miss Thanksgiving a lot. It may not be the best holiday but I kind of consider it the kick off to Christmas which is my favorite holiday. I hope you all have a great day and that you stuff yourselves full.

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is It’s Thanksgiving! Choose a book you’re thankful you read. This is really hard for me to think about because I’ve loved a lot of books but I don’t have many books where I’m truly and completely thankful for. I’m thankful for reading in general but there aren’t a lot of books that move me enough for me to be thankful for them. However, I finally managed to find a book that fits just that description.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is Forever… by Judy Blume. I read this book back in seventh grade. I specifically remember reading it in my first period math class which was not the smartest idea because this book deals with characters having their first times together. This book opened my eyes to my sexuality and what I wanted to learn for myself and I’m really grateful for that. This is the first book that I read which I feel portrayed sex in a very healthy way and it changed my though process.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

forever-1995-cover  forever-1989-cover  forever-1989-cover-2 forever-1984-cover  forever-1982-cover

I am not sure which of these is the actual original book cover because all of these are from the 80’s and 90’s. I’m sure you can tell because we don’t have these kinds of covers anymore and I’m actually pretty glad about that. There’s nothing particularly wrong with them, they just look so old! The illustrations, the images, the fonts, they all just scream old.

My Favorite Covers

Forever Cover  forever-2012-cover  forever-2014-cover

The first cover is the one that I always use when I talk about this book because it’s the one that the book I read had. I’m a fan of it because I feel it’s very accurate as well as subtle. Anyone who saw me with it probably did not expect me to be reading slightly graphic sex scenes which I definitely appreciated. The second I just find really cute. It’s the kind of contemporary cover I could get behind. It’s more artsy than any of the other usual covers which I appreciate. And the last one, I just like that it has a cherry cause it makes it funny. Hee hee.

My Least Favorite Cover

forever-2011-cover  forever-2007-cover

You can all assume that the original covers up above would also be on this list. These two other covers are both too juvenile and too adult. The first feels more like a MG which is not a good idea considering the content. And the second feels more like an adult romance which again is not that good because the characters are in their teens. And they just don’t look good.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

Send off

3 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Nov. 24th – It’s Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

