The New York Times ‘By the Book’ Tag

the-new-york-times-by-the-book-tag

Hello everyone!

I am back today with another tag! My lovely friend Reg @ She Latitude shared this tag a little while ago and even though she didn’t tag me, I decided that I wanted to do this anyway. This tag was originally created by Marie Berg on YouTube.

SO let’s get started!

What book is on your nightstand now?

shadow-kiss-cover  All In Cover  A Million Worlds With You Cover

Since I don’t read any physical books, I don’t have anything on my nightstand. But considering that I leave my iPod on my nightstand and my ebooks are in there, I decided to share the books I am currently reading. These are all series I’m hoping to finish this year. Wish me luck!

What was the last truly great book you’ve read?

The Naturals Cover

I had a different book picked out for this question though I changed it at the last moment. However, this series and this book have become a favorite of mine these last few months. I love them so much. They’re kind of like my perfect contemporary thrillers. READ THEM!

If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

victoria-schwab

I would love to meet and have a conversation with Victoria Schwab and what I would ask her is: How do stories come to you? I’ve heard authors say that they hear the characters’ voices in their heads, sometimes they see the plot unfolding, shoot, sometimes they get them from dreams like Stephanie Meyer. So I’d love to know how those amazing stories that I love come to her.

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

the-secret-language-of-birthdays-cover

I am really into astrology and numerology and things like that so back in the US, I have two of these books that talk about a person’s personality and what they are based on a bunch of those different ologies I guess you can say. Honestly, reading my birthday page was like reading every personality quirk, everything problem, every good thing I’d ever thought about myself. Which is creepy but also really cool haha.

How do you organize your personal library?

Right now I don’t have much of a personal library, 20 books in total. But still I arranged them like I would’ve done if I had a bigger bookshelf. First I place the series then the standalones and then those are divided by genre.

What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet?

Untamed Cover

This is technically the last book in the Splintered series. It’s a collection of short stories and I’ve been meaning to read it since it came out, not only to read the epilogues but to mark the series complete but I just haven’t read it yet. But it’s a priority for me next year.

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?

Stalking Jack the Ripper Cover

I was really disappointed with this book. I had heard so many great things about it and I was excited myself because of the genre and the premise but it just did not live up to my expectations. I wish it had and I hope the series improves.

What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I almost wanted to copy Reg’ answers because hers are so awesome but I can control myself. I am usually drawn to stories that are realistic and heartfelt, books that can make me feel are my favorite, no matter the genre. And then I tend to stay clear of overly dramatic story lines or characters, they just annoy me.

If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

The Sun Is Also A Star Cover

I’m going to pretend that I would be able to give this book to Obama because I think he’d enjoy the story and it would be a great conversation starter with him which would be super awesome to have.

What do you plan to read next?

Winter Cover

I really want to finish this series before the end of the year and this book is on my TBR for the month. I haven’t had the best reading month at the moment but I’m hopeful that I can read all the books I still want to before the month ends.

I Tag:

Flo @ Flowless Books

Jen @ Reader in Reverie

Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions

So that’s it for this post! Thanks Reg for letting me steal this tag from you haha. I would love to know what you all think of my answers. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

5 thoughts on “The New York Times ‘By the Book’ Tag

  1. Sooo sad that you didn’t like Stalking Jack the Ripper! I ended up not picking it up though bc of your review and I feel like the hype has died down a little, and I discovered that I just don’t care for it that much after all. 😂

    Also it’s so cool that you’ve got books on astrology! I always enjoy reading those things, though it’s been a while since I actually look mine up. Have you always been interested in it?

    PS: Honestly you can consider yourself tagged for all of my tags. I would’ve wanted to know your answers anyway. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was not the worst, but also not the best representation of that genre. I have seen the hype die down which I appreciate because people who won’t enjoy it might not be as pressured to read it now, like you 😀
      I’m a huge astrology person! I identify with my sign to the max haha I sometimes use it to explain some of my behavior and everything. You should definitely check out those because they’re amazing. There’s three in the collection and I have two and it’s super awesome to read.
      Awww, thanks! I’ll keep that in mind. And same to you as well! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

