T5W Dec. 14th – Series That Got Worse with Each Book

t5w-dec-14

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Series That Got Worse with Each Book. I had to think about this a little bit because most of the time, luckily, as I continue a series the books continue to improve. But there have been some where the series just hits a nose dive after the first book and those are the series that I’m gonna talk about today.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Swoon Duology
by Nina Malkin

Swear Cover

The first time that I read the first book in this series Swoon I really enjoyed it. It stayed in my head a long time so when I decided to re-read it, I was very excited. However, how it was in my head and how it is was very different and it was kind of meh. But then I read the sequel which was just unnecessary. The story was fine as a standalone and the second book was just a bunch of drama and crazy ghost things that were really weird to read. Not a fan.

#4: The Jinni Wars Duology
by Amber Lough

The Blind Wish Cover

I really loved the first book in this duology, though I will admit that I ignored a lot of annoying things and bad executions because I completely got caught up in the story. So when I got to the sequel, I started it hoping for that same kind of immersive plot but that wasn’t there and the problems I could ignore before became glaringly obvious and the whole reading experience left a bad taste in my mouth. I would definitely suggest reading the first book as a standalone.

#3: Pretty Little Liars Series
by Sara Shepard

Pretty Little Liars Cover

I have to preface this by saying that I’ve only read the first two books in this series but I feel totally justified in placing it here because while the first book was okay, the second didn’t offer anything new and was kind of meh but the series has like twelve other books! If this kind of theme of kind of bland story continues for the rest of the series, I might die of literal boredom. It sucks because I think the tv show makes it seem like nonstop action and guessing games.

#2: Dark House Duology
by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Return to the Dark House

I loved, looveddd the first book in this duology. I read it two years ago and it never left my thoughts. So you can believe I was incredibly excited to read the second book but it just wasn’t as good. I still really liked it but it still left me unsatisfied. This is supposed to be the last book but there’s a lot left unsaid, undiscovered and hidden. It made me kind of mad because though the author wants to write a third book, it doesn’t necessarily mean it will be published. AND I WANT ANSWERS GUYS!

#1: Everneath Trilogy
by Brodi Ashton

evertrue-cover

I read this trilogy in 2014. I thought the first book was okay, nothing to write home about, the second book I enjoyed a whole lot more but then… I read this book, the third book. Never have I been more angry over a series finale in my entire life. I hate it, I hate it with a giant passion. It’s the most despicable thing I’ve seen an author do to a world they’ve created and I honestly don’t understand how what happened in this book seemed like the best solution.

So that’s it for this post! I would love to know if you’ve any of these series or books and if you felt the same way I did. My number one choice is the one I’m most angry and passionate about and I haven’t ever talked to anyone else who has read it, so let me know if you have in the comments! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

22 thoughts on “T5W Dec. 14th – Series That Got Worse with Each Book

  1. omg I was waaaay obsessed with Pretty Little Liars like before the TV series was even a thing haha. I actually couldn’t even watch the show because I loved the books so much and everything was so different I couldn’t deal. Then I kinda stopped reading for a few years and then I found out there were like a million books added to the series and I was just like “nope!!!” hahaha. Totally agree about Return to the Dark House! I loved how psychological it was, but it was so frustrating how many things were left unanswered.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rest assured Sara, that although there is non-stop action in the PLL tv show…you are not missing out on anything LOL. I regret having invested so much time on this show week by week feeling like a mouse chasing cheese on a string. After years of teasing viewers with revealing who A is I just couldn’t take it anymore. I quit during the last season as silly as it sounds because I watched for so long but that’s how frustrating it got LOL! I considered Everneath but I’m glad I did not, keep seeing mixed reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

    • HOW COULD YOU STOP AT THE END?! Honestly, I would be dying. To have spent so much time with the show only to reach the end and stop… I couldn’t do it. It would drive me crazy. I admire your strength friend.
      I told another commenter that if it still interested them, they should check it out since everyone likes different books but I can’t really recommend it to anyone since I really really hated how it ended haha

      Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly, the first book was good, I enjoyed it. But the way the series developed was not what I expected and made me really mad haha. I always say that if it still sounds good to you, you should check it out because everyone experiences books differently. If not, don’t feel too bad about passing haha

      Liked by 1 person

  3. One of mine would be Pretty Little Liars too. I was invested in the show at the beginning but it became far too overdramatic for my liking and it just seems to be dragging on for too long. I get that it’s a complicated plot but the length of it is ridiculous.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

