Top 10 Books of 2016

top-10-books-of-2016

Hello everyone!

It’s that time of year where I talk about my favorite books of 2016. I did this last year as well and on the very last day of the year too. It’s very important for me to spend every single moment that I can reading to make sure that this list is super accurate, because you never know, I could read a new favorite in this last week of December!

I will be sharing the books, their Goodreads link, my review if I have one and two sentences for why I love them.

SO let’s get started!

Before I start talking about the books, I wanted to share some of my reading stats of my 2016 reading year.

Total Books Read: 132 (125 books and 7 novellas)
Total Pages Read: 48,454 pages
Shortest Book: Power Study (27 pages)
Longest Book: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (870 pages)
Average Read Pages:  367 pages
Average Rating: 4.14 stars
5 stars: 35 books
4.5 stars: 25 books
4 stars: 41 books
3.5 stars: 14 books
3 stars: 13 books
2.5 stars: 1 book
2 stars: 2 books
1 star: 1 book

Genres Read:
Middle Grade – 9 books
Young Adult – 101 books
New Adult – 7 books
Adult – 15 books

Contemporary44 books (17 Thrillers, 19 Realistic Fiction, 18 Romance)
Historical Fiction – 28 books
High Fantasy – 23 books
Steampunk – 23 books
Paranormal –
22 books

Retellings9 books
Non-fiction7 books
Dystopian5 books
LGBTQ+3 books
Literary Fiction1 book

Authors Read: 69
 10 Male
 122 Female
(From Ecuador, Canada, UK, Australia, Puerto Rico and other Nationalities)

So last year I wanted to read more books written by male authors and I kind of did that. Not very well but I’m getting there. I just naturally pick up books by women. I’m really glad I discovered Contemporary Thrillers this year because they are now one of my favorite types of books!

Now onto my favorite books of the year! I am the kind of person that will rank my books from most favorite to not least favorite but still a definite ranking from 1 to 10. So I will be counting backwards from the last to my ultimate favorite book of the entire year!

Disclaimer: All these books received 5 stars from me.

#10: Frozen Tides (Falling Kingdoms #4)
by Morgan Rhodes

Frozen Tides Cover

Goodreads

After hearing so many rave reviews from fellow bloggers and readers, I finally picked up this series this year. I wasn’t that big of a fan from the first book, yet slowly but surely each one kept improving until this fourth book really blew me away and made me a fan of this series! I can’t wait to read the next book next month.

#9: The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn #1)
by Renee Ahdieh

The Wrath and the Dawn Cover

GoodreadsReview

This book completely and totally took my breath away when I read it. I thought about it so much after being done with it. The writing is beautiful, the story was captivating and I loved the characters. I’ve finished the series and while I love the sequel, this one is definitely my favorite of the two.

#8: Manners & Mutiny (Finishing School #4)
by Gail Carriger

Manners and Mutiny Cover

GoodreadsReview

I’ve been raving about this author for the entire year so I’m sorry if you’re tired of it haha. I just think that she’s amazing. Her books are really entertaining and fun and hilarious! They have a lot of complex and diverse characters and I think this one is my absolute favorite of this series.

#7: Wolf by Wolf (Wolf by Wolf #1)
by Ryan Graudin

Wolf by Wolf Cover

GoodreadsReview

Another duology that blew me away this year. It’s so sad that there’s not enough hype this series because it’s so amazingly well done. The writing is intricate, the plot is intense and the characters are so complex. I’m such a fan of this author and of her writing style. I’m still so obsessed with this duology and dying over it. Please read it!

#6: Ghostly Echoes (Jackaby #3)
by William Ritter

Ghostly Echoes Cover

GoodreadsReview

I feel like I haven’t talked about this series as much since I finished this third book but it’s so good guys!! This is a historical fiction series that has a lot of very unique paranormal elements and has a very Sherlock feel. It’s so much fun and so entertaining and I wish more people would read it. I’m so excited for the fourth book!

#5: The Sun Is Also A Star
by Nicola Yoon

The Sun Is Also A Star Cover

GoodreadsReview

I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH! I’ve raved about it since I read it and I’m not done yet. There’s so much richness and honesty in this book. I really connected with both main characters and their experiences with immigration, they both have similar things to my own story. It’s so beautifully and uniquely written and I’m sure that I’ll pick up any book by this author.

#4: Bad Blood (The Naturals #4)
by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

bad-blood-cover

GoodreadsReview

Yeah I know. You’ve heard enough about my love of this series, specially since I shared reviews this entire month but I REALLY want more people to read it. It’s so good! This is basically Criminals Minds in book form with teens. If that doesn’t sound good to you, then I don’t know what else to say. There’s a lot of graphic violence in this book I swear guys, it’s freaking worth it!

#3: Fire Study (Study #3)
by Maria V. Snyder

Fire Study Cover

GoodreadsReview

I’ve tampered down my screaming for this series now but you guys know this is my favorite of all time and there was no way I wasn’t going to have it on this list if I’d read a book this year. This is the last in the original trilogy and it’s definitely the most intense and action packed of all of them. If you haven’t picked this up yet, please do so! You won’t regret it!

#2: Love On The Ledge (On The Verge #2)
by Zoraida Cordova

Love on the Ledge Cover

GoodreadsReview

I haven’t talked about this book in a long time, but it’s one of my favorite books of all time and one of the books that I feel closest to. Even though the main character is Ecuadorian and I’m Venezuelan, I’ve never felt more represented in a book before in my life. This series is one of those realistic NA that I will always recommend!

AND MY FAVORITE BOOK OF THE YEAR IS
#1: A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic #2)
by V.E. Schwab

A Gathering of Shadows Cover

GoodreadsReview

Is there anyone surprised by this choice? I mean really, it’s been MONTHS since I’ve read this book and I think about it all the time, and I’m obsessed with this author and this series! I’m still not over what happened in this book and we’re so close to the next book! AHHH!

 So that’s it for my favorite books of 2016! Let me know if you’ve read any of them and what you thought. I am so excited for 2017 to begin to find even more books to add to my favorites list. I hope next year will bring peace and happiness for everyone. Thanks for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

send-off

11 thoughts on “Top 10 Books of 2016

    • Girl, I have a giant spreadsheet that compiles my stats of the year and you bet your ass I’m sharing it somewhere haha if not it looks like it’s for nothing 😂
      ACOL comes out in a month and I’m so anxious now!! I need it in my life. I hope you’re right and that you love the Naturals as much as I do 😄

      Like

  1. Ahhh, this is such a well-organized breakdown of all that you read this year! 😀 I love all the bookish lists.

    I have to admit that I didn’t really enjoy The Wrath and the Dawn, but I’m glad that you enjoyed it more! And I can’t wait to read A Gathering of Shadows, I’ve heard so many good things about it and that cover looks amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! It tried to be as thorough as possible haha
      I’m sorry you didn’t like TWATD but not everyone will like the same books 😊 it brings variety to our blogs hah
      Omg read it! As long as you’ve read the first book, you need to read it ASAP because it’s amazing!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

