2017 Personal, Reading & Blogging Resolutions

2017-personal-reading-blogging-resolutions

Hello everyone!

Today I’m going to talk about my resolutions for 2017. Not only blogging and reading wise, but also some personal ones so you guys can get to know me a little bit better.

I’m also going to go back and see if I managed to accomplish the resolutions that I set out for myself in 2016. I’m pretty sure I’ve done all the reading ones but my personal resolutions got kind of put to the side. Either way, we’ll see that in this post!

SO let’s get started!

2016 Personal Resolutions

  • Exercise at least twice a week –  Total fail!
  • Learn Italian Another total fail!
  • Make more friends I’m gonna call this a win! Besides becoming closer to some of my RL friends, I made so many new blog friends whom I love so I did it!
  • Go places where I have to dress up I think I’ll call this a win too because though I didn’t go out as much as I wanted to, I did get dolled up for the holidays so yeah!

Even though I didn’t accomplish all the things that I set out to do last year, I feel like 2016 was the year where I had the biggest amount of personal growth. The person I was when I started this year is so much different than I feel now. I hope to 2017 will involve a lot more personal growth too!

2016 Reading Resolutions

  • Read 120 books – Win! I managed to reach this goal and also surpass it by reading 132 books. I’m proud.
  • Read at least 2 Classics Huge fail! I didn’t even try guys haha. It’s really freaking hard to read classics on Kindle. I’ll try this again when I can buy physical copies.
  • Finish 5 series that I’ve already started Smashed this one! I finished like 21 series this year and I’m really freaking proud.
  • Start the series I shared on T5W ‘Series I Want to Start in 2016’ I’m calling it a win because I started 8 out of 7 series on that list. And I even finished some of them so yay me!
  • Continue participating in read-a-thons – I think this is a fail haha. I only did one or two read-a-thons in 2016… I don’t even remember how many I did!

2016 Blogging Resolutions

  • Create a discussion feature This is a win even though I still don’t really like my discussion topics or how I write them. I suck really bad at this feature but I’m doing it anyway! haha
  • Create a tag This is a giant fail. 2016 was the second year I had this resolution and I still didn’t do it. I just can’t think of anything creative!
  • Work on my graphics/blog style Considering how I changed my blog graphics twice since the creation of this resolution, I’m calling this a win. I’m really happy with my brand new design that I just debuted the first of the year. Thanks to everyone who has complimented it!
  • Comment on other blog posts every day I’m calling this one a win too, although I started slacking a bit in November and December. I just get so tired and lazy towards the end of the year that I kept forgetting to check my WordPress feed. But I still did well!

So I feel like overall I did pretty well with keeping up my resolutions. I have to say that I definitely paid more attention to my reading ones than the rest of them, I’d even forgotten some of the personal ones I’d made.

Now I’m going to talk about the resolutions I’m making for 2017!

Personal Resolutions

  • Be courageous

I have a tendency to play life safe, which is fine. It’s been fine for 22 years. But in 2017, there’s going to be a lot of changes in my life. Some I expect and a lot that I probably wont. And I want to stop feeling held back from things that look like great experiences because of my fear, or my anxiety, or my shyness. I want to be brave and I want to take chances and I want to go on adventures.

  • Start college and kick ass at it

This is a goal I’ve been working on since 2015, starting with therapy and looking into what I want to study and so on. I’m getting closer and closer to it but I’m still really afraid of failing at it. I want to be able to do all the things that I’m dreaming of and that starts with this step. So I hope that I can do it and that I can be successful at it.

  • Reconnect with old friends

I’ve spent most of my life moving to different countries. I’ve made a lot of friends in a lot of different places but every time my life shifts, I lose a lot of those friendships because lives continue and time is spent where you are and not where you were. It makes sense but this year, I want to reach out to some of those people that had impacted my life in a great and positive way and see if they are still positive influences and if I can build a friendship with them again.

  • Meet at least one blogger friend

This is probably the most farfetched out of all of my resolutions. Most of the close blogger friends that I’ve made since starting this journey are international. They are spread all over the world from Australia to Morocco to France and more. I doubt that I’ll be able to travel abroad this year but you never know what life has in store and maybe I can just video chat them and call it a win haha.

Reading Resolutions

  • Read 50 books

This one might sound a little weird considering that I read 132 books in 2016. Usually, I raise my goal (that’s what I did in 2015) but like I said above, my life is going to change A LOT in 2017. So I don’t know when I’ll have time to read or how much time I’ll have to read, so I’m trying to have low expectations haha.

  • Read more diversely

This is something that I know a lot of bloggers and friends of mine are doing this year and I can’t not mention it. However, since I organize my life to the single second, I have all of my TBRs for the year all ready. And since I have a theme each month, not each month has diverse books in it (I made these lists before making this resolution). So this resolution is the more relaxed out of this list, I’m not going to push myself to read only diversely, or punish myself if I don’t read as many diverse books as I want. I want it to be a more organic and slow progression from mainstream books to diverse books.

  • Finish 5 unfinished series

Yes, this is on this list again. I finished 21 series this year that I had unfinished which is great! But I still have 65 unfinished series on my shelf and many more added to this list every month since I can’t stop myself from starting new series all the time. So this year I’m also going to be making a conscious effort into finishing as many series as I can.

  • Branch out of my usual genres

When looking at my 2016 reading stats, I realized that 90% of the books I read this year were Young Adult books. That’s totally fine with me, that’s the genre I most enjoy reading. But at the same time, I realized that I’m growing up, I kind of resemble an adult now and I want to branch out into different genres in 2017. I have a challenge specially for this resolution and I hope that it’ll jump start me into reading more adult literature, though I’m definitely not letting go of YA anytime soon.

Blogging Resolutions

  • Create a tag!

Yes, I have this on my list again. I am freaking doing it okay?! This shouldn’t be so freaking hard for me. Every time I think I have an idea for a fun and unique tag, someone has already done it. Or sometimes I see an amazing tag and I punish myself because I didn’t think of it first. No more this year! I’m gonna pick something super awesome and finally make a really cool tag for all book lovers to participate in. Period!

  • Create a readathon

So this is like the dumbest resolution haha. If creating a tag isn’t hard enough, I thought it’d be a great idea to challenge myself to create a readathon. I might even ask some friends if they want to help me with this particular idea because I might not have enough time to take care of everything needed to make a readathon successful. But I think it’d be a really cool project to tackle this year.

  • Get back into my Soundtrack to My Book feature

While redesigning and updating my blog these past few days, I realized that I’ve neglected the first feature that I ever started on my blog. It’s called Soundtrack to My Book and I started it with my friend Gervan, we pick 8 to 10 songs that fit a book we read together. It got harder and harder to get together to talk about the songs we thought of and I honestly felt like I wouldn’t be able to pull it off without him. But I really want to try this year to do it alone and see what happens.

  • Have guests posts on my blog

Guest posts on blogs look really fun. I’ve done it once and it was a cool experience and I think it brings not only traffic to my blog but it also helps others get more recognition and interest. So this year I want to ask some of my blogger friends to guest post on my blog. I don’t know on which feature yet or if I’ll do it in one month with a theme, I don’t know. Let me know if you’d be interested in helping me out in the comments!

So that’s it for my resolutions this year! Let me know if you have any in common, or the one you feel will be most challenging from your own list. I feel like I did will with my resolutions from 2016 and I want to keep that momentum going. Please ask me throughout the year how they’re doing because I’m totally going to forget some of these at some point haha. Thanks for reading and see you on my next post!

send-off

26 thoughts on “2017 Personal, Reading & Blogging Resolutions

  1. You did so great with your 2016 goals, Sara!

    I absolutely love all the goals you’ve set this year too. I totally relate to so many of the personal goals you’ve set. I’ve had an on/off relationship with studying because of my irrational fear of failing. I’m sending heaps of positive vibes your way though and I hope it all goes how you want it too ♥ Come to Australia and visit me 😎 I’d be so on board for you creating a readathon!

    Good luck with all your goals for this year 💞

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks friend 🙂 I’m hopeful that I’ll keep my personal goals in mind this year since I forgot about most of them in 2016 haha
      I don’t think failing is an irrational fear, it happens, I’m scared of that too, terrified actually. But I want to accomplish my dreams more than I’m scared of failing at them. So I’m gonna try! And I hope someday you decide to do what is best for you and that it helps you in a positive way.
      Dude! I so would! I’ve already told Reg that I’ll visit her at some point so if I’m over there, I’ll jump over to wherever you are too haha
      I will think on it haha creating a tag has been such a struggle, I don’t know why I think creating a readathon is easier but we’ll see!
      Thank you friend! If you have any goals, I hope you kick their ass as well! haha

      Like

  2. You did great in 2016, I wish I could read that much haha I’ve also set my reading goal for 50 books this year, because I’m expecting a lot of changes in 2017 too :/ ALSO, YOUR NEW DESIGN IS SO PRETTY ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, I think you have done great with your resolutions the past year, especially when it comes to reading, this is AWESOME. I hope this year will be just as great!
    I love your new blogging design, it’s beautiful and light and I love these colors so, so much. I can’t wait to see what you got in stores for us this next year 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have SO MANY THOUGHTS for this post. Let’s see:

    – Congrats on reading 132 books! Did you review all of them? I think I read a similar number and it surprised the hell out of me – that’s like, a hundred books. That’s pretty crazy, haha.

    – As I said, I’m really loving the new look! The pastel colour scheme really works and I’m super into the watercolour flowers. I’d definitely consider that a win for you, too. 💖

    – 21 series is a CRAZY number, oh my god. Kudos to you for being able to stick with all of them – I feel exhausted just thinking about it and would much rather drop a series than push myself through the books, haha. How did you not lose interest?!

    – Creating a tag/original feature/readathon is also kind of on my blogging resolution list thingy. I’m HORRENDOUS at being creative though and honestly just often can’t be bothered putting in the time and effort to organise such a thing, especially when life/work keeps me already really busy. Good luck to you, though – I’m super excited to see what you come up with and I hope it’ll be a smashing success no matter what. 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gosh this scared me with how long it was haha
      -Thanks friend! I have reviewed almost all of them. There are some that I just didn’t want to share on my blog and some that I haven’t reviewed because I want to do a series review and I haven’t read them all, but yeah pretty much all of them haha.
      -Goodness, friend, that honestly means so much coming from you. I was so scared and nervous to share it and so many people have said such kind things, including you, so thank you!
      -I’ve DNF’ed three series before starting this year and I’ve deleted a lot off my TBR as well, but most of them are ones that I still really wanted to read and I’m glad I finally finished them 🙂
      -ME TOO! I’m a little scared to even try because I have no ideas but I want to give it a shot and see how I might be able to do that. I want to try new things with my blog this year and hopefully one of these is one of them haha

      Like

  5. I love this post! About the tagging! I believe you can do it! Maybe something to do with freedom…idk. I think we all could use a dose of a bit more bravery in our lives. I think everyone has some fear of the things they are unsure about. To a happier and more wonderful 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 132 books and 21 series!!! Teach me your ways! Wow. That is impressive. You’ve definitely done a great job at completing your resolutions. I’ve not made any resolutions myself yet but I am trying to be more courageous. I’m terrible at overthinking things and at times it has kept me from doing things I could have really benefited from. I want to not let those fears hold me back so hopefully I can do that this year. Good luck with college. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you haha Honestly, just being diligent and organized. That’s pretty much all I do to make sure that I complete the stuff I want to do.
      I hope you can find some courage this year, and try to do things that sound fun instead of passing on them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

