Book Traveling Thursdays Jan. 5th – New Beginnings…

btt-jan-17-5

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is New beginnings… Choose a book you would like to read for the first time again. I don’t really know if there are books that I would love experience for the first time again. I thought about Aristotle and Dante but I’ve already used that book for a BTT so I decided on another favorite book that I wish I could read all over again for the first time.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan, the first book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I read this book for the first time in 2014 when I first got my Kindle app and I pretty much swallowed the entire PJO series and the HOO series in like two weeks haha. That’s why I wish I could read The Lightning Thief for the first time again because I loved it so much at the time but I don’t remember what happened but re-reading it won’t feel the same.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

The Lightning Thief Cover

I really like these original covers, they’re classic and iconic. I love how bright the colors are and how each book has it’s own color scheme. The details in this aren’t as good as I typically like but I still really like the illustrations. I want to buy this series in physical form and I have no idea which kind I want because my faves are both so good!

My Favorite Cover

the-lightning-thief-dutch-cover  the-lightning-thief-movie-cover  the-lightning-thief-new-us-cover

Along with the original, I really like the covers that are similar to it. The first one here is the Dutch, I usually don’t like international editions. Sometimes they go way too over the top or they add to many details however, I like this one. It has New York, it has Percy with a sword and with us seeing his back which I like because I don’t have to worry about the model’s face. The second is the movie tie-in edition. I watched the movie before reading the books and I really enjoyed it. I now know that it’s an awful adaptation but I still have fond memories of it and I like how similar the movie cover is to the original. And the last one is the new US cover which is part of the new box set they came out with for the series. I love it! It’s close enough to the original that I’m not enough but more modern, more colors and more details.

My Least Favorite Cover

the-lightning-thief-czech-cover  the-lightning-thief-german-cover  the-lightning-thief-indonesian-cover  the-lightning-thief-penguin-cover  the-lightning-thief-uk-2-cover  the-lightning-thief-uk-cover

These covers really frustrate me, they are either too bright, they have too much detail and information or they have absolutely nothing to do with what the story is actually about. From top to bottom and left to right we have Czech, German, Indonesian, a random US version that I’ve never seen before and two UK covers I believe. Honestly, with international covers I can’t get mad too much. I’m sure they have some idea of what their own demographic in their country want so how do I know if they hate the cover? However, the UK ones really frustrate me. All the UK Riordan covers I think are not attractive in anyway whatsoever and it’s really annoying. Specially compared to the US ones.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

send-off

11 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Jan. 5th – New Beginnings…

  1. I started reading percy jackson the lightning thief a few months ago, but I had to put it down cos I was so busy with school. But I can’t wait until I get around to it again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

