January ’17 TBR – High Fantasy Theme

tbr-january-17-logo

Hello everyone!

Happy new year everyone! I am so excited to be starting a whole new year, I hope it’s a year filled with happiness and courage for all of you as well as for myself. Because I try to start the year off with my best foot forward, I try to do things that make me the most happy in January. That means that every year I start by reading books from my favorite genre, High Fantasy. This month is pretty full of series that I need to complete and I also have a lot of books that I didn’t finish in December that I need to finish this month.

SO let’s get started!

First Order of Business:
The Last of August and the princess saves herself in this one
by Brittany Cavallaro and Amanda Lovelace

The Last of August Cover  the-princess-saves-herself-in-this-one-cover

Only two review books this month which is super fine with me because I have so many books I want to read! The Last of August I got from Edelweiss in August of 2016 and I’ve been holding on to it until now so as not to read it too soon and I’m so excited that I can finally get to it! The princess saves herself in this one is a read now book from NetGalley. I haven’t read poetry since high school when it was assigned for us to read, but I follow the author on Twitter and a lot of people have been recommending this collection, so I figured I’d give it a try!

Goodreads  Goodreads

Read It While It’s Hot Challenge:
History Is All You Left Me
by Adam Silvera

history-is-all-youve-left-me-cover

I’ve been anticipating this book since I read More Happy Than Not and fell in love with Silvera’s writing. I think he does heartbreaking mixed with hopeful very well. I know that sounds really strange but if you’ve read his book before, you definitely know what I’m talking about. I can’t wait to read this book because so many people are recommending it and praising it so I hope I get to it this month.

Goodreads

2017 Debut Author Challenge:
Caraval (Caraval #1)
by Stephanie Garber

caraval-cover

If you’re around book Twitter at all, then I’m sure you’ve heard about this book. It’s been hyped since it was announced and a lot of people have been recommending and praising it. It sounds really interesting and entertaining and I actually have high expectations for this book and I hope it doesn’t let me down. Let me know if you’re reading it this month as well!

Goodreads

Read Like a Grown Up Challenge:
The Lies of Lock Lamora (The Gentlemen Bastard #1)
by Scott Lynch

the-lies-of-lock-lamora-cover

I’ve heard about this book from a lot of freaking people who love it. Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes, one of my favorite booktubers, read it and loved it and has been recommending it. I’m really nervous and really excited at the same time. I haven’t read any adult fantasy like ever and I hope it’s good! haha

Goodreads

Stand with the Loners Challenge:
Of Fire and Stars
by Audrey Coulthurst

Of Fire and Stars Cover

 I really hope this book stays a standalone because it’s really hard to find a standalone fantasy novel. Most are part of series so it was really awesome that I found this one, which was a late 2016 release that has a really interesting twist on betrothed princesses in fantastical kingdoms. I hope I enjoy it and that the story ends with finality.

Goodreads

Catch Up with the Release Challenge:
Shadow Study and Night Study
by Maria V. Snyder

Shadow Study  Night Study Cover

You guys should’ve seen these books coming at some point haha. Maria V. Snyder is one of my favorite authors and last year I finished her first two Chronicles of Ixia companion series. This is the third and it’s really exciting because it centers around Yelena again who is one of my favorite characters of all time. The third and last book comes out next month so I want to make sure that I read these this month!

Goodreads  Goodreads

Continuing Series:
Forest of Ruin, See How They Run, Forever, Untamed, The Hollow, Dark Wild Night, Shadow & Bone and Miss Mayhem
by Kelley Armstrong, Ally Carter, Maggie Stiefvater, A.G. Howard, Jessica Verday, Christina Lauren, Leigh Bardugo and Rachel Hawkins

Forest of Ruin Cover  See How They Run Cover  forever-cover  Untamed Cover  The Hollow Cover  dark-wild-night-cover  Shadow and Bone Cover  Miss Mayhem Cover

This isn’t happening. I know that, you know that and it’s okay. But the line above are the series that I have unfinished right at the end of the year and the bottom line are the series that I want to begin to finish this coming year. Who knows how I’ll organize myself this month to try to get as much of this done as I can?

Goodreads  Goodreads  Goodreads  Goodreads  Goodreads  Goodreads  Goodreads  Goodreads

Crystal Storm (Falling Kingdoms #5)
by Morgan Rhodes

crystal-storm-cover

So I just got really into this series toward the end of 2016. The beginning wasn’t the best but once I reached the fourth book, I was totally sold! I am dying to continue with the series because so much shit is about to go down. A lot of people have also been saying that there’s a giant cliffhanger at the end which is not the most comforting of thoughts, but I’m still so ready!

Goodreads

Seeker #1.5 and #2
The Young Dread and Traveler
by Arwen Elys Dayton

the-young-dread-cover   Traveler Cover

I started this series in 2014 when I got the first book as an ARC on NetGalley. The first one was good and I enjoyed it in general though it was really confusing at times. However, I wanted to see how the story would continue after the events of the first book but I just haven’t taken the time to continue. So I hope I’ll be able to read these books this month.

Goodreads

The Sleeping Prince (The Sin Eater’s Daughter #2)
by Melinda Salisbury

The Sleeping Prince Cover

I read the first book in this series in 2015 and it was kind of strange to be honest. It was a really weird and unique concept and I liked it well enough. This second book, however, is a companion book, it follows a different character than the one from the first book but continues with the same story/timeline. I’m interested to see how that changes the feel of the story and what happens next.

Goodreads

The Queen of the Tearling #2 and #3
The Invasion of the Tearling and The Fate of the Tearling
by Erika Johansen

The Invasion of the Tearling Cover   The Fate of the Tearling Cover

I read this first book in 2015 and I really enjoyed it! I’ve been wanting to continue with the series for a long time, but I wanted to wait until it was finished so I wouldn’t have to wait if something really crazy happens. However, the last book hasn’t had the best reviews so I’m pretty scared to see what happens.

Goodreads

Snow Like Ashes #2 and #3
Ice Like Fire and Frost Like Night
by Sara Raasch

Ice Like Fire Cover   frost-like-night-cover

Again, another series that I started in 2015 that I’ve been waiting to finish. I think the first book in this series was a solid start and I know a lot of people have really enjoyed it so I want to see how the rest of the story plays out. I love these covers too so it’s really appealing for me to pick these up soon haha.

Goodreads

Fire and Thorns #2 and #3
The Crown of Embers and The Bitter Kingdom
by Rae Carson

The Crown of Embers Cover  The Bitter Kingdom Cover

Finally, the last series I have on this TBR! I read the first book last year and it was so freaking good! I was actually really surprised that I enjoyed it as much as I did so I’m really excited to see what happens in the next two books. I’m really pumped for this slow burning romance that I’ve heard of and I have no idea what will happen next!

Goodreads

So that’s it for this post! You don’t have to tell me that I will not read all of these books this year. I know it’s not gonna happen, but I’m gonna do my hardest to make as many of these happen. Because I’m crazy and I like to read a lot haha. Let me know if you’ve read and/or finished any of these series and what you thought of them. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

send-off

19 thoughts on “January ’17 TBR – High Fantasy Theme

  1. Amazing TBR, Sara! So many of these are on my TBR! High fantasy really intimidates me so that’s probs why they’ve been on there for so long 😂 I really, really enjoyed Of Fire and Stars though! It wasn’t perfect, but I thought it was really cute and it was so great seeing a F/F relationship. It had the kind of ending that works as a standalone but could also potentially be used as a sequel. I think I saw somewhere that the author is planning on keeping it as a standalone though so! I really enjoyed Caraval and the princess saves herself in this one too!! I can’t wait for History Is All You Left Me even though I know it’s probs gonna break my heart hahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Lauren 🙂
      Can I ask why it’s so intimidating for you? It’s my favorite of all time so maybe I can help you out and try to help you try something that won’t be as scary for you.
      I hope I’ll get to read it then, apparently there’s been mixed reviews so hopefully I’ll enjoy it 🙂
      HIAYLM is gonna be heartwrenching, I just know it haha

      Like

  2. Wow…so many of these are on my TBR, but I haven’t read a single one! Horrible, isn’t it? I just got Of Fire and Stars…I’m hearing mixed reviews but have really high hopes!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeees for high fantasy! Probably my favourite genre of all-time, haha. I’m intrigued by The Princess Saves Herself in This One but not sure if I want to review it, so maybe I’ll just get a copy for myself instead of a review copy.

    Also hoping that you’d like Of Fire and Stars! That’s on my TBR too but I’ve been considering letting it go because reviews haven’t been all that good, but I think I’ll hold tight until I hear what you think and decide then. Have a good January, Sara! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I haven’t heard of The Princess Saves Herself in This One, but the title alone intrigues me. I only started reading adult fantasy last year, but I absolutely loved it! I’ll have to add The Lies of Locke Lamora to my goodreads TBR! Another fantasy standalone is The Valiant by Lesley Livingston. It’s coming out in February (I’m pretty sure!) and I really enjoyed it. 🙂 I haven’t read Falling Kingdoms yet, but it is one of my goals this year! I personally can’t do TBRs just because I suck at keeping to my reading plans. Good luck! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t started it yet but I’m really looking forward to it! I’ve heard of The Valiant but haven’t really checked it out in depth, I’ll definitely do so soon.
      TBRs aren’t for everyone, I really enjoy making mine but just reading in general is good haha 😄

      Like

  5. So many books and as a lover of Fantasy I have to say that it’s great!!!
    I have had a Girl of Fire and Thorns for a while on my shelf but I want to own the other before I start it. I have heard is great so I want to have them all!
    Good luck with this TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So many great choices!! I read Miss Mayhem back in 2015, I still need to read the last book. I’m hoping to read Of Fire and Stars soon. I’ve been seeing mixed reviews for it, but I’m still really excited for it, haha. Good luck with your TBR this month, I hope you like all your books! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! A lot of people have said that the second book isn’t as good as the first but since I didn’t love Rebel Belle I’m hoping that I’ll actually like Miss Mayhem haha
      I didn’t know there were mixed reviews! That sucks but I’m still looking forward to reading it

      Liked by 1 person

      • I personally really liked both 😛 I know a lot of people have said they thought the books got worse as the series went on though.
        I didn’t either until a few bloggers started telling me they’d seen negative reviews. Then I went and looked for them, haha. Hopefully we both like it anyway 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

