T5W Jan. 11th – 2017 Debuts You’re Excited For

t5w-jan-17-11

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 2017 Debuts You’re Excited For. There are so many great books coming out this year and the debut category is looking amazing! I’ve been spending a lot of time on Twitter and that has help me be aware of the buzz around new debuts. Today I’m gonna share the books that have really caught my eye and that I hope to read as soon as they come out.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Royal Bastards
by Andrew Shvarts

royal-bastards-cover

The only information I have about this book is the title and synopsis. As you can see the cover hasn’t been revealed yet and I really want to see what it looks like! This book centers on kids born out of the royal marriage, so a bunch of different bastards getting together trying to make sure lots of people don’t die. Sounds like such a fun time!

#4: When Dimple Met Rishi
by Sandhya Menon

when-dimple-met-rishi-cover

This book has me so hyped up. I read contemporary very rarely, its one of those genres that I feel has books that are very similar to each other so I don’t spend a lot of time reading it. However, this book is about two Indian-American teens who’ve been set up in an arranged marriage by their parents. One of them is cool with it, the other not so much and the story sounds like it has the potential to break some of the huge stereotypes that come with young arranged marriages. Plus it’s supposed to be a comedy and ya’ll know I love to laugh!

#3: The Hate U Give
by Angie Thomas

the-hate-u-give-cover

This book is going to be amazing, mark my words. So many people have already read it and have been raving about it and I’m just so pumped to read it! This is inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement which I support wholeheartedly and I feel this book could literally change lives or opinions. I’m pumped guys.

#2: Girl Out of Water
by Laura Silverman

girl-out-of-water-cover

I am so excited for this book! It’s another contemporary but it sounds right up my alley. It’s about a California girl who has to spend the summer in Nebraska to help her aunt with her three kids. My friend Fadwa and I were lamenting on Twitter about being rejected an ARC from NetGalley of this book and the author was kind enough to get them for us and we’re buddy reading it next month! We’re both so freaking excited for it, I can’t wait!

#1: You’re Welcome, Universe
by Whitney Gardner

youre-welcome-universe-cover

Β I am so pumped for this book! This is about a deaf girl whose two moms send her to regular school after she gets caught for doing graffiti. I’ve never mentioned this before but I am obsessed with graffiti. Not like tagging with random names, but like really beautiful murals that show up from one day to another. I am so freaking excited to read a book that includes this, I’ve never read one before and I can’t wait!

So that’s it for this post! I would love to know what debut novels you’re excited to read this year. There are so many amazing ones coming out, it was kind of hard to narrow my choices to five but I did it! Let me know if you’re anticipating the same ones I am. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

send-off

19 thoughts on “T5W Jan. 11th – 2017 Debuts You’re Excited For

  1. AH. THE HATE U GIVE. Why is it not February yet? I keep getting more and more anxious to have it in my life the closer we get to the release date. After reading the excerpt that’s floating around, I fell in love with Angie’s writing… even though I just know this book will rip my heart to pieces. When Dimple Met Rishi is definitely another of my top priority debuts. It just seems so fun. Also, I don’t think I’ve ever actually read a comedic book, so I’m down. I hadn’t heard about You’re Welcome, Universe, so I’m definitely going to have to add that to my list! Awesome list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When Dimple Met Rishi and The Hate U Give were already on my TBR, but I just now decided to add You’re Welcome, Universe because this is like the 4th or 5th time I’ve seen it mentioned in lists of books people are excited for this year! So thanks for that! It sounds so good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

