Book Traveling Thursdays Jan. 19th – Here’s To Different Worlds…

btt-jan-17-19

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is Here’s to different worlds… Choose a book set in a fictional world. I read a lot of fantasy and books set in worlds that are different than our own worlds. So obviously I had a lot to choose from and I decided to pick a book that I’ve recently fallen in love with. I’m so excited to talk about it and I need more people to chat about it with!

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson, the first book in the Fire and Thorns Trilogy. I read it a few months ago and I’m really surprised with how much I enjoyed it! This is a fantasy that I think is very unique, it revolves around a more Latinx/Hispanic inspired culture. I really enjoyed the main character and the way the story developed. I can’t wait to continue reading the rest of the series hopefully this month.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

The Girl of Fire and Thorns Cover

I really like this cover. There’s a lot of color and I really like the middle image. I love seeing an image within an image and I think the girl within the crystal is done very well. I like the font and the colors it uses. However, the sides of the book are kind of weird, there’s not a lot of detail and it’s not until this moment that I realize that they are some kind of flower or grass kind of thing.

My Favorite Cover

the-girl-of-fire-and-thorns-french-cover  the-girl-of-fire-and-thorns-german-cover

These covers are international and I like them for different reasons. The first is the French cover and I’m a little torn about having this on my favorites and I’ll tell you why. I love the cover concept! The colors are gorgeous, the details I think are exquisite which is something that I’m obsessed with in covers. However, the model does not look like the main character actually looks like and that really annoys me! Anyway, the second one is the German cover and again, I like the colors and I love that it has the crystal front and center. Though the bottom part is misleading because it makes you think that it leans toward Middle Eastern fantasy which it doesn’t.

My Least Favorite Cover

the-girl-of-fire-and-thorns-uk-cover  the-girl-of-fire-and-thorns-turkish-cover  the-girl-of-fire-and-thorns-spanish-cover  the-girl-of-fire-and-thorns-russian-cover  the-girl-of-fire-and-thorns-italian-cover  the-girl-of-fire-and-thorns-arc-cover

SO! So many covers, so many bad decisions. Honestly, my biggest issue with all of these is that the model doesn’t represent the main character in any way shape or form. They are all too skinny, too white and too pretty, which is not to say that the main character isn’t pretty but it’s not the most important thing about her okay? So from left to right, top to bottom, we have the UK, Turkish, Spanish, Russian, Italian and apparently the original ARC covers. I am quite glad that the US cover was changed. But yeah, I don’t know why internationally covers can sometimes get it so very wrong and yet also very right in a whole other time.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

send-off

3 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Jan. 19th – Here’s To Different Worlds…

Leave a Reply

