Sara 101: Favorite Authors

sara-101-favorite-authors

Hello everyone!

I am back today with my personal feature, Sara 101, where I talk about me and myself and I and anything and everything that I could want to share about my personal life.

It is January and there are a lot of things going on in my life right now. I’m feeling very anxious and nervous and I was originally planning on sharing a more personal 101 post this month but I’m feeling a bit too vulnerable for that at the moment. So I decided to share another favorites post, this time surrounding my favorite authors. I now I call a lot of authors my favorites all the time, it’s a habit I need to break haha. When I really sat down and thought about it however, I came up with this list.

SO let’s get started!

William Ritter

So I thought I’d start with the ones that I don’t mention that often basically meaning male authors. William Ritter is the author of the Jackaby series which I totally love. I started reading it last year and totally fell in love with it. Read the first two books back to back then got an ARC of the third and died! It was so good! I think his writing is very similar to another author on this list. These books are historical fiction and the writing reflects the time period yet is super funny and easy to read at the same time. I’m excited to see what he comes up with next after this series is over.

Benjamin Alire Saenz

So I’ve only read one book from this author and that was enough to add him to this list. He wrote Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe and it’s one of my favorite books of all time. His writing style is so beautiful and emotional and powerful and just amazing! He has a book coming out this year and the sequel to Ari and Dante is coming as well and I’m super excited for both!

Rick Riordan

I’ve talked about Uncle Rick a few times but I didn’t fall in love with him when I was blogging. After two years of no reading, one of the first books I picked up was Percy Jackson and I don’t think I could’ve done anything better. Riordan’s writing is hilarious, fast paced and entertaining! Every single book that I’ve read from him is absolutely amazing and I’ve loved it. I need to read his entire catalog and so do you!

Kelley Armstrong

Kelley Armstrong is one of the authors that I’ve been loving for the longest time. I read one of her trilogies when I was young and it’s one of my favorites to re-read of all time. I’ve also read the sequel trilogy to that one and I love it and I’ve started another one of her series though it’s not as good as the other ones. However, she also writes adult books which seem to be extremely popular and I really want to check them out!

Kristin Cashore

You guys know my love for High Fantasy and one of my favorite series is the Graceling trilogy. I read it all the way back in 2015 but I’d first started it when I was in middle school. I shit you not, I dreamed about the characters in this series for years before starting and finishing the series again in 2015. I remembered the characters names, I remembered their personalities, I remembered entire scenes of this book! That’s how much they impacted me when I first read them and this author is FINALLY releasing another book after so long and I’M SO EXCITED!

Sarah Dessen

If you didn’t know, Sarah Dessen is pretty much considered the Queen of YA Contemporary. If you haven’t read her books, you need to do it now. She’s been around for YEARS and is still consistently kicking ass and publishing amazing books. I’ve read 3 books from her library and loved 2 of them and I just want to read SO MANY MORE. She’s so good at writing realistic contemporaries that feel like real life and not way too dramatic. Check her out if you haven’t yet!

Elle Kennedy

You all know of my love for the Off-Campus series, I want to say that I was the catalyst that brought the series to the book blogging community (obviously not true haha). This is the best of New Adult companion series. So much fun and so funny and entertaining while again not being completely and totally over dramatic in a way that uses gross things to tug at your heartstrings. This is the kind of NA that I love to read and if you haven’t read that series yet, you need to! I’m also exploring more of this author’s work as in her dystopian series which is NA which I’ve never read before and I hope I enjoy it!

Zoraida Cordova

This author is absolutely and totally amazing. My favorite thing about her writing is how she’s constantly integrating Latinx culture into her books. My favorite book of hers is Love on the Ledge which is the book that I feel most connected to and most represented so far in my entire life. I’ve read all her NA books and her first book in a new YA series which I’m sure you’ve heard of: Labyrinth Lost. I need to read her first series and I’m reading everything she puts out into the world.

Alice Clayton

I love telling people when authors that I enjoy or that they enjoy were first fanfiction writers and Alice Clayton is one of them! She wrote Twilight fanfiction and one (or more) of her books is actually a rewritten fanfiction and I LOVED IT. And so do a lot of freaking people. She writes really great comedy as well as romance. Wallbanger and its sequels is one of my favorite series and I really need to read more of her books soon.

Jennifer Donnelly

I’ve slowly but surely become a super fan of this author. First book I read from her was These Shallow Graves which is my FAVORITE BOOK of 2015! If you haven’t read it and you like historical fiction with murder mystery, please read it it’s freaking amazing and I can never talk to anyone about it! But then I read her Waterfire Saga series which is just so much fun and the covers are BEAUTIFUL. I can’t wait to read more of her books specially one about Beauty and the Beast that’s coming out this year.

Renee Ahdieh

You guys know how much I loved the Wrath and the Dawn duology. It’s so beautifully written and angsty and full of drama. It was so good! I really enjoyed Ahdieh’s writing style, it’s really poetic and lyrical and visually pleasing. Like picturing the things she describes is so easy to picture and to imagine! Which is usually hard for me to pull off and I’m really excited for her new book!

Ryan Graudin

This author is someone that I discovered in 2016. I’d heard of a book from her in 2015, but it wasn’t really something I was interested in. But then Wolf by Wolf came out and a lot of people were promoting it but not really reading it. But then I read it! AND IT WAS AMAZING. Guys favorite duology of the year, I swear to you. It’s so amazing, the premise is awesome, the writing style is descriptive and EMOTIONAL. So freaking good. Read it!

Ally Carter

I’ve talked about this author a few times on my blog because I really, really enjoy her books. The Gallagher Girls series is my favorite of all time. THIS is the childhood series that brings me the most nostalgia when I think about it. I continued with her library in 2016 and I’m still going this year and I really enjoy her books. Contemporary thrillers are one of my faves now and she writes great ones! Try her books if you haven’t yet.

Maggie Stiefvater

I first read Stiefvater when I picked up the Shiver series when I was in middle school or high school. When I moved, I let that series go and years later, I read the Raven Cycle, which I loved! It’s amazing because the most realistic and tangible characters and the creepiest and most descriptive writing that chilled me (in the best way!). I’m currently re-reading and finishing the Wolves of Mercy Falls series and I just love her more as I continue to read her beautiful writing.

Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Β The next few are pretty freaking obvious but I can’t not talk about them. So Barnes is the author of the Naturals series, which you all should know considering I posted a review for each book in the series in December, which you should all look because THEY ARE ALL AWESOME. She also wrote the Fixer duology (I hope it gets more books) which is also freaking amazing. Her contemporary thrillers are THE BEST and if you’ve wanted to try them, read her books!

Gail Carriger

This one is obvious too isn’t it. If you’ve been thinking about trying Steampunk or historical fiction, I’d definitely recommend Carriger’s books. She has some really sarcastic and hilarious writing, and yet it’s still historically accurate which makes a really weird yet funny combination. I laugh my butt off when I read her books. There are such huge casts of characters and they usually interact in the best way possible. You guys should read her books. Please. I need people to talk to.

Nicola Yoon

This author only has two books out and I enjoyed the first one, but absolutely love and adore the second one! I will most likely read every single book she publishes. Her writing style is really unique and every single book she writes has something specific that makes the book stand out. I know that sounds really cryptic but one has mixed media and the other has special POVs and I don’t want to say more. READ IT! It’s so good!

Maria V. Snyder

Down to the last two which are the most obvious ones in the whole post! You guys know that the Chronicles of Ixia is my favorite complete series of all time, it’s made up of three companion series, two of which I’ve read and loved. I’m starting the third one this month (I swear I am!). Her writing style is so fast paced and descriptive and intense. The plot of the books fly by and they are so freaking good! I will read all of her freaking books.

Victoria Schwab

THIS IS NOT A SURPRISE TO ANYONE. Victoria/V.E. Schwab is my favorite author of all time. I have loved every single book I’ve read from her which is basically almost all of them. Her writing style is so deliberate and detailed. Honestly? She’s also super relatable on social media, she’s so honest about her anxiety and since it’s something I deal with as well, it makes me love her even more. I just need everyone to read her books and love them okay? Okay.

So that’s it for this post! Bless you if you’ve read until the end! I was going to add author photos to this but it’s taken way too long to write so look them up and read their books. Let me know who your favorite authors are and if we have any in common! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

send-off

31 thoughts on “Sara 101: Favorite Authors

  1. I got to meet Maggie Stiefvater this past October and hear her speak at a book festival. She is such a bad ass in person. She is a natural born entertainer, and had the audience laughing the entire time.

    I also JUST found out this week that V.E. Schwab will be on tour within 1.5 hours of where I live the first weekend in March! I cannot wait!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loooove Sarah Dessen, Elle Kennedy, Renee Ahdieh, Ryan Graudin, Maggie Stiefvater, Kristin Cashore, VE Schwab and Maria V. Snyder! Obviously for the most part I haven’t picked up 100% of their books (except maybe Sarah Dessen) but I have loved pretty much all of their books that I’ve read.

    Nicola Yoon I enjoy, but I didn’t like Everything, Everything that much. Same with Alice Clayton – I’ve only read Nuts and while that was fun, it didn’t leave a huge impression on me either way.

    I also just heard about Kristin Cashore’s new book and I’M EXCITED. I hope it’s as good as Graceling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay for similar tastes! Honestly, the ones that I’ve read like 90% of their books are Schwab and Snyder and they are my faves so I think you don’t have to love all of the author’s work to be a fan or for them to become a favorite.
      You’ve told me this. I definitely think you should read Wallbanger because it’s hilarious and it might end up being like Paper Princess for you, like a guilty pleasure read. I’d love to see your thoughts on it either way.
      I KNOW! I’m so excited. It sounds very different than Graceling but I’m still looking forward to it.

      Like

  3. I hope you’re feeling okay, Sara, and if you ever need to talk, you know where to find me! ❀
    I love your list of authors, so many I enjoy reading just as well! I want to read more of Sarah Dessen's books, the ones I read for now, I loved. Also, yay for Renee Ahdieh! I fell in love with The WRath and The Dawn and I can't WAIT to read her next release! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like your new design, Sara! 😊
    Also, agree with a lot of the authors you mentioned. I finally read and reviewed Blood for Blood πŸ˜… only took me 3 months. I loved the story, but maaaaan, my review turned into such a German lesson πŸ˜‚
    Every time I read Schwab, I just get super grabby hands for Our Dark Duet. It’s a real craving.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You have excellent taste in authors :D. I love Victoria Schwab and Nicola Yoon. Some of my favorite authors are Mira Grant and Patrick Ness. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

