T5W Jan. 25th – Favorite Underrated Books

t5w-jan-17-25

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Favorite Underrated Books. I have a really hard time with the word underrated. I never really know how to classify a book as underrated. I know there’s a lot of books that I’ve read that not many people that I know have read as well, but that doesn’t mean anything in comparison to the rest of the world. So what I did was go on my read shelf on Goodreads and picked the books that I’ve enjoyed the most that have the lowest average rating.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Rook
by Sharon Cameron

Rook Cover

It’s so sad for me that this book is very rarely talked about by anyone. This came out in 2015 and I read it that same year and I know pretty much no one who has also read it. I loved it so much! It’s a retelling of The Scarlet Pimpernel but it reminded me so much of A Tale of Two Cities that I was obsessed with it. It’s really, really slow paced so that might not be for everyone, but I love the twists and turns the story takes and I definitely recommend it.

#4: Luck on the Line
by Zoraida Cordova

Luck on the Line Cover

A lot of people have read Cordova’s most recent release Labyrinth Lost (if you haven’t, do it because it’s amazing) and her first series was also YA but not a lot of people know that she has an AMAZING NA series too! This is one of my favorite NA series of all time because it’s just so real! I tend to hate NA when it’s over dramatic and way too improbable *cough* Colleen Hoover *cough* but Cordova doesn’t fall into that trap. The second book in this series is my absolute favorite (Latinx all day everyday) but each one in the series so far is great for different reasons. I pray that she’ll add more books to this series all day!

#3: Deep Blue
by Jennifer Donnelly

Deep Blue Cover

I’ve recently mentioned this series in my Favorite Authors post and I’m talking about it again because I really want more people to read it. While this series in particular is one the younger side of YA and sometimes even reads like MG, it’s so much fun and has such a strong basis on female friendships. It’s about these six mermaids that have the job of saving their entire race against a crazy dude and a giant beast. Each one is different and unique and they’re all there for each other too! If it sounds interesting to you, make sure you check it out.

#2: Sekret
by Lindsay Smith

Sekret Cover

I can’t believe I have to put this book on here because ITS SO AMAZING, why haven’t you read it, book people?! This book is about a group of kids who have psychic abilities who are “recruited” (not willingly most of them) into the KGB in Russia to help win the Cold War. How does that not sound interesting to people?! I loved both books, five out of five from me, and I knew people to talk about these books with! PLEASE READ THEM.

#1: The Girl at Midnight
by Melissa Grey

The Girl at Midnight Cover

I think this is the one that makes me the most sad because this book is so freaking good! I think its biggest issue is the fact that the series tends to be compared to Daughter of Smoke and Bone and since that one came before, most people tend to dislike this one. I haven’t read the former but I absolutely adore this one! It’s so action packed, the cast of character is amazing and diverse and the story is really interesting. I can’t wait to get my hands on the third book!

So that’s it for this post! I’d love to know if any of you have read these books and what you thought of them. Also, let me know what you consider an underrated book and how did you decide that’s what it was. I need to find a better way to recommend these kinds of things haha. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

send-off

16 thoughts on “T5W Jan. 25th – Favorite Underrated Books

  1. Rook was one book I was really excited to read upon its release but since then it kind of got lost in the shuffle of all the other books released. Hopefully I can pick up the book sooner rather than later. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

