January ’17 Wrap Up

wrap-up-january-17-logo

Hello everyone!

Can you freaking believe that it’s the last day of January?! Like when did this happen?! How is life moving so fast? There are so many crazy, fucked up things happening in the world right now and I just want to tell all of you beautiful book people that take the time to read my ramblings, that I’m so thankful that you’re alive. I’m so thankful that you are the person that you are and I hope you know that you are loved! Now that I’m done with being a bit sappy, I’m gonna tell you what I did this month!

SO let’s get started!

Personal Thoughts

This month has been… exhausting. I’ve been struggling with my anxiety and my depression all month long. I’ve been having a hard time with getting through anxious moments and having a hard time stopping myself from just sitting and crying for hours for no real reason because that’s kind of how my depression shows up. I’m just having a really hard time. If you didn’t know, the world kind of sucks right now and there’s a lot of awful things happening and because there are various changes coming up in my life, these things are hitting me a lot harder than I’m used to. I also haven’t seen my therapist in a while and that doesn’t help.

However… some good things: I’ve been spending a lot more time with my family. I don’t have the greatest relationship with some of the extended members of my family but even though I tend to disagree with them and their attitudes, it’s great to just be hanging out with them, specially both of my grandmas because I love them both so much. February might not be the best month either because of those changes I mentioned above but I hope it’ll be better than this month.

Books I Read

read-books-january-17

  1. Dreadnought (Nemesis #1) by April Daniels – 4-stars1  This is a book that I started in December, trying to make sure to finish it before publication so I could review it since it’s an ARC. I really enjoyed this book! I was a little apprehensive because I’m not really the biggest fan of superhero books but I was so entertained by the action in this story and loved by Danny’s strength and growth. I’d definitely recommend it and if you want to hear more of my thoughts, you can check out my review which is below!
  2. Stars Above (The Lunar Chronicles #4.5) by Marissa Meyer – 4-stars1  I enjoyed reading the novellas at the end of this series though I had read some of these before. While I liked the collection as a whole, I don’t think reading it made a difference. I honestly just wanted to read the last novella which is set after the events of Winter and that one was my favorite haha.
  3. Linger (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #2) by Maggie Stiefvater – 4-stars1  I’m really glad I picked up this series to re-read and finish. I don’t think I’m enjoying it as much as I did when I was younger but it’s still entertaining. I really enjoy Stiefvater’s writing style and the sort of folklore and mystery behind the wolves involved in this story. I’m hoping to finish this series within the next few months.
  4. A List of Cages by Robin Roe – 5-stars1  This is my first five star read of the year and I still haven’t stopped thinking about this book guys. It’s so intense, so powerful and just so heartbreaking to read. A link to my review will be further down on this post but I just want to say that I highly, highly recommend this book. However, be aware that it could be triggering for people, there are graphic depictions of mental, emotional and physical abuse.
  5. Because of the Sun by Jenny Torres Sanchez – 3.5-stars2  This is the last book that I had started in December that I finished this month and I enjoyed it overall. This book was really easy to read but I wouldn’t be able to explain the plot to you because it’s definitely unique and intriguing. This story is basically just about the main character and how she processes grief and there’s a lot of great Latinx side characters, so if that sounds interesting to you, check out my review below!
  6. The Last of August (Charlotte Holmes #2) by Brittany Cavallaro – 4.5-stars1  I can now definitely say that I’m a fan of this series. The first book was really entertaining and action packed and the second one is so much better! I do have to say that the narration of this book can make the reader confused because the main character is lost on a lot of things. But that finale was cruel and I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NOW!
  7. the princess saves herself in this one by Amanda Lovelace – 4-stars1  I haven’t read poetry since high school and I honestly feel like I don’t think I know how to read poetry when I don’t have to analyze it to death for a paper. However, I really liked the way this author decided to express herself in her poetry. I had heard such great things about it on Twitter and I’m glad that I checked it out. Though I have no idea how I’m going to review it now haha.
  8. The Lies of Locke Lamora (The Gentleman Bastard #1) by Scott Lynch – 4.5-stars1  Guys I was so hyped to start this book! So many people love it, so many people recommend it and while I can say that I definitely enjoyed it… I was also really confused haha. The world building is very confusing, I couldn’t picture the fantasy world well and there was no map to guide me. However, the world is very well thought out, the plot is intricate and the characters were entertaining and amazing! I can’t wait to continue the series.
  9. Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger – 4-stars1  This is the book that my friends and I picked for our book club this month and I was really surprised with how much I enjoyed it! I thought the premise was really interesting and unique and the author pulled it off really well. However, the characters could easily get on my nerves and there were some scenes that I wasn’t a fan of. But I still recommend it if it sounds good to you!
  10. Shadow Study (Soulfinders #1, Chronicles of Ixia #7) by Maria V. Snyder – 5-stars1  This is the last book that I managed to finish before the end of the month and I am not ashamed to say that I’m biased. This is my favorite series of all time and I’m so happy I finally started the last trilogy! It’s action packed, entertaining and engaging. It basically reads like an Adult book with a YA pace since all the characters are adults now and I just love it.
  11. Forest of Ruin (Age of Legends #3) by Kelley Armstrong – I finally started this, yes! This is the last book in this trilogy and I’ve been trying to get to this for a long time. This definitely isn’t my favorite series by this author but the last two books have improved. I’m looking forward to seeing how it ends.
  12. The Crown of Embers (Fire and Thorns #2) by Rae Carson – I needed to start this book this month. Because I had so many backlogged books to finish left over from December, I didn’t read as many books from my actual monthly TBR. But before the month ended, I made sure to start the second book in this series. The first one really surprised me and this one is just as good already, if not better.
  13. Crystal Storm (Falling Kingdoms #5) by Morgan Rhodes – Another one that I really wanted to read this month and that I started as soon as I could. I’m actually a bit nervous about how I’ll feel about this one. I know a lot of huge fans of this series and one of those gave it two stars so I don’t know what I’ll think!
  14. Night Study (Soulfinders #2, Chronicles of Ixia #8) by Maria V. Snyder – And last but not least, because I couldn’t help myself after the ending of the first book, I had to start this one immediately! I mean that literally because I stayed up until 1 am reading the first few chapters even though I had to be up early for work. So much dedication!

Posts I Shared

Reviews

Memes

Top 5 Wednesday

Book Traveling Thursdays

Features

Challenges Update

  • Goodreads Reading Challenge – 10/50 (20%)

Not bad for the first month! I always try to get to at least ten books read each month, that was my average last year, so I did that well! I know I don’t need to read as much this year but it’s good to know that I can if I want to haha.

  • Read It While It’s Hot Challenge – 4/50

Already doing great in this one too! Thanks to all the ARCs I got this year and late last year but I hope to also read new releases since I didn’t actually read one that was actually published yet.

  • 2017 Debut Author Challenge – 1/12

On track with this one! Dreadnought was a great read. This is probably the one that I take the slowest and with not as much pressure because I never want to read so many that I stop looking forward to them.

  • Finishing the Series Challenge – x/30

Did any of you see this coming? The challenge that I focused on the most last year is the one that I’m already sort of failing. I had SO MANY books on my TBR to finish series and I managed to read none of them. Hopefully next month is better.

  • Read Like a Grown Up Challenge – 1/12

So far so good with this one. Locke Lamora took me a lot longer to read than I thought, I guess Adult books are longer than YA or at least this one was and that threw me off a bit but I hope to continue to keep up with this one.

  • Stand With the Loners Challenge – 3/12

All the standalones I read this month were not the one I had set up to read haha. Thanks again to those ARCs! However, I want to tryy to pick up the ones I choose for this section.

  • Catch Up with the Release – 3/24

Yay for me! Doing well in this one too! I really wanted to get to Shadow Study which I did and some of the other books I read managed to count for this too and I didn’t even notice haha.

So that’s it for this post! I wrote all of this in the last three hours, rushing to publish it before midnight. I’ve been gone all day but I pulled it off people! I’m really freaking glad tomorrow is a holiday here because I’m exhausted. If you have any ideas on how I can go back to being up to date with my scheduling, let me know! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

send-off

20 thoughts on “January ’17 Wrap Up

  1. I love you boo boo ❤ You are strong and you are brave and you’ll get through this. I know how hard it is to see right now but you will and I’m here for you through it all.
    On the up side you read so many books this month and I’ll forever be jealous of that hahahah

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Even though your personal life might not be the best I think you had a great reading month. I really hope February is better for you and you know that we can always talk if you want to! Love girl ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really hope that some nice things pop up in your life this month to help offset all the stress and depression and the difficulties being thrown at you, and that you’re able to see your therapist again soon. Therapists are awesome, and you’re awesome, and I wish your life was awesome too.

    I guess it’s a good thing that this month flew by for you, though? Better than dragging on for an eternity, at least. Here’s hoping the next four years (or longer, depending on the time frame of the difficulties in your life) go by just as fast.

    But hurray for reading so many good (and great) books! You’ve seriously amazed with with your productivity, AGAIN. Gah, how do you do it? I’m especially glad to hear you enjoyed the second Charlotte Holmes book (I haven’t started the series, and it sounds like maybe I should wait until the third one comes out before I pick it up!) and The Lies of Locke Lamora (which has been high on my TBR for, uh, most of my life it seems like).

    I hope your February has as high a star-rating average as January did!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re awesome as well Liam and I will start seeing my therapist again this month so let’s hope for an awesome life coming up haha
      It definitely helped that days felt like they were flying by. I really hope the rest of the year flies by but because of all the fun I’ll be having enjoying my life haha
      Wanna know how I do it? By staying up really late at night even though I’m exhausted as heck to publish the things I want to share haha. This has been my hardest month in blogging and I’m kind of glad you couldn’t really tell from the outside. I don’t want my rep as most organized blogger to be sullied haha
      I’d definitely wait for the whole trilogy to be out before starting, I think it’d be less confusing again. If you read Locke Lamora please tell me if there’s a map anywhere on a physical copy because I’d think about re-reading if so because the world was so confusing haha.
      Thanks for commenting friend! I hope February is just plain great for you ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so, so sorry to hear that January has been tough for you – I can only hope that February will be loads better. I also don’t have the best relationship with my extended family (although I’m not sure if that’s just me feeling super at odds and different from most of them) and having to spend some time with them in these coming weeks is stressing me out a little bit. I’m not saying I can 100% relate, but just know that you’re not alone, and I hope that you manage to enjoy time with them regardless. ❤

    Also, you've had such a productive month! I've been so lazy with blogging lately and feel like I've missed so many of your wonderful reviews and posts. I'll be checking them out as I go when I have the motivation.

    Have a wonderful February, love! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I definitely hope February will be better.
      I can understand with that, I often think that I see the world so differently than they do that it can be isolating and it can be tough to have conversations about it as well. I’m trying to take advantage of the time I have because you never know ❤
      Productive is a way to say it I guess haha it's been staying up really late at night almost every night trying to get the posts I want to publish to be shared the day that I want. I've never had such a tough time at blogging than I have this month, I'm glad no one can tell from the outside haha
      No worries friend, I'm glad for your support anywhere even if you never have the time to look at my posts ❤
      I hope your February is great my friend!

      Like

  5. I am sorry to hear that you struggled last month. I wish there was something to do, but I know well enough that there is no magical cure for anxiety. Sometimes I just have to think about a situation and my heart will speed up to the point that I think it will explode and it makes me feel sick. The world situation as a whole isn’t really helping with feeling inspired or confident I am afraid, but I genuinely hope that February will be better. If you ever just need to vent or ramble, my DMs are always open!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I know how you feel about anxiety. I’ve had it pretty bad recently as well, I get how terrible it can make you feel. You’ve read so many books this month though! I wish I could read that many! Great post, hopefully February is better for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Anxiety sucks. I’ve been having it lately, too. Mine is more around health related issues, but the atmosphere in the US right now doesn’t help at all. I think I need to stay off Twitter more often. Hopefully you feel back to more normal soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

