February ’17 TBR – Realistic Fiction Theme

tbr-february-17-logo

Hello everyone!

I am already so tired of this year and we’re only on February. It makes no sense whatsoever but that’s how I feel guys. So to hopefully combat this despair that is within me about like life, I stuff my TBRs full of books that I really want to read and that I want to talk about with all of you. Realistic Fiction is basically what I use so I can read contemporary but that doesn’t necessarily revolves around romance.

SO let’s get started!

First Order of Business:
The Pants Project, Done Dirt Cheap and Girl Out of Water
by Cat Clarke, Sarah Nicole Lemon and Laura Silverman

the-pants-project-cover  done-dirt-cheap-cover  girl-out-of-water-cover

I’ve got a few more review books this month. The first one is a middle grade book about a trans boy from an author that I’ve read before. She wrote The Lost and the Found but that’s a contemporary thriller so I’d love to see the differences in her writing with this one. The second is a book that I was kind of interested in but wasn’t really sure I wanted to request until some people started raving about it on Twitter. I’m pretty excited to read it and see what it’s all about. And the last book is one that I’m going to be reading with my best blogging friend, Fadwa! The author was kind enough to get us both ARCs since we were both really looking forward to reading it and we’re so excited to read it together!

Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads

The Mom Book Club:
Seven Ways We Lie
by Riley Ridgate

seven-ways-we-lie-cover

My friends and I have gotten back into the swing of our book club! We had a great time with our book last month and we’re so excited to keep the momentum going. I got to choose our book this month and out of four choices, we all agreed on this one. I can’t wait to get started!

Goodreads

Read It While It’s Hot Challenge:
Dawn Study and A Conjuring of Light
by Maria V. Snyder and V.E. Schwab

dawn-study-cover  A Conjuring of Light Cover

My top two favorite authors are both coming out with books this month and there’s absolutely no way that I’m not reading them as soon as they come out. Dawn Study is the third book in the final trilogy from the Chronicles of Ixia, I hope to have read to first two by now or at least be done with the first and reading the second so I can get to this one as soon as it’s out. And ACOL is the last book in the Shades of Magic trilogy. I am not ready, I don’t think I’ll ever be ready so I think that I’ll be buddy reading this with Reg so that we can both agonize together!

Goodreads Goodreads

2017 Debut Author Challenge:
The Education of Margot Sanchez
by Lilliam Rivera

the-education-of-margot-sanchez-cover

I want to make more of an effort to read Latinx literature this year. I realized what small amount of books I’ve read with Latinx protagonists and considering I’m Latinx, I consider that a problem. I know that I will not find a character from my country or from my specific culture, there are a lot of similarities between Latinx countries that I can still identify with these kinds of characters. I’ve heard really good things about this own voices book so I hope I enjoy it.

Goodreads

Read Like a Grown Up Challenge:
P.S. I Love You
by Cecelia Ahern

P.S. I Love You Cover

This is the book that inspired that one really famous romcom that I haven’t watched. I read another book by Cecelia Ahern in 2014 that I really loved and found super entertaining and I’ve been wanting to read more of her books so I hope that I’ll be able to get to this one this month.

Goodreads

Stand with the Loners Challenge:
The Disenchantments
by Nina LaCour

the-disenchantments-cover

Nina LaCour wrote one of my favorite books ever, Everything Leads to You which is absolutely amazing. But I haven’t read any of her other books! I really want to change that this month, I’ve heard good things about this book as well and I hope I enjoy it as much as the other book.

Goodreads

Catch Up with the Release Challenge:
Just Visiting and Love & Gelato
by Dahlia Adler and Jenna Evans Welch

Just Visiting Cover  Love & Gelato Cover

So I picked two books that came out last year and the year before that I really wanted to read at the time but I didn’t manage to do so. Dahlia Adler has been so recommended to me and I’ve been wanting to get into her books for a long time. Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes recommends this standalone a lot so I hope I enjoy it. Love and Gelato came out last year and while I haven’t heard much, positive or negative, I’m a sucker for Italian anything so I hope I like this.

Goodreads Goodreads

Continuing Series:
See How They Run, Forever, The Bitter Kingdom, The Hollow, Dark Wild Night, Shadow & Bone and Miss Mayhem
by Ally Carter, Maggie Stiefvater, Rae Carson, Jessica Verday, Christina Lauren, Leigh Bardugo and Rachel Hawkins

See How They Run Cover  forever-cover  The Bitter Kingdom Cover  The Hollow Cover  dark-wild-night-cover  Shadow and Bone Cover  Miss Mayhem Cover

You might have seen some of these last month and that’s because I knew I wasn’t going to get to all of them and I was right… I got to one haha. All the rest of the books on my TBR that month were also series I wanted to finish so those became priority but I’m gonna do everything in my power to try to get to all of these and knock these off my TBR for good! Wish me luck guys I need it.

Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads

The Geography of You & Me
by Jennifer E. Smith

the-geography-of-you-and-me-cover

So the rest of this list is pretty much contemporary standalones. I’ve read one of Smith’s books before, and I really liked it and I know that all her books have very similar covers and while they don’t connect in anyway, they all look good together. So I thought if I like them all, I’ll buy them and they’ll look super pretty on shelves. So I’m reading this one haha.

Goodreads

This Is Where the World Ends
by Amy Zhang

This is Where the World Ends Cover

This is Zhang’s second book. I read her debut novel and absolutely loved it and when this came out last year I said I was going to read it but lo and behold, I didn’t. This one is going to be top priority this month and I hope it breaks my heart into several different pieces like Falling Into Place did.

Goodreads

Second Chance Summer and Since You’ve Been Gone
by Morgan Matson

second-chance-summer-cover  Since You've Been Gone Cover

I read Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour in 2015 and really loved it. I’ve been wanting to read more of Morgan Matson’s books since then but you know me, I just didn’t do it haha. So this month, both of these books are on my TBR and I really wanna get to them. I’d still have The Unexpected Everything left to read but I hope that I enjoy these.

Goodreads Goodreads

Along for the Ride and Lock & Key
by Sarah Dessen

AlongForRide_FINAL.indd  lock-and-key-cover

I’ve read three Sarah Dessen books and I loved two of them to death. I really want to read all her books though there’s a giant list of them. She’s been around for a really long time, like these books were published in the 2000’s (2009/2008) and it’s only two of her books! Also, she has a new book coming out this year so read it!

Goodreads Goodreads

Proof of Forever
by Lexa Hillyer

proof-of-forever-cover

I don’t remember what this book is about but ever since I saw the cover I’ve been interested in reading it. For some reason, I’m dying to get my hands on this and I really hope it doesn’t suck because I’ll be really disappointed. I don’t think I know anyone who has read this either so if you have, please let me know!

Goodreads

Summer #1, #2 and #3
The Summer I Turned Pretty, It’s Not Summer Without You and We’ll Always Have Summer
by Jenny Han

The Summer I Turned Pretty Cover  its-not-summer-without-you-cover  well-always-have-summer-cover

I have such a long relationship with this series. I own the first two books and read them when I was in high school I think. My mom also read them and this is the second time that I’ve tried to re-read and finally finish it by reading the last book. I always put it at the end of my pile because it’s a contemporary series but I NEED TO FINISH IT PEOPLE. Imma make it happen, I swear

Goodreads

So that’s it for this post! I know that I always have a lot of books on my TBRs, it’s a problem that I don’t see myself fixing for a long time so don’t worry about me guys. I just chug along and read as much as I can all the time haha. Let me know if you’re read any of the books above and what you thought, specially the standalones! Thanks so much forr reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

send-off

19 thoughts on “February ’17 TBR – Realistic Fiction Theme

  1. Ooohhh I saw a lot of favorites in this list! 😀 I recently read Seven Ways We Lie because I lvoed Noteworthy so much and wanted more of Ruley Redgate’s writing and it was such a fun read! I love how it reeks of high school and all the friendship & family dynamic ❤ I'm also super excited for A Conjuring of Light, The Education of Margot Sanchez, and Girl out of Water. Good luck for your February reads! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. *spits out water* holy, that’s a lot of books. If you manage to complete even half of these, you’ll be my reading hero lmao. I’ve been slacking off on my reading lately, so I’m always awestruck when people manage to read more than seven books.

    You’ve got some really great books on this! I’ve been eyeing Done Dirt Cheap too- mainly because the cover is stunning, and I really need to read some books with strong female friendships. I’m looking forward to your review. I’m currently reading the Education of Margot Sanchez; I’m enjoying it so far, so I hope you love it too. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have issues… Haha I want to read all the things so I mark them all down haha. I’ll let you know how well I do this month
      I’ve heard great things about Done Dirt Cheap so I can’t wait to start it. It’s great that you’re enjoying it, now I really want to get to it

      Like

  3. What a great TBR! I spotted many favourites on there, haha😂 . I LOVED all of Morgan Matson’s books, Girl Out of Water, and there are many others on there that I just liked, such as The Summer I Turned Pretty (and its sequel) as well as Along for the Ride, The Geography of You and Me, and Miss Mayhem. Let me know how you like Love & Gelato, it’s on my TBR!💘

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sooooo, I’ve read all the Matson books (Since You’ve Been Gone is my favourite) and Seven Ways We Lie (which I also enjoyed very much). There really are a ton of books, but I sure hope you’ll get some good ones in 🙂 I am definitely only reading A Conjuring of Light in March though, because it won’t even be shipped before then.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahaha I also distract myself from thinking about everything bad happening in the world by reading books! 😬

    So excited for Seven Ways We Lie as well!

    Oh my god Since You’ve Been Gone was SO good! I’m not normally a huge fan of the YA contemporary genre but this was amazing. 💗

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly, I think reading is the only way to stay sane at moments like htis.
      It’s great to hear more awesome things about contemporary books. I don’t read them a lot either so getting positive thoughts from people makes me feel better haha

      Like

  6. Yes!!! I cannot wait for The Education of Margot Sanchez as well since I’m Latina. I heard amazing reviews from fellow Latinx folk too which makes me super happy. I also really want to read The Summer I Turned Pretty, I’ve had book 1 and 2 on my shelves for years and still haven’t gotten to it. *face of shame*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

