The Lunar New Year Book Tag

the-lunar-new-year-book-tag

Hello everyone!

I’m here today to share a tag with you! I haven’t done one since December so I’m feeling kind of rusty so bear with me. I was tagged by the awesome Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts who created this tag with Tiff @ Mostly YA Lit all about the Lunar New Year. I don’t really know much about this particular celebration but I know it was actually on January 28th and (as found on Tiff’s post) it revolves around the Chinese zodiac, which based on the year you were born and a corresponding animal. There are 12 animal signs and they each represent different personalities. They created the book tag based on those.

SO let’s get started!

cny-zodiac-book-tag-rat

Jackaby Cover

More people need to read this series! I know absolutely NO ONE else who has read it and enjoyed it as much as I did. And it’s really freaking unfair because I can’t talk to anyone about how awesome it is or fangirl over the hilarity of it so please, save me from my misery and read these books and then tell me how much you loved them.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-ox

Sea of Shadows Cover

This book has a big theme revolving around honor, loyalty and fealty and most of the characters take it very seriously. It causes some issues with the characters’ relationships and I find that a really interesting theme and one I haven’t really seen before.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-tiger

a-list-of-cages-cover

This book talks about abuse and the author doesn’t shy away from showing the horrors of it in graphic detail. It hits the reader really harshly but I think if you go into it prepared, it can be a really wonderful and moving reading experience.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-rabbit

The Sun Is Also A Star Cover

I haven’t read a romance since this book and that’s totally fine with me because I haven’t talk about my love for it in awhile. Yes, there’s instalove involved in this book BUT ITS SO GOOD ANYWAY. I don’t know how the author did it but she made instalove swoon filled.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-dragon

The Girl of Fire and Thorns Cover

I am currently reading the second book in this series and I’m obsessed (Spoiler for Monthly Obsessions). The main character is such a fierce woman and this whole world is inspired by Hispanic/Latinx culture and THERE IS SO MUCH SPANISH! IT GIVES ME LIFE!

cny-zodiac-book-tag-snake

Splintered Cover

When you ask me about a manipulative character, the first person that comes to mind is Morpheus. He’s a really complex character and everything but I really hated him because of how much a lying, manipulative ass he is. I don’t understand how so many people love him.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-horse

last-call-at-the-nightshade-lounge-cover

This is the last standalone that I read so I decided to pick it for this question. I enjoyed it so much more than I thought I was going to, there’s action, mystery and a bunch of funny characters so I’m a fan.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-sheep

the-dark-prophecy-cover

There’s nothing I love more than extremely detailed covers and Riordan’s are always so on point! I mean there are freaking ostriches with battle helmets on. Not only is it unique to just this one book, no other book will ever have a need for this cover, it also makes me really intrigued about the story line.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-monkey

Shadow Study

Most of the time for these kinds of questions I talk about Kenji from the Shatter Me trilogy because he’s absolutely hilarious but I was just recently reacquainted with a past hilarious fave character of mine, Janco. He’s literally absurd and just plain funny when he talks and we actually get to see his POV in this one which makes it that much more entertaining.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-rooster

A Conjuring of Light Cover

This book is coming out in a few weeks and I still NEED IT SO BAD! I’ve been wanting and begging and pleading for this book for MONTHS and it’s so close and I’m pretty nothing will manage to top it this year. (Don’t quote me cause there’ll be a lot of year left after it haha).

cny-zodiac-book-tag-dog

The Summoning

I wouldn’t necessarily call this a comfort book but this is the book that I’ve re-read the most in my life I believe. Every time I think about re-reading or going back to an old favorite, I pick up this book. It’s really short, I own it in physical so I just take it off the shelf and read it in one sitting and it’s always fun.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-pig

This is the only question I can’t answer because I haven’t spent a huge amount of money on a specific book or book related thing in YEARS. No, not because I didn’t want to but because I can’t. However, some of the changes in my life coming might bring about these possibilities so I’ll make sure to check back with you all haha

So that’s it for this post! I won’t be tagging anyone since it’s been a while since the Lunar New Year but if you’d like to do it, feel free to say that I tagged you. I’d love to know what you think of my choices and what some of your answers would be. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

send-off

8 thoughts on “The Lunar New Year Book Tag

  1. I just culled a ton more books off my TBR (I’m now down to 160. ONE HUNDRED AND SIXTY, SARA. HOW DID I WORK THIS MAGIC), and in that process I stumbled across Sea of Shadows. I didn’t remember adding it to my TBR, but seeing you recommend it has me freshly excited to get around to it.

    Excellent choices all around! =)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Way to go Liam! I did that myself but I could only get down to 845, which is already up because I have problems. 160 is like a glory number!
      I definitely enjoyed the last book the most (I just finished it) but I think the character development in the series was pretty great

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed The Girl of Fire and Thorns! I assume that the representation is spot-on, then? I read that book when it first came out and was totally blind to all issues diversity/representation back then, and now I’m wondering if rereading it now will give me a new sense of appreciation for it.

    Also, ACOL! It’s finally February and IT’S COMING OUT THIS MONTH! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t say 100% because I’m one of many Latinx, and as I continue to read it’s starting to feel more Spanish as in Spain than as in Latin America. However, the Spanish language is written very well and the religion is very similar to Catholism which is very prominent in LatAm so it still makes me feel at home. I’m really, really loving it so maybe re-reading it will be cool for you haha
      OMG YES I AM SO EXCITED TO READ IT, I HOPE NO ONE DIES!

      Like

  3. Omg A CONJURING OF LIGHT YESSSSS. I need that book so baddddddddd agh. Only a couple more weeks to go, we got this, right?!? ❤ I absolutely can't wait though omg. And I'm glad you liked The Sun is Also a Star! I'm wary about insta-love in general, but I'm a bit more comforted now haha. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • WE ARE SO CLOSE TO THE END! The wait is so much more excruciating now because it’s just so close but I can do it!
      The insta love is real but for me, it was so worth to just believe in because of the rest of the story that I couldn’t help but swoon for it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

