Book Traveling Thursdays Feb. 16th – There’s Still More Love to Share…

btt-feb-17-16

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is There’s still more love to share… Choose a book that deserves more love. There’s a lot of books that I feel don’t receive as much love as I think they should but most of them haven’t been published in international countries which would make this post really boring. So I went really far back in my read list to a book that I really enjoyed that I haven’t talked about in awhile.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is Maid of Secrets by Jennifer McGowan, the first book in what I think is the Maids of Honor series. I read this book all the way back in 2015 when I spent a month reading Historical Fiction books and I really enjoyed it. It’s all about this group of girls that act as the Queen’s ladies in waiting when they are actually spies for her. My favorite part is though the premise is much more modern than it seems, it seemed incredibly plausible to have this ragtag group of girls spying for the most powerful person in England.

Original Cover & My Country Cover & Favorite Cover

Maid of Secrets Cover

I love this cover. With a giant passion. Which makes me kind of a hypocrite since there’s people on the cover BUT hear me out! First, the models have the right clothes on. Second, the main model looks fierce as all get out and she has her stealthy little knife in her hand which is totally relevant in the book. And the title font is really freaking cool! There’s not a lot of books that have 1. two different colors on title font or 2. have the title on the side of the book! I just like it a lot haha.

My Least Favorite Cover

maid-of-secrets-ebook-cover  maid-of-secrets-french-cover

Again, all the books on this post have models on covers and I’ve complained that sufficiently in this meme and on other posts. However, that’s not my biggest issue here. My biggest issue is how obvious the knife is. THE GIRL IS A SPY. In the first cover, which is a random ebook version, she looks like she’s an assassin which is not true. She uses the knife to defend herself, not to purposely go and kill people. It sets an expectation to the book that cannot be fulfilled. The second cover, which is the French one, again gives this idea that the main character is a killer. And also, if she was really gonna kill him, she wouldn’t have the knife right there! It’s so obvious and he’s gonna notice and kill her first! It bothers me haha.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

send-off

7 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Feb. 16th – There’s Still More Love to Share…

  1. You are right about the covers but I think on the French one it looks as if she’s pulling the knife out of his back pocket or something. I have no idea why he’d have a pocket there but you can see there is an opening on the fabric around the tip of the knife. Anyway, it still seems like she is about to kill him so it doesn’t change anything you said 🙂

    Historical fiction is one of my favourite genres too, yay!

    My BTT post

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

