Freadom Recs: High Fantasy

freadom-recs-high-fantasy

Hello everyone!

I have not done one of these posts since I debuted this feature in March of last year. That’s a really long time ago and I can’t believe I let go so long. I always feel kind of strange giving recommendations because I don’t want to give ones that everyone else has already recommended because it can get really repetitive. I hope that you find books that you’ve never heard of or heard very little about within this list and that you consider giving them a try!

This week I am going to be recommending some High Fantasy series and books. This is my favorite genre, I spend every first month reading high fantasy books to my hearts content and I can’t wait to share some of my favorites with you!

Click on the covers to go to the Goodreads page.

SO let’s get started!

#1 – Graceling Realm Trilogy

Graceling Cover

This is probably one of the oldest series on this recommendations list and this is the first one that I ever read I believe. I read the first book in 8th grade and became obsessed with it (this happened with another series on this list as well). For years, I could not stop  thinking about the characters and the story and I finally re-read and finished the series in 2015. This is a trilogy and the books are companions so they don’t have the same POV and main character but the stories connect in a really unusual and unique way and I think it’s a nice series to use to get into High Fantasy or companion series for the first time.

#2 – The Queen of the Tearling Trilogy

The Queen of the Tearling Cover

Quick disclaimer: I’ve only read the first book in this series but yes, I’m still recommending it. This is an adult High Fantasy series with a youngish protagonist named Kelsea who is nineteen years old. She’s the Queen of the Tearling but has been kept away and hidden for all these years and in the start of this book, she’s finally taken to her throne. This series has polarizing views, you either hate it or love it, I obviously love it. It’s really slow but I think that the complexity of the world and the plot makes up for it. I loved the characters and I really need to finish the series.

#3 – Fire and Thorns Trilogy

The Girl of Fire and Thorns Cover

If you don’t know, I am currently completely obsessed with this series. I read the first book last year and made sure to continue with the second one in January and I just started the third book. It’s a very special and unique High Fantasy in my opinion because it’s based off of Latinx/Hispanic culture. Their religion, which is very similar to Catholicism, plays a huge part in the story but never becomes preachy or makes you feel like they’re trying to sell you this religion. The character development all around is astounding, in each book is more intensive and extensive. I really want more people to read this series because it’s just freaking awesome.

#4 – Shades of Magic Series

A Darker Shade of Magic

None of you should be surprised by this choice. V.E (Victoria) Schwab is one of my favorite authors of all time and this adult High Fantasy series of hers is really popular around the book community right now, which is totally deserved in my opinion. The series revolves around protagonist Kell who can travel between parallel Londons and manages to get a very dangerous artifact into his hands. There are cross dressing female pirates, bisexual POC princes and a lot of action and adventure. READ IT!

#5 – The Chronicles of Ixia

Poison Study Cover  Storm Glass Cover  Shadow Study

This is my favorite High Fantasy series of all time, as you might all know by now. It’s made up of three separate companion trilogies. The first and last follow Yelena, a girl sentenced to death in Ixia which lives by a strict military code. She gets the chance to become the Commander’s taste tester and learns more about herself than she ever imagined. This is the other series that has followed me since 8th grade. I read it then and could not stop thinking about the characters for the life of me. In 2015, I re-read and finished the first trilogy and I am now currently through the second book in the third trilogy and it’s just my favorite. Please read it :D.

Honorable Mentions:

Falling Kingdoms Cover  Ink and Bone Cover  Sea of Shadows Cover

These are all series that I’ve enjoyed but that I don’t necessarily consider favorites. I think they are all great examples of different kinds of High Fantasy series (multiple POVs, historical fantasy and high fantasy paranormal). I recommend them but I think that they depend on the type of reader that you are if you’ll enjoy them or not. Let me know if you’d like me to explain these in detail more of these descriptions are something that interest you.

So that’s it for this post! Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought of them. I absolutely love and adore High Fantasy in all its form and if you have any recommendations, please leave me a comment! I’m always looking for new epic series to get into. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

send-off

 

29 thoughts on “Freadom Recs: High Fantasy

  1. Great list! I have read A Darker Shade of Magic and enjoyed it a lot! Most of the other books are on my to read list. I reviewed The Painted Man; the first book in a fantasy series this month, if you’re interested read my review here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I adore Fantasy! This is a great list as it reminds me I still haven’t got around to reading several on it! I’m super excited to finally read Shades of Magic though as I’m waiting for the trilogy to be complete so I can marathon it!

    If you’ve not read her already, I highly recommend Trudi Canavan – her books are all fantastic! My favourite is her Age of Five trilogy although her Black Magician trilogy is the most popular.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhh I love this post! ❤ I love fantasy but high fantasy is a completely different realm that I rarely ventured to 🙈🙈 out of all the books on your list I've only read ADSOM and I absolutely loved it! Can't wait for ACOL to be released and I'm considering rereading ADSOM & AGOS in preparation hahaha 😛 So glad to see you loved The Queen of the Tearling and Girl of Fire and Thorns because I've been eyeing both series for a while!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

