Sara 101: I’m Moving!

sara-101-im-moving

Hello everyone!

I am back today with my personal feature, Sara 101, where I talk about me and myself and I and anything and everything that I could want to share about my personal life.

For the last few weeks, I’ve been talking about some changes that will be happening in my life and as you can tell from the title, I am moving! This post is basically gonna be explaining what’s happening, where I’m going, why I’m going and what will happen in the meantime with my blog. I hope you stick around and read this one because I like to share my life with all of you.

SO let’s get started!

My entire life has kind of been about moving. I’ve moved from a place of residence to another seven different times, I’ve moved from different states twice and I’ve moved from different countries also twice. This will be my third time.

As I’m sure most of you know, I am currently living in Venezuela. And things here are really, really bad. I don’t know if you all know where my country is or what’s happening here. I don’t like to talk about it most of the time because I’m living it and honestly, that’s enough. I can’t really handle the emotional topic that is talking about my country but to give you an idea as to why I’m leaving (again), here are some videos that explain the situation that I hope you take a few minutes to watch:

These videos are years old. Things are even worse now.

Of my Dad’s immediate side of the family, there are only ten of us left in the country. The grand majority of the friends I’ve managed to make in the last four years here are gone. Even some of my fellow Venezuelan bloggers are currently living in another country. Things here have been bad for the last 18 years and they continue to get worse every day. I missed a lot of these things because if you didn’t know, I grew up in California. However, these last four years have been an eye opening experience for me.

I am both very sad and very excited to be moving again. I feel incredibly blessed to be able to have the opportunity to pack up and start new somewhere else. I am incredibly grateful to be biracial and to be a citizen of the United States, a place where I can go to be safe. I’m sure that sounds really crazy to you guys, considering the state of the US, but imagine the state of VZLA, where refuge is found some other place. I’m not trying to say that one struggle is more important than the other, but I know the one that I will be able to survive.

Like I said above, I grew up in California. I was born in Venezuela and I stayed for nine years, then we moved to the US and there I spent nine years of my life, all of my teen years basically until we moved back here when I was 18. Now I am going back to my hometown, because California is what I feel is my home but this time with a much heavier heart than I did the first time. There are a lot of things that I’m gonna be very happy to not have to deal with when I move, but also a lot of things that I’m going to miss. I’m leaving the rest of my family behind, some of my best friends as well and a whole bunch of really great, really hardworking, really courageous people who are staying here and fighting for a better life.

The person I was when I came to this country and the person I am as I leave it are two completely different people. I have grown so much, have matured so much in the last four years than I ever have before and I am so thankful and grateful for this crazy place because of that.

But as sad as I am to be leaving, I am also really excited and looking forward to this new adventure. My brother and my nephew have been in California and I’m so happy to be reuniting with them. I will be able to see all of my friends and honestly, just to be able to feel safe at home is going to be an amazing feeling.

Another big freaking plus is that I’ll be reunited with my freaking library! All of the books I left behind when I moved are going to be right there where I left them and I can’t wait to show them all to you!

Now I will be traveling the first few weeks of March and as of right now, I am trying to schedule all the posts for that time so I don’t have to take a hiatus. However, I don’t know how much I’ll be able to get done so if I disappear for a little bit and you don’t see me around, you will now know that it’s not because I dropped of the face of the earth but because I am relocating.

So that’s it for this post! I am really excited and kind of sad. If you don’t follow me on Twitter, I’d really love it if you did and if you checked out a thread I am doing about the things I love about Venezuela. There is as much good as there is bad and I’d love for you all to see it. Also, it would mean a lot to me if you shared the videos above with people you know and could spread awareness about what’s happening in my country. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

send-off

32 thoughts on “Sara 101: I’m Moving!

  1. I’m so, so sorry to hear that things are really bad in Venezuela right now – it’s always disheartening to see what else is going on in the world that mainstream media is not currently reporting on. I relate so bad to what you said about coming and leaving a country as completely different people… I’m actually moving back to Indo in a couple of weeks and that’s been on the forefront of my mind, how I’m going to “settle” and “adapt” as my adult self as opposed to my teen self that left the country. Like you, while I have mixed feelings about it, there are also things I’m excited for.

    Thanks for sharing this with us, Sara, and I hope your move goes well, just as I hope that things in Venezuela will eventually get better. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much friend <3.
      It's really disappointing to know that the majority of the world doesn't really know the suffering that's going on in my country, but then again, most people don't even know where it is geographically haha. I really hope and pray that things will improve but I also want to feel safe which is why I'm moving.
      I hope your move goes well, I didn't realize you were doing a cross country one as well. As always, I'm always here if you want to vent about something.
      I just try to remember that things happen for a reason and I hope a lot of amazing and positive opportunities come with this move.

      Like

      • Yeah, I know. Indo’s not having the best time as well with the elections and all that but most don’t make mainstream media, so… I gotchu, boo, haha. I also relate re: people not really knowing where my country is. In Australia it’s much better because we’re neighbours, but I’ve met people before who are like “Where’s Indonesia?” and only when I mention Bali (our main tourist attraction) then they’d be like OOOH.

        Thank you, Sara! It’s a very stressful time as it’s not… ah, completely by choice, and it kind of means leaving everything I’ve known for the past seven years and have planned to have for the next five years at least, but you know. We just roll with the time. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I totally understand everything you’re going through right now. Considering this is my third time moving from one country to another, and the second time was almost pretty much against my will haha I gotchu too, boo. Sometimes we just gotta go with the flow of life and see where it’s taking us. In a few years, we’ll both know why things moved the way they did but either way, I got your back! πŸ˜€ ❀

        Like

  2. Wow, I wish the circumstances that made you decide to move were happier ones, but at least it is someplace that you consider your home as well. I wish you safe travels and a swift moving process. Those usually suck … at least I am terribly at packing and unpacking my belongings. If I could I would beam everything to a new place. Don’t worry about the blogging schedule, it will all work itself out πŸ˜€ And I also wish the best of luck to those who stay behind fighting the good fight.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so happy for you Sara! No one should have to live in fear everyday of their life. Hopefully this new change of scenery and way of life will lessen the burden that is in your heart and you can live a little more peacefully. Good luck with the move~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

