Book Traveling Thursdays Feb. 23rd – The Oscars Are Coming Up…

btt-feb-17-23

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is With the Oscars coming up soon, choose a book that you would like to see as a movie. This took me a little while to think of because most of the time, I get really scared about adaptations. There are a lot of ways that a movie adaptation can mess up in my opinion. If it’s not a 100% representation of the story, I tend to be disappointed though there are some movie adaptations that I really love. So I picked about that I enjoyed but that wouldn’t enrage me too much if it was done wrong.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch, the first book in the Gentleman Bastards series. I recently read this book and really enjoyed it. This series is so visually rich and has intricate world building that I think could be really well shown on a movie screen. It’s a bit confusing to read and it was for me but I think that the complexity of the story could be done really well. And fun fact: the movie rights have been sold for this book though I don’t know if there’s been any actual work on it.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

the-lies-of-lock-lamora-cover

I don’t know how I feel about this cover. I like that’s it’s purple, because that’s my favorite color and I’m trash like that. But the white contrast is really weird. I appreciate that parts of it are detailed but it just doesn’t really look distinguishable. Which bothers me and doesn’t really have anything to do with the book.

My Favorite Cover

the-lies-of-lock-lamora-us-cover  the-lies-of-lock-lamora-uk-cover

The first cover is a US version and the second is from the UK. While I have a few complaints about both of these, specially the first, I like that they both really illustrate the world and the setting of the story really well. They have a lot of details that have to do with the story and I appreciate how someone took the time to make these happen. However, the man on the first one bother me a lot. He does not make me think of Locke at all whatsoever. It’s just not the way I picture the character even if the model has the right features. And the second looks a lot more horror inclined than it really is. There’s a lot of graphic (disgusting) content but it’s never scary.

My Least Favorite Cover

the-lies-of-lock-lamora-spanish-cover  the-lies-of-lock-lamora-polish-cover  the-lies-of-lock-lamora-italian-cover  the-lies-of-lock-lamora-ebook-cover  the-lies-of-lock-lamora-bulgarian-cover

The first one is the Spanish cover, the second is the Polish cover, the third is the Italian one, the fourth is a random US ebook cover and the last one is from Bulgaria. There’s something that bothers me about all of them (obviously). 1. I don’t like the buildings in the background, they look nothing like they should. 2. I like the boat, but the people are like awful looking. So bad haha. 3. It just looks weird. It really does. 4. This one is not so bad, but I feel like there’s too much detail to be really accurate or to be actually pleasing to the eye. 5. Just hate it. I really, really hate it.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

send-off

2 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Feb. 23rd – The Oscars Are Coming Up…

Leave a Reply

