Book Traveling Thursdays Mar. 2nd – It’s National Read Across America Day!

btt-mar-17-2

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is It’s National Read Across America Day! Choose a book that you would recommend to everyone. The book I’ve chosen should be a surprise for no one. I don’t know how I’ve done it but I’ve pretty much managed to share almost every book from this series in this meme so yeah, I’m not that original but I don’t really care haha. I still think everyone should read this series and I talk about it all the time and I have to stay true to myself guys.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder, the first book in the Soulfinders Trilogy and the seventh book in the giant companion series, The Chronicles of Ixia. I love this series, I love this author’s writing, I’m a huge fan of the covers so I never miss a chance to talk about everything to do with these books. These books get published a lot around the world so there’s always plenty of things to choose from for the categories in this meme which is why I tend to rave about it more here.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

Shadow Study

Though one of the things that frustrate about the US covers about this overall series all have different US covers. This one is the newest design. Overall, I really like it. I’m upset about the model, specially because Yelena is supposed to be a woman of color (no actual ethnicity because in general Sitians are dark skinned). She’s much better than the first model in the oldest cover, but it shouldn’t be that hard to really represent Yelena. However, I still kind of like it.

My Favorite Cover

shadow-study-australian-cover

The reason I love these covers is because for Australia (where this one is from), the entire series has the same theme! There’s nothing truly remarkable about these editions, each one has a black backdrop and some form of floating element with really cool colors. But I think that making them all the same makes the design really cool and clean.

My Least Favorite Cover

shadow-study-uk-cover  shadow-study-italian-cover

I don’t know what it is with me and UK covers but I always seem to dislike them. I can’t even tell you what I don’t like about this one, I just don’t think they really fit the series well? The background color is a little weird and I feel like the font is way too big for the background. I’m just not a fan. Though I’m still getting the entire series in all English written versions cause I’m that obsessed haha. The second cover here is the Italian one and I think the close up on the model is to its detriment. Besides the fact that they changed the title, it just annoys me that they chose to make the model the center of the cover.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

send-off

3 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Mar. 2nd – It’s National Read Across America Day!

  1. I really need to read this series! I love the font and background of the new cover design. I like the model too, but it’s a shame she wasn’t more accurate to the character she’s supposed to represent. I feel like the UK covers (which we normally get here in Aus too) are either hit or miss 😂 Sometimes I absolutely adore them and think they’re better than the US, but then sometimes they’re so questionable and I am NOT a fan haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

