March ’17 TBR – Historical Fiction Theme

tbr-march-17-logo

Hello everyone!

As you read this, I’m probably at the airport waiting to get on a plane to take me away from the place I’ve called home for the last four years. I can’t really tell you how that’s going to feel like right now, because I’m doing this a whole week before but I can tell you that at this moment I’m both really sad and really excited. I hope this change brings me a lot of new opportunities and I am planning on taking advantage of everything new that’s comes my way. If you’d like to stay up to date with my trip, you can probably see some updates on Twitter, so follow me :). Anyway, I’m here to talk about the books that I hope to read in March. All of these are very tentative because I have no idea how much time I’ll have to read but hopefully I get at least a few read.

SO let’s get started!

First Order of Business:
The Inexplicable Logic of My Life
by Benjamin Alire Saenz

the-inexplicable-logic-of-my-life-cover

I got approved for this book on NetGalley towards the end of last month but it comes out really soon, so I’ve probably already started it and hope to finish it in time to review it even though it’ll probably be after publication date. I love Saenz’ writing and his book, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, is one of my favorites of all time so I have high expectations and I hope it doesn’t let me down.

Goodreads

The Mom Book Club:
The Female of the Species
by Mindy McGinnis

the-female-of-the-species-cover

My lovely friend Abby got to pick our book of the month this March and it was between The Female of the Species and The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender and you can definitely see which we picked. I’m a bit apprehensive but I’m trying to keep an open mind because I’ve heard a lot of good things about it. I’m trying to not have any expectations but if you have any warnings before starting I’d love to hear them!

Goodreads

Read It While It’s Hot Challenge:
The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch #1)
by Rin Chupeco

The Bone Witch Cover

This book hooked me since the first moment that I saw the cover and I’ve been waiting very impatiently for it to release because I was denied an ARC. While I’m really looking forward to it, there’s been a lot of mixed reviews from people I trust so I’m going in with lower expectations now.

Goodreads

2017 Debut Author Challenge:
You’re Welcome, Universe
by Whitney Gardner

youre-welcome-universe-cover

I’M SO EXCITED FOR THIS BOOK GUYS! I’ve talked about it before but I just think it’s gonna be awesome. I’ve heard great things about the Indian representation and my best friend Fadwa says there’s illustrations inside the book and if you didn’t know, I freaking loveeee graffiti and I’m just really looking forward to diving into this book.

Goodreads

Read Like a Grown Up Challenge:
Ghost Talkers
by Mary Robinette Kowal

ghost-talkers-cover

I failed this challenge last month but this adult historical fiction is set in World War I and the premise revolves around a woman who is part of a special corps of medium whose jobs is to contact dead soldiers and relieve information that they have to the American army. If that doesn’t sound amazing, I don’t understand you. Also, this might be a selling point for you, but Brandon Sanderson rated this book 5 stars. I haven’t read his books yet but I’m sure most of you have so yeah, he loved this!

Goodreads

Stand with the Loners Challenge:
Ripper
by Stefan Petrucha

Ripper Cover

This is the second time that I have this book on my TBR. I’m really interested in the story of Jack the Ripper and I’ve been wanting a really good, mystery, thriller historical fiction, reminiscent of These Shallow Graves which I loved. I hoped Stalking Jack the Ripper would fill that spot but I was really disappointed by that book. I hope this one has what I’m looking for.

Goodreads

Catch Up with the Release Challenge:
A Night Divided and Iron Cast
by Jennifer A. Nielsen and Destiny Soria

A Night Divided Cover  Iron Cast Cover

I’ve been wanting to read these books since they book came out, in 2015 and 2016, respectively. I love historical fiction with a touch of thriller and both of these have just that little bit that will keep me intrigued, hopefully. Iron Cast also has some magical elements which I’m really looking forward to reading about. Let me know if you’ve read this books because I’d love to know more opinions about them.

Goodreads Goodreads

Continuing Series:
Take the Key and Lock Her Up, Sinner, Shadow & Bone and Miss Mayhem
by Ally Carter, Maggie Stiefvater, Leigh Bardugo and Rachel Hawkins

take-the-key-and-lock-her-up-cover  sinner-cover  Shadow and Bone Cover  Miss Mayhem Cover

This is the least amount of books I’ve had on this section in a really long time. I haven’t been keeping up with this this year, because I’ve been super full of ARCs and buddy reads. But at least the first two are two endings! Take the Key and Lock Her Up is one I hope pulls off a stellar ending because the series has been kind of meh throughout. Sinner is a companion novel to the Wolves of Mercy Falls series and I have it in physical so I’m most likely reading it at the airport as you read this. I am swearing to myself that I will start Shadow & Bone this month, because I’ve been trying to read it for agesss. And I just want to cross off the Rebel Belle series off my list because I’m sure it’s not gonna be that great.

Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads

The Map (Jackaby #1.5)
by William Ritter

the-map-cover

I don’t usually read novellas. I like to because I feel like if the author took the time to write it and release it, it’s supposed to have insight into things about a series or a book that you can’t really see with the main narration. But I’ve gotten out of the habit of reading them, but the Jackaby series is one of my newest favorites and I really want to read this little thing haha.

Goodreads

Forbidden #2 and #3
Banished and Returned
by Kimberley Griffiths Little

Banished Cover  returned-cover

I read the first book in this series in 2015 and I’ve been trying to continue it since then. It’s a series that’s set in the Mesopotamian time, something like that I think. The first book was really slow but also had a lot of interesting cultural things that I enjoyed. I can’t really tell you if there’s a specific representation in this series and if it’s done well or not, but I really liked where the first book was going and I’m looking forward to seeing how the rest of the series concludes.

Goodreads

A Tyranny of Petticoats
Edited by Jessica Spotswood

 a-tyranny-of-petticoats-cover

I’ve wanted to get into anthologies much more lately. There’s a lot that have looked interesting and since I read My True Love Gave to Me which I enjoyed, I’ve been wanting to read more like it. I think anthologies are really great ways to get into a new author’s writing style without having to financially commit to a whole book from them. You get to try out a lot of different styles of storytelling and that way look into their own books at a later date. I really love steampunk so I hope I’ll enjoy this one!

Goodreads

Maids of Honor #.5, #2 and #3
A Thief Before Christmas, Maid of Deception and Maid of Wonder
by Jennifer McGowan

A Thief Before Christmas Cover  Maid of Deception Cover  Maid of Wonder Cover

I’ve been trying to finish this series for agessss. The first book was so much fun and really entertaining. This is a companion series that follows a group of Lady’s Maids for the Queen of England who double as spies. ISN’T THAT COOL?! I’m a little nervous about reading from different points of views, since I was a huge fan of the main character in the first book but I hope these new voices give new perspectives to the overall story of the series.

Goodreads

Flappers #1, #2 and #3
Vixen, Ingenue and Diva
by Jillian Larkin

Vixen Cover  Ingenue Cover  Diva Cover

I am obsessed with the 1920’s and I’ve never read a series in that time period. This one has always caught my eye because those covers are stunning and it’s a companion series which is interesting. I’ve been trying to get to it for a long time so while it’s at the end of my list, I really hope to get to it this month.

Goodreads

So that’s it for this post! I also have other historical fiction books on my bigger TBR list like The Diviners and The Shadow of the Wind but since they’re so much bigger, I doubt I’ll get to them. Let me know what you think of my choices and if you’ve read any of them! Also, if you can take a moment to send me some positive thoughts and safe travels, I’d really appreciate it. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

send-off

8 thoughts on “March ’17 TBR – Historical Fiction Theme

  1. I get excited everytime I see my name in one of your posts 😂😂 and I’m SOOO excited for you to read YWU, I just hope Julia’s angst doesn’t annoy you too much.
    Also I’m pretty sure you’ll like Iron Cast, I had a few minor problems with it but overall it was a solid story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh, great TBR Sara! Historical is one genre that really terrifies me 😂 I’m really fascinated by history though so I want to try and read more, haha. I LOVED The Female of the Species! It’s a bit confrontational in the terms of rape culture, but it’s such an important story. I really need to read Iron Cast (I got an ARC forever ago, oops) and Shadow and Bone! Hope you get through a bunch of these and enjoy them all ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 🙂 Why does it terrify you? It’s pretty great! Do you have any era that you’re most interested in? I could try to find something for you to dip your toes in.
      I hope we enjoy it and can have a lot to discuss while we read 🙂
      Read it and tell me what you think! I’m a little nervous to start it since I haven’t heard much. Thanks Lauren, I hope you have a productive month as well 🙂

      Like

  3. Hi Sara.
    I am deeply moved by your tragic circumstances. I am wishing you all the best. Please enjoy safe travels.

    You are an ambitious reader! To me, ‘Ghost Talkers’ is the most intriguing on the list, but everything looks good. I like it that most of these books are set in the late 19th, or early 20th century. My go-to authors are of that era. {Arthur Conan Doyle, and Dashell Hammet.}

    Welcome back to the U.S.
    Your pal,
    ~Icky. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

