T5W Mar. 8th – Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

t5w-mar-17-8

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Favorite Science Fiction and Fantasy Books. I could’ve easily dedicated this whole post to all of my favorite High Fantasy since you all know that it’s my favorite series but I decided to talk about both genres. Even though I don’t read a lot of Science Fiction, I do have a few faves from that genre and I’ll mention them today!

SO let’s get started!

#5: Dreadnought
by April Daniels

dreadnought-cover

I’ve never been a big fan of super hero stories, it’s not really my thing, but I really liked this book! Not only was it really original but it’s #ownvoices trans girl rep with the main character and I really liked how the author didn’t shy away from being graphic about everything that was going on in the book. The action was top notch and entertaining and I’d recommend it!

#4: Avalon
by Mindee Arnett

Avalon Cover

I haven’t talked about this series in a long time since I read it a long time ago. It was recommended to be by both of the creators of this meme actually and I really enjoyed it. It was action packed, the world was really intricate and the characters were entertaining. My only problems were with the narration and with how quickly things were resolved. This is the only series that I would’ve liked  to be a bit longer than two books.

#3: The Girl of Fire and Thorns
by Rae Carson

The Girl of Fire and Thorns Cover

THIS IS MY NEWEST FAVORITE SERIES PLEASE READ IT BECAUSE IT’S SO GOOD! This series is action packed, entertaining and full of so many different twists and turns. Out of everything though, my favorite thing about it is that it’s a Latinx/Hispanic inspired fantasy, the first one I’ve read EVER. It blew me away and I just want more people to get absorbed by this story because it’s amazing!

#2: A Darker Shade of Magic
by V.E. Schwab

A Darker Shade of Magic

I’m sure no one is surprised that I’m recommending this series. Victoria is my favorite author of all time and I pretty much have loved every single book I’ve read that she’s written. This series is one of my current favorites and I’m really surprised if you haven’t heard about it. If you’ve been wanting to try adult fantasy series, I’d definitely give this one a chance, specially since it’s now officially complete!

#1: Poison Study
by Maria V. Snyder

Poison Study Cover

This is my favorite series of all time, so obviously I had to recommend it. If you haven’t heard me talk about it, you must be new here haha. This series stayed with me since the 8th grade and the last few years I’ve been able to not only to re-read Poison Study but to continue the rest of the giant companion series and have almost finished all the books! (Which is really kind of sad because what am I gonna do when it’s over?!)

So that’s it for this post! Let me know what kind of Science Fiction and Fantasy books you’d recommend. I read a lot of High Fantasy, so I’d love some easy to read, easy to understand Science Fiction recs from you guys below. Preferably YA but I’d read Adult too if it’s not too complicated. I want to get more into the genre but slowly haha. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post.

send-off

10 thoughts on “T5W Mar. 8th – Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

  1. I need to get onto Dreadnought. I love the sound of that book! And Avalon sounds interesting too, although I’ve not yet heard of that one until today, curiously enough. 😛

    I’d comment more about ADSOM, Girl of Fire and Thorns and Poison Study but you already know how I feel about them. 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • You should definitely try it! It’d be really interested in hearing your thoughts. Same thing with Avalon specially since it’s underappreciated.
      Obviouslyyy, you’re one of the only people who’ve started all of them haha

      Like

  2. I’m so glad you love The Girl of Fire and Thorns! It’s one of my top 5 fantasy series as well. I really want to read Poison Study, I have heard great things about it and the synopsis sounds interesting. I’m a bit scared because there’s so many companion books, but I’ll try to read it soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay! Someone else who loves it! I haven’t found many people who’ve read it and loved it to talk to about it. I hope you do read it and enjoy it, Poison Study is my favorite series of all time and I tend to talk about it a lot haha.

      Like

  3. I just knew The Girl of Fire and Thorns would be one here :)) Fantastic list Sara, completely agree with numbers 1, 2, 3; such fantastic books! I haven’t read Avalon or Dreadnought but they sound amazing, will be adding to my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

