Looks on Books #14

lob-14

Hello everyone!

I am back with one of my original features inspired by Lila @ The Bookkeeper’s Secret and Reg @ She Latitude to put together outfits inspired by book covers.Usually I pick the cover based on my favorite books (old and new), under-hyped books that I want to feature a bit more on my blog or just regular beautiful covers.

SO let’s get started!

On Display: Smash & Grab

Looks on Books #14 - Smash & Grab by Amy Christine Parker

Emilio De La Morena off shoulder dress/ Miu Miu pumps/ GUESS blue purse/ Rolex stainless steel watch/ Armenta 18k earrings/ Alexandra Alberta handcrafted necklace

I haven’t talked about this book in like a really long time which isn’t really a mistake. I read this book back in 2016, it was given to me for review on NetGalley and when I read it, I rated it four stars. Looking back on it, there were some awful Mexican American stereotypes used in the narrative. While I enjoyed the inclusion of a Latinx character in the main story line, I feel like there could’ve been a different conflict to involve him and his friends in to create the bigger plot line than the one the author showed. However, I thought the cover was really great to do this kind of feature! I tried to recreate the outfit of the model on the cover and I think I did a good job 🙂

Fun fact: I picked this book off of NetGalley because I’m a little bit obsessed with Contemporary Thriller books.

Synopsis:

Ocean’s Eleven meets the star-crossed lovers of West Side Story. Grab some popcorn and get ready for an adrenaline-filled heist!

LEXI is a rich girl who loves a good rush. Whether it’s motorcycle racing or BASE jumping off a building in downtown Los Angeles, the only times she feels alive are when she and her friends are executing one of their dares. After her father’s arrest, Lexi doesn’t think twice about going undercover at his bank to steal the evidence that might clear his name. She enlists her hacker brother and her daredevil friends to plan a clever heist.

CHRISTIAN is a boy from the wrong side of the tracks. The local gang has blackmailed him and his friends into robbing banks, and he is desperate for a way out. When the boss promises that one really big job will be the last he ever has to do, Christian jumps at the chance for freedom. In fact, he’s just met a girl at the bank who might even prove useful. . . .

Two heists. One score. The only thing standing in their way is each other.

Told in alternating points of view, this caper is full of romance and fast-paced fun. Hand to fans of Perfect Chemistry, The Conspiracy of Us, and Heist Society.

So that’s it for this post! Let me know what you think of the look and if you’ve read this book. I would love if you guys read this book and could chat about it with me! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!
send-off

6 thoughts on “Looks on Books #14

  1. Love this look, Sara, and that bag is amazing! This also sounds like an interesting book – do you mean “contemporary romance/thriller” by “Contemporary Thriller”? I can’t imagine a pure thriller book set in contemporary times being marketed with that kind of cover… my mind just gravitates to fun spy novels instead of, say, Gone Girl-esque stories. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • I add Thriller to Contemporary when they are books that deal with stealing, spying, and cons, those kinds of things or even like The Naturals which is about serial killers. This one includes romance but it’s much more about the con. I guess pure thrillers are more in the adult genre (haven’t read any) but the YA ones I read aren’t really about solving a murder (though there are some that are).

      Like

Leave a Reply

