Book Traveling Thursdays Mar. 16th – It’s Freedom of Information Day!

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is It’s Freedom of Information Day! Because freedom matters choose a controversial book. I don’t particularly like the term “controversial book.” It just makes it seem like opposing opinions are automatically combative against each other and I’m not really there for that. So, I decided to pick a book that I didn’t enjoy as much as other people because I wasn’t prepared for the experience of reading it.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is The Summer That Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel, a standalone literary fiction novel. I read this book last year after the author contacted me offering an ARC. I was a little nervous to read it because I don’t generally read literary fiction and it’s a genre that kind of intimidates me but I took the plunge! I didn’t enjoy it as much as other people did but mostly because I didn’t expect the emotional reaction I had and I didn’t really like it haha but looking back, I appreciate the experience.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

I don’t know how I feel about this cover! I feel like it doesn’t really represent the intensity of the story within. There’s so much emotion and depth in this book and I feel like the cover gives it a false sense of lightheartedness. It makes me think of a cute summer contemporary where that’s not what it is at all. However, I really like the big font, it’s eye-catching.

My Favorite Cover

This cover is amazing! This is the paperback cover though I’m not sure from where. I think this is the cover that best describes the story within, that’s what I always want from covers. I like that the colors are similar to the original but you also have a small font and the small children silhouettes which are so freaking important to the story! I just think this is beautiful!

My Least Favorite Cover

I tend to complain about European covers so I’m sorry for doing it again haha. The first cover is from the UK and while I understand what they were trying to do with it (fire like shapes as part of the cover), I just don’t like it at all. I can’t really tell you what puts me off about it but I don’t like it. The second cover is the Dutch one. My only issue with it is that it’s really simple and the setting doesn’t really match the one in the book. The last one is the audiobook cover which is similar to the original and I’m not a huge fan of that one either haha.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

send-off

4 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Mar. 16th – It’s Freedom of Information Day!

    • Hahahaha honestly, I kind of wish I would’ve said no too, not because I didn’t like the opportunity but because it took me a long time to read and it affected me a lot more than I expected. You should try it if literary fiction is your thing haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

