T5W Mar. 22nd – Favorite Angsty Romances

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Favorite Angsty Romances. I am a huge shipper, I love to read books with romances that I can cheer on or agonize over. But most of the time, I love romances that start out slowly and that develop organically with not a lot of fuss and fighting. However, there’s also some amazing angst filled romances that I have loved and this list is going to feature them!

SO let’s get started!

#5: Cleo & Magnus
from Falling Kingdoms
by Morgan Rhodes

This is probably the most back and forth out of all the relationships on this list. I hate him, she’s annoying, wow he’s being kind, she’s so beautiful, oh wait I hate him again! It started getting on my nerves quite a bit after awhile but I think the pay off was worth it. I hope that the relationship continues to develop in a more positive direction because I did not like it’s development in the newest release.

#4: Tess and Henry
from The Long Game
by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

I can’t even tell you if this is a romance at all. I just know that I wanted it to be one and that the angst that their kind of relationship creates is just painfulll. It’s such a small line that they’re dancing around and then everything goes to shit and it’s crazy! I really want more books in this series because it can’t be possibly be the end! The end of the Long Game cannot be the end of the series because I’d die!

#3: Keenan and Donia
from Darkest Mercy
by Melissa Marr

I don’t talk about this series a lot even though I think I should because I really loved it. This is one of those series that takes you on a crazy ride, there’s a lot of different things happening and a lot of different characters (it’s a companion series so you meet a lot of people). This particular relationship is so tragic and so heartbreaking. It literally ripped me to shreds because it was just so sad, how doomed they seemed to be. Honestly, I want more people to read this series so I can talk about the craziness that is Keenan and Donia.

#2: Charlotte and Jamie
from A Study in Charlotte

by Brittany Cavallaro

I don’t know if I can really call this a romance or not. The dynamic between these two characters is very unique and complex and sometimes even unhealthy for both of them. I can’t really see where it’s going but the journey has been painfulll. They have a lot of feelings between them but also a lot of obstacles so it’s such a back and forth kind of relationship that I just want some resolution!

#1: Shazi and Khalid
from The Wrath and the Dawn
by Renee Ahdieh

The mother of all the angsty relationships! I don’t think there’s any romance in YA that is as angsty as these two are. It was the most amazing torture to read honestly haha. I loved this series because of the relationship, even though some people don’t really like it at all, it completely captivated me. It hurt so good guys, all the back and forth, all the conversations, it was just freaking great!

So that’s it for this post! I would love to know if you’ve all read these books and if you consider these relationships to be angst filled. I had a hard time finding these through my read books which is kind of weird. I’d love to know what kinds of romance you guys or if you don’t like it at all, give me some recs for your favorite books without romance! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

send-off

8 thoughts on “T5W Mar. 22nd – Favorite Angsty Romances

  1. Angsty romances are either a hit or miss for me but the relationship between Shazi and Khalid is one of my all time favourites. The development of their relationship was torturously beautiful. The dynamic between them is stunning and the fact that Khalid sees her and treats her as his equal makes my heat all warm and fuzzy inside.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

