March ’17 Wrap Up

Hello everyone!

March has been a pretty crazy month. I moved on the third and didn’t stop traveling until the eighth. I’ve been trying to get myself together since then and it hasn’t been going that well. I had so much to do the first week I was there that it was really overwhelming and therefore, I started getting behind in my blogging schedule. I didn’t post as much as usual also because of that but I really hope that April will be much better as I think things will slow down. Anyway, thanks for sticking around while I’m getting myself together and now I’ll show you what I managed to accomplish this month.

SO let’s get started!

Personal Thoughts

I am feeling really stressed and overwhelmed haha. This month was crazy, full of changes and shifting and it was tough to hold on to my sanity while traveling. I had so many different paperwork like things to do as soon as I landed at my final destination and it’s just been a constant stream of things to do since then. Finally, the last week I’ve been able to slow down so I hope that in April, I can go back to being as consistent as I used to be.

But on the upside, I met my nephew! It was my second time seeing him and my mom and my grandma’s first time so that was super cool. We had a mini family reunion with my mom’s family whom I’d never met which was awesome. And one of her cousins whom she hadn’t seen since she was 17 came to visit us and we got to hang out with her and her husband which was great. I’ve reconnected with some of my best friends and I’m definitely feeling so much love being here.

Books I Read

  1. Done Dirt Cheap by Sarah Nicole Lemon –   This is an ARC that I started in February and finished in March. I didn’t really know what to expect from this book when I first started it and it took me a little time to get into it at first. However, I quickly fell in love with the female friendship in this book since it’s the most important part and every time I look back on what happened in this book, I want to rave about it.
  2. The Pants Project by Cat Clarke –   This is another ARC that I read this month. It’s a middle grade book about a trans boy fighting against his school’s dress code. While I liked most of the story and the writing style made it an easy read, I felt like there were some things that were a little concerning about the way the main character’s identity is mentioned. If you’re a trans reviewer and has read this book, please let me know if I can add your review to my own!
  3. The Map (Jackaby #1.5) by William Ritter –   This is a novella from one of my favorite series right now. I wanted to read it just because I’ve been missing the characters and while I enjoyed it, it’s just an okay novella. There’s nothing really new added to the series overall, it’s just a small adventure to show the bond developing between the two main characters.
  4. A Thief Before Christmas (Maids of Honor #0.5) by Jennifer McGowan –   This is a novella from one of the series I was trying to finish this month. It centers around the main character of the first book which I liked because I really enjoyed her point of view and the second book has another protagonist. I love how this particular historical fiction series has a lot of espionage and thieving elements. This novella was also kind of sweet as well. Nothing added to the main series but more background on one of the characters.
  5. The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour –   Guys, I’m so disappointed. Nina LaCour wrote one of my favorite books of all time, Everything Leads to You, and I’ve been wanting to read more of her books for a really long time but I just did not like this book. I was bored, I didn’t connect with any of the characters and I didn’t really care about what was happening. And that makes me really sad.
  6. Forever (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #3) by Maggie Stiefvater – Wanted to finish this book today but I got super busy. This will be the first thing I finish next month and then I’ll finally be able to move on to the last book which I have a physical copy of.
  7. The Whole Thing Together by Anne Brashares – This is an ARC that I just recently got approved for and I started it ASAP because the book releases in April. I’ve been wanting to read this book since I started in because it’s about a blended family (sort of) and since I’ve been a part of a blended family since birth pretty much I was really interested in it. So far, it’s really interesting and the writing style is really cool.
  8. Maid of Deception (Maids of Honor #2) by Jennifer McGowan – This is the only actual book I managed to start from my themed TBR this month haha. It’s the sequel to a book I read awhile ago that I really enjoyed. This one has a different narrator and while she can get on my nerves, I’m really enjoying where the plot is going and how the series story as a whole is developing.
  9. The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Saenz – I’ve had this ARC for a really long time but I’m dragging my feet against reading it because this book has various problematic aspects. I was almost going to leave it unread but I don’t like DNFing ARCs and I feel like I need to read it to fully accept the fact that one of my favorite authors can mess up and them being favorites is not an excuse to give them a pass on problematic content.
  10. Dawn Study (Soulfinders #3, Chronicles of Ixia #9) by Maria V. Snyder – After so many meh kind of books and of struggling to want to read, I decided to dive into something I knew I was going to enjoy. This is the last book of my favorite series of all time and I’m loving the little that I’ve read already. I’m really sad that it’s ending but I know it’s gonna be an epic finale.

Posts I Shared

Reviews

Tags And Awards

Memes

Top 5 Wednesday

Book Traveling Thursdays

Features

Challenges Update

  • Goodreads Reading Challenge – 23/50 (46%)

For reading so little these past few months, I’m almost halfway through my reading challenge. I’m glad I knew myself well enough in January to not set a high bar for this year because while I might pass it, it won’t be by much haha.

  • Read It While It’s Hot Challenge – 8/50

Doing okay in this challenge. I haven’t read as many new releases as I want to but I hope in April I can use my library much more and bump this number up.

  • 2017 Debut Author Challenge – 3/12

Three for three in this one, yay! I’m really glad I’ve mostly managed to keep up with this challenge even if the books I read aren’t the actual ones that I chose in the beginning of the month (thanks ARCs!).

  • Finishing the Series Challenge – 2/30

Nothing added to this… This month was kind of fail for most of these challenges haha. I didn’t really focus much on them since I had (still have) backlogged ARCs that I need to get to.

  • Read Like a Grown Up Challenge – 1/12

No more books added to this challenge, I’ve failed to add a book two months in a row. I don’t know why I struggle to actually pick up the books I choose for this so hopefully next month I can catch up with the ones I’ve wanted to read.

  • Stand With the Loners Challenge – 7/12

Three more standalones added to this challenge this month. Two books I enjoyed, one not so much but all I’m glad that I read.

  • Catch Up with the Release – 8/24

Nothing new in this challenge unfortunately :(.

So that’s it for this post! This month has been pretty crazy for me and you can definitely tell with the kind of progress I haven’t made with reading and blogging. I hope that April will be much more similar to what I’ve been used to doing but if not, I’ve started to learn to accept that things might not be the same again as I have a new way of life now. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

 

7 thoughts on “March ’17 Wrap Up

  1. Guuuurl! You are doing so many challenges this year! I’m in AWE! The only challenge I’m doing is Goodreads because I can’t afford to limit myself to a specific genre. I could probably try the ‘Beat the Backlist’ Challenge, but… I’m so bad at updating. :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • I went a little overboard hahaha Which wasn’t the smartest idea since I’m not doing well in any of them haha
      My favorite is the series one because it helps me stay on top of the ongoing series I’m reading which can get extremely overwhelming haha

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hahaha! I did a series one last year and totally bombed! I have so many books that I can’t afford to go out and get the sequels in a series before reading the books I own. So I start a bunch of series and never get around to the next book. :p Oops!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

