April ‘ 17 TBR – New Adult Theme

Hello everyone!

I’m really looking forward to this month! I’m a big fan of New Adult though I haven’t read it in a really long time. Considering how little I’ve been reading lately, I hope this month will help push me to read a bit more. These books are usually easy to read for me and I fly by them really fast, the last time I had a NA month I read 18 books so it looks like it might be a good month. I also hope to not be so busy, cross your fingers for me!

SO let’s get started!

First Order of Business:
How to Make a Wish and Noteworthy
by Ashley Herring Blake and Riley Redgate

 

I’ve got two books to review this month! I’ve heard such great things about both of them from friends on Twitter and fellow book bloggers so I’m really excited to start them. The first is a coming of age contemporary novel about two girls dealing with harsher things than they should. One of the main characters is bisexual I believe so that’s gonna be cool to read about. The second one is kind of the one that I’m most excited about but also really apprehensive. It’s about a girl who dresses as a boy to become a part of her boarding school’s acapella group. I love music and I love acapella and I really want to read it. However, I didn’t enjoy Redgate’s debut so I hope this one is much more my speed.

Goodreads Goodreads

The Mom Book Club:
The Female of the Species
by Mindy McGinnis

the-female-of-the-species-cover

Because of my busy schedule in March, we didn’t manage to get to this one last month. Hopefully we’ll be able to start it this month and we’ll enjoy it!

Goodreads

Read It While It’s Hot Challenge:
The Upside of Unrequited
by Becky Albertalli

I’M SO EXCITED FOR THIS BOOK! I’ve heard amazing things from so many different people and I really enjoyed Albertalli’s first book, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. I can’t wait for it to come out, specially since it’s set in the same place I think and I hope to see some cameos!

Goodreads

2017 Debut Author Challenge:
Zenn Diagram
by Wendy Brant

 There aren’t many new debuts that I’m interested in this month except for this one. This book is a contemporary but with a little bit of magical realism I think? The main character is a math genius but when she touches someone, she can see a vision of their emotions. It sounds really interesting and I hope I can get to it this month.

Goodreads

Read Like a Grown Up Challenge:
As I’m reading New Adult this month, there’s no adult that fits the theme so I’m taking a little break haha.

Stand with the Loners Challenge:
Kulti
by Mariana Zapata

I’m really excited by this pick. I’ve been wanting to find NA by Latinx authors for awhile, there’s really not much popular diverse NA but this one has been recommended to me a few times. It revolves around a girl who plays soccer and while I’m not like that at all, soccer is a huge part of my family. And I like reading sport romances but usually it’s male POVs and football or something like that, so I’m excited to see what this is all about.

Goodreads

Catch Up with the Release Challenge:
Second Position and Wicked Heart
by Katherine Locke and Leisa Rayven

 

These two books have nothing to do with each other but I’m placing them in the same category. The first book is one I’ve been thinking of reading for a long time. If you didn’t know, I love to dance and I’ve been dancing since I was little. A while ago, I started searching for books with dance themes on Goodreads and this one was one of the most popular ones. It’s the first book in a series so I really hope it’s good (the author is pretty awesome on Twitter, too). The second is the last book in one of my favorite NA series that I’ve been putting off since it came out. I didn’t want it to end so I haven’t read it yet, but I swear I’ll do it this month!

Goodreads Goodreads

Continuing Series:
Take the Key and Lock Her Up, Sinner, Shadow & Bone and Miss Mayhem
by Ally Carter, Maggie Stiefvater, Leigh Bardugo and Rachel Hawkins

take-the-key-and-lock-her-up-cover  sinner-cover  Shadow and Bone Cover  Miss Mayhem Cover

Yes, this is the same as last month’s. Please don’t judge me.

Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads

Jockblocked (Gridiron #2)
by Jen Frederick

This is a sequel to a book I read in 2016 as part of the Rainbowthon. I did not like the first book that much to be honest haha. It was filled with insta love from like the third paragraph, it’s pretty crazy. However, I liked the characters and the story was pretty interesting so I’m willing to give this book a chance.

Goodreads

The Year We Fell Down (The Ivy Years #1)
by Sarina Bowen

Another sports romance but this one deals with characters who are currently unable to practice their sport. A lot of my romance blogger friends have been raving about this series and this author for a really, really long time and I think it’s about time for me to see what all the fuss is about. This author has also collaborated with one of my favorite NA authors so I’m hoping this is good.

Goodreads

Leaving Amarillo (Neon Dreams #1)
by Caisey Quinn

This is the first of many books on this list that come from me searching for recs on Goodreads. I really love to read books that have music within it and this book is filled with country music, tattoos and what I’m guessing is angst. I’m hoping that I’m going to enjoy this book because this series could become a favorite with all these elements. However, I hold NA books to a high standard so we’ll see.

Goodreads

Full Measures (Flight & Glory #1)
by Rebecca Yarros

This one is an interesting mix between sports and military romance and it’s another one of those I found on a search through Goodreads. It has a really high rating too but you never know if that’s actually because it’s good or because some people are easily pleased. I hope I can manage to get to it.

Goodreads

Strong Side (Eastshore Tigers #1)
by Alison Hendricks

The next couple of books are all M/M romances which is really cool, but I’m kind of nervous about it since they’re all written by women… This is another sports romance and I apparently can only read about sports in NA now haha. I know of no one who’s ever read this book so I’m going in blind. Wish me luck!

Goodreads

Him (Him #1)
by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy

This is the book I was talking about a little bit ago. Elle Kennedy is one of my favorite NA authors and I’ve had various blogger friends absolutely rave about this duology and collaboration. Again, more sports and an M/M romance (still nervous) but I’m looking forward to seeing what this has in store. It’s been recommended to me by a lot of freaking people so we’ll see.

Goodreads

Love Lessons (Love Lessons #1)
by Heidi Cullinan

This will be the second book I read from this author if I manage to get to it. She wrote a book that I read with the Mom Book Club in 2015 that I really loved, 5 out of 5 stars, and I’ve been looking to continue with more of her work for a really long time. This one is much different than that first book since it’s set at college but I loved how the author managed to build her plots so I hope this is good too!

Goodreads

Dirty (Dive Bar #1)
by Kylie Scott

And just to add some spice to the mix, let’s add some more tattoos and a little bit of alcohol into this TBR. I’m running out of things to say because all of these are so similar. I heard about this book on Facebook from a bunch of fanfiction writers that I follow and since I generally like their stuff, I figured why not try out their recs? Haven’t seen anyone I follow around here talking about it, so we’ll see.

Goodreads

Killing Sarai (In the Company of Killers #1)
by J.A. Redmerski

This is the only book on this list that’s a little bit different than the rest. This is a contemporary thriller series that I’ve been recommended by quite a few people, mostly Lainey @ gingerreadslainey on YouTube and some bloggers that I follow. It’s all about the mafia I think and/or hired mercenaries and that sounds like a good time to me! Here’s to hoping that it’s a good one.

Goodreads

Radleigh University #1, #2 and #3
Last Will & Testament, Right of First Refusal and Out on Good Behavior
by Dahlia Adler

   

This is pretty much the only series out of this list that I’m already willing to invest in from the get go because I have a feeling that I’m going to love these books. I’ve been following Dahlia Adler on Twitter for a really long time and she’s such an amazing human being. I’ve been trying to read her books for ages and I didn’t get to one of her YA books in February so I hope that this month I’ll be able to at least start her NA series which I’m pretty sure is going to be amazing.

Goodreads

So that’s it for this post! I would love to know if any of you have read the books that I mentioned around the middle of this post. I know it’s really long but I feel like I’ll be able to read these really quickly if I set my mind on it. I’m a huge fan of New Adult books, though I do prefer mine to have more substance and less drama so I hope I’ve picked the right books for the kinds of things I like. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

send-off

9 thoughts on “April ‘ 17 TBR – New Adult Theme

  1. I wish you a successful reading month! Hopefully by the end of it you’d have found soooo many great NA books (that you could recommend to me, mwahaha 😈).

    And I’m sooo sad that you didn’t like Seven Ways We Lie, but I have faith in Noteworthy! It’s more classically YA and it’s just got such good rep on a variety of things. I hope you like it. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much friend ❤
      I made a recommendations list of NA books awhile ago if you wanna search for that but I'll definitely let you know if there's any that I particularly enjoy this month haha
      Have you read it? I feel like you have from this comment. I'm really hoping that it's better and easier to connect to than 7WWL because I love me some acapella

      Like

      • I’ll definitely look it up on your blog! And yes, I’ve read Noteworthy, haha. I actually liked 7WWL better but for me that’s because I loved how Redgate handled the multi-POV… whereas Noteworthy is more of a “typical” YA (though still very, very good).

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks friend! 😀
      I hope Noteworthy is good, I’ve heard a lot of great things but I didn’t really like the author’s first book that much so I hope I like NW better.
      I’m excited to get started with my friends on TFOTS! I’ve heard amazing things!
      P.S. My name has no H in it 😀 haha

      Like

  2. I haven’t read any of the books personally, but I’ve heard GREAT things about Noteworthy 😀 and of course, I am super excited about The Upside of Unrequitted. I really enjoyed Simon vs. so I have high hopes for this one too!
    Best of luck with your TBR 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

