T5W Apr. 5th – Top SFF Books On Your TBR

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top SFF Books On Your TBR. As I mentioned in the other post that had to do with SFF books, I tend to read High Fantasy books more than Science Fiction. So this list is going to be made up of mostly Fantasy books with a bit of SciFi. All these books are ones that I’ve had on TBRs, that I’ve tried to get to a few times but haven’t managed to get to and that I really want to read!

SO let’s get started!

#5: Zodiac
by Romina Russell

I’ve been trying to read this book since it came out… in 2014. Yeah, that’s right, THAT long ago haha. It’s basis is on astrology which is an obsession of mine and the main character has my same sign! Also, the author is Argentinian and like Latinx pride makes me want to read it even more. I haven’t heard many people that I know talk about it but it has a pretty big fandom. I just really want to read it.

#4: Plus One
by Elizabeth Fama

I can freely admit that the only reason that I want to read this book is about the cover. I think it’s the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen in my life! I’ve been obsessed with it for YEARS. This book was also released in 2014 and I’ve tried numerous times to read it and I’ve just never managed to even start it. Also, I’m terrified of starting it because I’m scared that such a gorgeous cover will be for a bad book and that would be awful.

#3: The Burning Sky
by Sherry Thomas

This is another book that caught my attention because of its cover though I’ve heard more things about this one than any of the ones before this point on the list. It’s a high fantasy book about elemental magic and that pretty much speaks to everything that I like to read about. It has a pretty good rating on Goodreads so I really want to read this series and see what I think.

#2: Legacy of Kings
by Eleanor Herman

(I think this cover is much prettier than the cover change but whatever.) This one is another one that I’ve had my eye on since it came out. I think it’s really cool how it’s a mix between high fantasy and historical fiction. The author is also a historian so I kind of feel like she’s gonna do a good job with the adaptation of the story. Not the best ratings and I’ve heard things from people that didn’t like it but I’m still super intrigued.

#1: The Star-Touched Queen
by Roshani Chokshi

I REALLY, REALLY WANT TO READ THIS BOOK! Everyone has been talking about it lately because the sequel is coming out. I’ve heard great things (and some not so good things) but I’ve been eyeing it for a really long time. I have it on my TBR for this month so I might just push myself to read this before all the other books I want to read and say fuck it all haha.

So that’s it for this post! I’d love to know what kind of SFF books you have on the top of your TBRs. I definitely need more SciFi recs but I’m not the biggest fan of the genre so I need light SciFi. Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what you think of them. Which one do you think I should dive into first? Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

6 thoughts on “T5W Apr. 5th – Top SFF Books On Your TBR

  1. I loved the writing and mythology in The Star-Touched Queen. Roshani Chokshi is super talented (and beautiful). Some things missed the mark for me though. It didn’t feel as empowering as I hoped. I still quite enjoyed it though and am definitely interested to see what you’d think!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love that you started with Zodiac Sara! I too have this one on my list & I’m even guilty of buying the first 2 books in this series smh. I LOVE astrology! and this one just called to me, I had no idea that it featured a Latinx character, this is def a key motivator for me now. The Star Touched Queen & Legacy Of Kings *sigh* also own also haven’t gotten around to them yet smh, it’s going to happen soon lol. I’m actually currently finishing up Claudia Gray’s Defy the Stars & OMGOSH! so entertaining & its a sci-fi book (illuminae vibes). Great list 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know if the main character in Zodiac is Latinx, the author is though. I really want to start it soon though because I feel like I might love just because it’s all about a passion of mine.
      I ordered The Star-Touched Queen from the library so I hope to read it this month 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

