Book Traveling Thursdays Apr. 13th – National Pet Day Was a Few Days Ago…

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is National Pet Day was a few days ago… choose a book that features your favorite pet. I haven’t really read many books that feature pets. There’s only really two books that come to mind and one of them I’ve already used on another Book Traveling Thursday so I decided to go with the other one.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is Night Study by Maria V. Snyder which is the second book in the Soulfinders trilogy and the eighth book in the Chronicles of Ixia series. Look at that, I managed to talk about these book again and it hasn’t even been more than three days haha. I love this series and one of my favorite parts of it is Kiki the most amazing horse of all time. She has a very powerful and unique personality and she has a special way of showing it throughout the series.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

The US covers of the big series have never matched and this one has continued that pattern. I like the detail of the model but I don’t think she really fits the image of who I think Yelena is, none of the covers do really. I love the color of this one, the different shades of purple look amazing on this cover. It’s my favorite color and I love the way they’ve used it. I really love the typography that they used. It’s not my favorite out of the overall series but it’s good.

My Favorite Cover

I love these covers because of one reason: because the entire Chronicles of Ixia series all match. There’s a cover like this for every book in the nine book series and I love them! The colors are always really bright and beautiful, the background if always this black with words on the back and I really like how the typography glows in a way. I’m a fan.

My Least Favorite Cover

 

One thing that I can say about these is that I’m glad they kept the purple background theme. However, my issue with the first cover, the UK one, is the model. Yelena doesn’t much use her bow and arrow in this trilogy at all and it’s a bit misleading to have that image linked to this story. However, compared to the other UK covers, most that I don’t like, this one is the best one haha. Then there’s the Italian cover which is okay. However, I think making the cover longer is a detriment to the image. When it’s wider you see more of the details in the background that you’re totally losing in this style.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

send-off

One thought on “Book Traveling Thursdays Apr. 13th – National Pet Day Was a Few Days Ago…

Leave a Reply

