T5W Apr. 19th – Favorite LGBTQ+ Books

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Favorite LGBTQ+ Books. I haven’t read as many books in this genre I guess as I want to. There are still a lot of amazing recommendations that I’ve gotten from people that I need to get to that I’m sure would’ve made this list if I’d already gotten through reading them. However, the following is a list of books from this genre that I really enjoyed.

SO let’s get started!

#5: The God Box
by Alex Sanchez

I think this is one of the first books that I ever read with gay protagonists. I bought this all the way back in middle school and it’s one of my favorite books of all time. I made my mom read it as well and she also loved it. The author has written a lot of LGBTQ+ books, and I really enjoyed the way he made religion a big part of the story and what it might mean for someone who feels like their religion is against who they are as a person.

#4: None of the Above
by I.W. Gregorio

This is a book that I must say blew me away mostly because of the subject matter. It’s the only book I’ve read that has a main character who is intersex and it was the first time I’d ever really learned about what that meant. I’d heard of the word before but I enjoyed being able to learn more about what it really means through this story and the main character’s journey to understanding it herself.

#3: Labyrinth Lost
by Zoraida Cordova

The main character in this book is bisexual though the word isn’t actually used in the text. She’s attracted to people of two different genders throughout the story and it feels really natural and genuine. I do have to say that my favorite part of the book is the fact that it’s inspired by various Latinx cultures and it was wonderfully developed and beautifully done. I can’t wait for the sequel!

#2: Ice Massacre
by Tiana Warner

It’s really upsetting to me that this book is so underrated because it’s so great! This series has a lesbian romance but there’s so many more amazing elements as well. There’s mystery and suspense and it’s actually pretty freaking violent and dark. This is not your cute Little Mermaid retelling, these mermaids are flesh-eating and vicious and it’s freaking awesome! Please read it.

#1: Dreadnought
by April Daniels

I was really excited when I got approved for this book as an ARC even though I’ve never been the biggest superhero fan. I really enjoyed the story even though it was much more intense and powerful than I was expecting. I’m so pumped to read the second book which is coming out later this year because I want to know more about the world and how it’s been established. This is an own voices novel about a trans girl who becomes a superhero and I want to see more of her personal growth.

So that’s it for this post! In general, most of these books are really popular so you might have heard of them before. If you have any recs for books, from every place in LGBTQIA spectrum, I’d love to hear them! Specially fantasy books because those are my all time favorites but contemporaries are great as well. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

8 thoughts on “T5W Apr. 19th – Favorite LGBTQ+ Books

  1. Oh I LOVED Labyrinth Lost Sara! eeeeeK! I love that the main protog’s sexuality wasn’t made the center of attention & like you said felt more organic. Even though lol, I wasn’t really believing the chemistry with Rishi as much as I wanted to ;( still loved that book though & i’m so excited for book 2 & the movie *whoop whoop* Dreadnought recently caught my eye & now I’m def picking up a copy! great T5W Sara ;0)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

