Sara 101: Favorite Female Characters

Hello everyone!

I am back today with my personal feature, Sara 101, where I talk about me and myself and I and anything and everything that I could want to share about my personal life.

When I was thinking about what to share in this feature this month, I started thinking about female characters (mostly because of the discussion post from yesterday) and how I say that a lot of female characters are part of my favorites list but I haven’t actually made a list. So I decided what better way to help myself and to share something with you all, than to make a list of my favorite female characters and turn it into a post!

I usually try to rank these kinds of lists as best I can because I like to keep it that way for myself but this one is just too hard. The top 3 are absolutely my absolute favorites but the rest of this list is just from last read to most recent read.

SO let’s get started!

#15: Cammie
from the Gallagher Girls Series
by Ally Carter

I think that Cammie was the first girl ever placed on this list. I read this book for the first time when I was in elementary school and I still think that the awesome things these girls do in these books is absolutely entertaining and fun. I’m a big fan of Cammie and her personality, she’s so fierce.

#14: Annabeth
from Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus
by Rick Riordan

Annabeth is a classic female character. I didn’t read either of these series until I was older but I was still completely blown away with Annabeth’s personality specially in this book, The Mark of Athena. She’s so strong and smart, I loved how she managed to keep the crazy bunch of demigods in one piece and together haha.

#13: Katsa
from the Graceling Trilogy
by Kristin Cashore

Katsa is one of the originals on this list along with Cassie. The first time I read Graceling was in eighth grade when my friend let me borrow and this story never left my head until I re-read it after starting my booktube channel. I was so obsessed that I even wrote a play and I used Katsa’s name as one of my characters names. I love her, she’s amazing!

#12: Yulia
from the Sekret Duology
by Lindsay Smith

I didn’t remember how much I love Yulia until I started to look through my read books and write down the actual favorite female characters list. She’s strong and smart and really protective of her family. I really enjoyed reading her journey and I wish more people had read this series because I have no one to gush about her with!

#11: Jo
from These Shallow Graves
by Jennifer Donnelly

I haven’t talked about this book in so long!! This is one of my favorite books of all time and that has a lot to do with Jo being such an amazing main character. She’s really determined and inquisitive and I really love the growth she has throughout the book. She’s naive about a lot of things and the journey she goes through opens her eyes to a lot of things and I just loved her personality.

#10: Alexia
from the Parasol Protectorate
by Gail Carriger

I can’t exactly tell you why I love Alexa so much haha. From the first page of this first book, I was just hooked on her personality, even though she’s kind of an ass. She has a no holds barred, brutally honest kind of demeanor which can be really off putting for some people but I just immediately fell in love with. I want to read more books from her point of view to be honest and I’ve already read six.

#9: Kelsea
from The Queen of the Tearling Trilogy
by Erika Johansen

This was another one that I have been forgetting lately, I loveeee Kelsea. I read TQOTT a really long time ago and I’ve been wanting to continue the series for a really long time. I just absolutely fell in love with Kelsea, she has such a hard time in this first book. She’s thrown in a whole new situation with very little information and she just did her best and ran with it and became so freaking fierce and commanding!

#8: Allie
from the Off-Campus Series
by Elle Kennedy

This book is my favorite from this series because of Allie. I feel like out of all the leading ladies she was the most powerful and she has a really firm personality. I really loved her banter with the male lead and how their relationship developed. She was just so great to read and I really related to her and what she was going through in the book.

#7: Sky
from the On the Verge Trilogy
by Zoraida Cordova

I LOVE SKY SO MUCH! Out of all of the female characters on this list, she’s definitely the one that I connect to the most. When I read this book, I was kind of struggling with similar things that she was and it just made me feel really at home while reading. This is also a predominantly Latinx cast and the family dynamics were so similar to my own family that it was just amazing to read.

#6: Shahrzad
from The Wrath and the Dawn Duology
by Renee Ahdieh

Shazi was absolutely amazing to me. As soon as I started reading, she blew me away with her personality. She’s fierce and strong and determined and I loved seeing her be super badass through the entire duology. She’s kind of my hero a little bit. If she were a real person, she’d be my girl crush because I just think that she’s incredible.

#5: Sophronia
from the Finishing School Series
by Gail Carriger

It took me a really long time to warm up to Sophronia. By the time the fourth book came around, she definitely won me over. She had a lot of leadership qualities that I liked as the story went on and I loved how kind she was with her friends. She’s really smart and intuitive and I loved seeing all the spy things she got herself stuck in haha.

#4: Yael
from the Wolf by Wolf Duology
by Ryan Graudin

Yael gave me the same experience that Shazi did. I was just completely blown away by her personality and by her tenacity. She just has the most amazing fire and strength within her. The things she goes through in these books are absolutely soul breaking and she just keeps pushing on. I admire her a lot for her inner power and the desire to keep going after everything she’s gone through.

#3: Lila
from the Shades of Magic Trilogy
by V.E. Schwab

I LOVE LILA WITH ALL MY HEART AND SOUL! She’s absolutely amazing. She’s funny, she’s reckless, she’s determined and I just love how she throws herself into whatever adventure she can find. I really wish I was more like her because I tend to back away from anything I don’t know, but she throws her whole self into it. She’s my baby, and I want her to be happy forever.

#2: Elisa
from The Girl of Fire and Thorns Trilogy
by Rae Carson

I am just as surprised as you that someone managed to bump Lila down to the third spot, but Elisa is absolutely amazing. The growth that she goes through in just this three book series is insane. The girl she is in the first book and how she ends are two completely different people and I loved going through that journey with her. She’s so beautiful and you all need to read this series.

#1: Yelena
from The Chronicles of Ixia Series
by Maria V. Snyder

THIS IS NOT A SURPRISE FOR ANYONE RIGHT?! Yelena is my absolute favorite female character of all time and I’ve been saying this since the moment I started sharing my bookish opinions online. I just think she’s the fiercest, the most reckless, the smartest, the most everything that I’ve gushed about all the ladies above. I’m so sad that I have no more books to read from her point of view (for now, I hope) but I just think that she’s the epitome of the kind of female characters that I love to read about.

So that’s it for this post! I would love to know if you guys love any of the same female characters that I do. I would love to know if you don’t and why haha. Just be kind because they are my babies! Let me know who your favorite female characters are and if you think there are similarities between them that you don’t usually notice. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

23 thoughts on “Sara 101: Favorite Female Characters

  1. Ooooh I remember you telling me about Poison Study!! I still need to get around to reading it. I didn’t know (oops!) that Yelena was your favourite female character… so I’m looking forward to finally reading it and meeting your fave. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yael was such a fantastic character! Reading more about her past was heart-breaking, but it made me like her even more! I also really love Annabeth, because she was a very relatable character, although she’s much braver than I’ll ever be. In a similar note, Hermione is turning into one of my favorite female characters ever. I’m currently reading Harry Potter for the first time and I just finished the fourth book. Her relationship with the boys is so funny! She’s always like: “This won’t work! I’ve told this plenty of times!” I really adore her!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There are so many characters on this list that I don’t know yet! They all sound awesome though so I must get to know them 🙂 Definitely agree on Annabeth, Alexa and Sophronia! That description perfectly sums up Alexa haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

