Book Traveling Thursdays Apr. 27th – Because In Spring Time…

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is Because in Spring time we tend to read more contemporary… Choose your favorite contemporary read. I don’t tend to pick my reading genres depending on the season but I have to say that I’ve been reading lots of contemporary recently. The book I chose is one that I read last year and that I really, really loved and I kind of want to re-read soon.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. I am so completely and totally in love with this book. The narrative was so unique and beautiful. I loved how real and honest the setting and the lives of the characters are. I really connected with the main character’s immigration struggles but also the struggle that comes with having two identities and feeling torn between how to be. I definitely recommend this book.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

I absolutely love this cover! I saw a gif once on how they made this and it’s amazing! They used nails on a board and they used different colored yarn and wrapped it around them to create the image. It looked really cool as they did it and the final product is also beautiful! I love the colors they used and how the title tool so unique. My only issue is how the author’s name is hard to read since they used the same bottom color and the yarn kind of covers it. If they have zoomed out a bit on the image, I think it would’ve been better.

My Favorite Cover

 

I really loved the original cover but because I know how big of a process it was to get it done, I’m even more impressed with this Portuguese cover since the title is actually much more complicated and longer. It looks really cool. The second cover is the Indonesian one, which I really love since the colors are inverted and I love the little illustrations on the outside. This could’ve been a really great paperback US cover if they had found it and asked for it I’m sure.

My Least Favorite Cover

 

The first one is the Turkish cover and while it looks similar to the original, my favorite part of the original is the complexity of the yarn so having this kind of splash version just makes it a little less special. It’s still pretty but not as striking. The second one is the Serbian cover and while I think the concept is really cool (The words make the sun, get it?), I think there’s just a lot of white left over and it overpowers the uniqueness of the title. Maybe it the words hung lower on the page it would’ve looked better.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

send-off

4 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Apr. 27th – Because In Spring Time…

Leave a Reply

