April ’17 Wrap Up

Hello everyone!

Compared to March, April has been pretty laid back. I had to study a lot of math because of an assessment test that I had to do but since I didn’t have much to do out of the house so I had a lot of time to read. Not only that, but I got to go to the library a few times throughout the month. Let me know if you guys would like to see what I haul from the library in my wrap ups because I’d be willing to do so. Besides that, I read quite a few books this month though there weren’t as many stand outs as I would’ve liked.

SO let’s get started!

Personal Thoughts

While the month was really laid back, I’ve been struggling a bit with all these changes in my life. There have been a lot of protests in Venezuela and while I’m happy to be somewhere else and to be safe, there’s a lot of guilt in my heart since I feel like I abandoned my family and friends when they need me the most. Logically, I know I’d be in just as bad of a situation as them if I was there and at least from the US, I can try to help somehow. But it still feels like I got off easy and that I should have my entire life together by now because they’re all so hopeful for me. It’s really tough because I am also a perfectionist and I put myself down for not having everything that I should have but I’ve only been here for two months! I really need to cut myself a break haha.

Books I Read

  1. Forever (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #3) by Maggie Stiefvater –   For a finale, this one was pretty good. There was more of a plot than the other two books had but it was still mostly centered around the characters. I was expecting something more than I got, but I still enjoyed myself and enjoyed finally getting to finish this trilogy.
  2. The Whole Thing Together by Ann Brashares –   I really did not like this book. I had really high expectations since this is a very popular, well loved author but this book was really disappointing. There’s racism, sexism and a bunch of girl hate mixed in with a plot that just revolves around family drama without ever really understanding the need for all the drama.
  3. Dawn Study (Soulfinders #3, Chronicles of Ixia #9) by Maria V. Snyder –   You all know how much I love this series so it’s no surprise that this is the five star book of the month. I am so sad to see this series come to an end. This trilogy was a roller coaster of action and suspense but this finale was pretty much everything that I wanted it to be. There should totally be more series but with the younger generation that’s a part of this cast because I can’t get enough of this world.
  4. Maid of Deception (Maids of Honor #2) by Jennifer McGowan –   I’ve been wanting to continue this historical fiction series for a long time and while I’m glad that I finally got to it, I didn’t like it as much as the first book. The plot of this one is good and I liked that it was a continuation of the first book but the main character’s personality and narrative kind of got on my nerves. She was really self-centered and also kind of blind to her own self but I’m still looking forward to reading the last book though.
  5. The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Saenz –   I am so disappointed in this book. There’s a lot of problematic aspects within the writing and the narrative of this story which made me drag my feet through the reading process, but since it was an ARC, I finally pushed myself to finish it. All the great things this book said and talked about are kind of brought down by it’s issues and it makes me really sad.
  6. Take the Key and Lock Her Up (Embassy Row #3) by Ally Carter –   I am a huge fan of Ally Carter but this is definitely my least favorite series of hers. I understand where she wanted to go with it, and I feel like maybe she wanted to do something more serious but it was just too dramatic and angsty for my taste. Even this finale was filled with tears and death and a bunch of other stuff. I liked seeing how things wrapped up with the story but I’m more of a fan of her fun loving, entertaining series. I’m glad I read this though and I can’t wait to see what she does next.
  7. Jockblocked (Gridiron #2) by Jen Frederick –   I’m really glad that I continued this series even though the first book wasn’t the best. That one was full of insta love so that made me really nervous to start this one. However, I was pleasantly surprised with how this story played out. The romance developed much slower and I really liked the two main characters. I’m excited to see what the next book has in store.
  8. Sinner (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #4) by Maggie Stievater –   This is a companion novel for the WOMF series. I own this book in hardcover so it’s the first physical book I’ve read in 4 years!! I wanted to read it and see why it was published since not every series has a single companion book. I liked it okay, the story was interesting enough but I feel like I needed to be a bigger fan of the main characters in this book to really fall in love with the story. Nice companion but it was just okay haha.
  9. The Year We Fell Down (The Ivy Years #1) by Sarina Bowen –   I was so pleasantly surprised with how much I liked this book! I had several friends recommend this series but I was always a little bit skeptical though I’m not sure why. However, I really liked this! The romance was slow and they started out as friends which I liked. I wish there wouldn’t have been so much drama but I liked the general development of the story.
  10. The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis –   My lovely friends and I picked this book for our monthly book club read (first library book in four years!) and I can honestly say we were all blown away by it. This book is like a sucker punch to the gut in the most kind way possible. I know that sounds really strange but the intensity and the power of the narrative and it’s comments on our society are super important and relevant right now and a hit on your feels if you fall for the characters like we did.
  11. Noteworthy by Riley Redgate –   I have a feeling that I’m not the biggest fan of this author’s writing style. This book has been getting a lot of praise lately and while I enjoyed most of it, I feel like the chapters were too long and some things felt underdeveloped and not explored enough in the narrative. I really liked the majority of the representation though!
  12. Wicked Heart (Starcrossed #3) by Leisa Rayven –   I’ve been wanting to read this finale for a really long time but I was really sad to see this series come to an end so I put it off until now. I liked it but definitely not as much as the first two books. The romance was cute but definitely had a lot more drama than I particularly like. Though I loved seeing the previous characters at the end!
  13. How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake – I got an ARC of this book from NetGalley and I’ve been pretty much reading it at the same pace as the book below. I’m really enjoying the story and the narrative is really easy to read.
  14. The Star-Touched Queen (The Star-Touched Queen #1) by Roshani Chokshi – I went a little crazy when I first went into my library and besides The Female of the Species, I borrowed three other books including this one. I’m 75% of the way through and I’m really enjoying it. The writing is absolutely beautiful and the story is really engaging.
  15. Last Will and Testament (Radleigh University #1) by Dahlia Adler – I probably should not have started this book or the one below this but I just couldn’t help myself. I’m really loving the writing style and the story even though it’s a lot more serious than I was expecting.
  16. A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3) by V.E. Schwab – This is another library book AND OH MY GOSH I’M FINALLY READING IT! I’M SO SCARED. I’VE ONLY READ THE FIRST QUARTER AND MY HEART IS ALREADY IN SO MUCH PAIN. AHHHH!

Posts I Shared

Reviews

Tags And Awards

Memes

Top 5 Wednesday

Book Traveling Thursdays

Features

Challenges Update

  • Goodreads Reading Challenge – 35/50 (70%)

So…. I read a lot this month hahaha. I managed to read 12 books which had been my average last year (10 or above really) so I’m quite happy with how much I managed to read. I am thinking of raising my goal to 75 depending on how well I do next month.

  • Read It While It’s Hot Challenge – 12/50

Four more books for this challenge! I’m quite proud of thinking about this challenge and doing well on it and I hope now that I can use my library that I’ll get better and better at keeping up with new releases.

  • 2017 Debut Author Challenge – 3/12

And then we have this challenge which hasn’t changed at all this month. I fail at this one so hard. I don’t know how to get better guys.

  • Finishing the Series Challenge – 6/30

I’ve managed to finish a few more series this month but not as many as I really want to. I want to make it a bigger priority considering that I have over 50 series still unfinished. I hope that by the end of this year, I’ll have only 20.

  • Read Like a Grown Up Challenge – 1/12

HUGE FAIL. That is all.

  • Stand With the Loners Challenge – 9/12

Doing pretty good with this challenge and next month will probably be surpassed since most of my TBR is made up of standalones.

  • Catch Up with the Release – 12/24

Halfway through my desired goal, but it’s not as leveled as I was thinking it was going to be. So I need to read more 2015 books because I have more 2016 books down.

So that’s it for this post! I would love to know what you guys think of what I managed to do this month. I’ve been thinking of adding a book haul section to this wrap up. Do you guys think I should do a whole separate post (though I don’t have a lot of books to show) or just add it between books read and posts? I would share my library books as well as the small amount of books that I manage to buy for myself. Let me know what you guys think! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

10 thoughts on “April ’17 Wrap Up

  1. I’m so sorry about what’s happening in Venezuela. I totally understand your guilt, but you definitely shouldn’t feel too bad. Sometimes we need to put ourselves first. You did what was best for you and I’m sure everyone will understand that. Try not to be too hard on yourself ♥♥♥

    You had an amazing reading month though! I’m really happy you enjoyed The Female of the Species. Sorry you didn’t enjoy Noteworthy as much!! ALSO ACOL!!!!!!!! I CRIED FOR THE ENTIRE LAST 30%.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m working on it definitely. From here, I guess I’ve been able to help out a little more but it still feels a bit like betrayal for choosing to live instead of to fight.
      I’m glad that I was at least able to get back to my reading speed haha. LAUREN I’M ONLY HALF WAY AND IT HURTS SO BAD. HOW WILL I SURVIVE?

      Like

  2. Looks like you had a fantastic reading month. I’m happy to see you enjoyed The Female of the Species so much, as it was one of my favorite books of last year.

    I’m sorry things are not good in Venezuela. I understand your feelings of guilt, but just keep telling yourself that it is for the best that you are safe. I’m sure your friends and family feel the same way. Sending positive vibes for all your friends and family.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

