May ’17 TBR – Mental Health Theme

Hello everyone!

I’m kind of nervous about this month. When I made this theme last year, I didn’t really think that’d I’d be struggling with my own mental health during this month. However, I’ve been wanting to read some of the books on this list for a really long time so I’m gonna give them a chance. I’ll also be able to get some library books if need be and I can always read some of the New Adult books that I didn’t get to last month to relax a bit.

SO let’s get started!

First Order of Business:
Now I Rise (The Conqueror’s Saga #2)
by Kiersten White

I got to read the first book of this series as an ARC when it came out last year and I kept my eye out for this sequel on NetGalley so I’m really glad that I got approved for it. I can’t wait to see how the story develops and what happens next. I really hope the pace is much faster because that was my biggest issue with the first book.

Goodreads

The Mom Book Club:
Shelter the Sea (The Roosevelt #2)

by Heidi Cullinan

I am so excited to be reading this book! My book club friends and I read the first book in this series a long time ago, maybe last year or before that and I’ve been anxiously anticipating the sequel for a long time. I thought it would be a companion sequel but it’s not and I think it’s from the same point of view of the original main characters so that will be interesting to read and I’m so pumped!

Goodreads

Read It While It’s Hot Challenge:
Avenged (Ruined #2)
by Amy Tintera

I read the first book of this series for one of my Read It While It’s Hot Challenges last year and I was so pleasantly surprised with the story. I’m so excited to continue with this sequel and to see what happens in this world because it feels really intense. I’m a huge fan of high fantasy but it’s taken awhile for a new series to capture my attention and it was amazing to be captured by the first book in this one.

Goodreads

2017 Debut Author Challenge:
The Love Interest
by Cale Dietrich

I’ve been incredibly awful at this challenge since the year started which is really disappointing but I really want to read this book! A lot of people have been raving about it and it sounds like a really cool premise. Also, you guys know how much I love contemporary thrillers so I hope this one is just as good as some of my faves.

Goodreads

Read Like a Grown Up Challenge:
The Silver Linings Playbook
by Matthew Quick

I committed a book lover sin since I watched the movie before reading the book but it was really, really good haha. I’ve been wanting to read this since then but I’m a little nervous that it’s gonna be much more intense and emotional than the movie and I’m scared. Let me know if you’ve read this book and what you thought of it because I haven’t heard anyone mention it.

Goodreads

Stand with the Loners Challenge:
Every Last Word
by Tamara Ireland Stone

I’ve been wanting to read this book since it came out honestly. The main character has OCD and since I grew up with someone who dealt with the same thing and I really want to see how the author has portrayed this mental health issue in this book. I hope I enjoy it!

Goodreads

Catch Up with the Release Challenge:
Challenger Deep and Highly Illogical Behavior
by Neal Shusterman and John Corey Whaley

 

I’ve heard really great things about both of these books and I’m really hoping that I’ll get to both of these this month. They’ve both been praised for their portrayals of mental illnesses though I think they’re both written really differently. I’m also excited to read more books from male authors since that’s not usually something I do.

Goodreads Goodreads

Continuing Series:
Shadow & Bone, Miss Mayhem, Dirty Rowdy Thing, The Invasion of the Tearling and The Year We Hid Away
by Leigh Bardugo, Rachel Hawkins, Christina Lauren, Erika Johansen and Sarina Bowen

       

I did so well last month with the unfinished series that I had. I’ve been trying to finish them for the last few months and I’m glad I could finish two. And in response I added three more to my established pile because I’m smart like that haha. The first two books on this list have been there since January or even before I think, but I’m finally reading them! I swear! Now that I finally have access to the library again, I’m taking full advantage of it and making this section my library section haha.

Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads

Hold Still
by Nina LaCour

I’m a little apprehensive to read this book. I’ve loved one of this author’s books and really didn’t like another one and this one is older than both of them. I don’t know how I’ll feel about it, specially since it deals with suicide and that’s kind of a heavy topic for me right now. We’ll see if I give it a try or not.

Goodreads

Paperweight
by Meg Haston

This book was recommended to me by the Booktuber emmmabooks and I’ve been wanting to read it since she reviewed and talked about it. I haven’t read a book that revolves around eating disorder recovery like ever so I really hope that this one is good.

Goodreads

Made You Up
by Francesca Zappia

This cover captured me from the moment I saw it and I’ve been wanting to read this book since then. The protagonist has schizophrenia which is something that is never usually talked about in YA at all but I’ve also heard that the portrayal of that mental illness is actually not that great. I’m debating on whether or not to read it at all and to take it off my TBR completely. If you have any info on this book and it’s representation, please let me know!

Goodreads

The Anatomical Shape of a Heart
by Jenn Bennett

I haven’t really heard much about this book since its release and I don’t really know where the mental health part comes in but I’m still really interested in the plot of the story. I’ve heard this book being called Night Owls and seen various of my blogger friends rave about it in reviews so I hope it’ll be good.

Goodreads

Fig
by Sarah Elizabeth Schantz

This is the second or third time I’ve tried to read this book and I’ve never heard anyone else talk about it. First of all, the cover is absolutely beautiful and my favorite color and I’m really interested to see how a story revolving around a kid dealing with their parents’ mental illness. I’ve had a lot of practice dealing with anxiety and OCD from my parents so I would love to see how the author handles it.

Goodreads

So that’s it for this post! I have a lot more on my list for this month but I’m not really sure if I’ll be able to handle all of them since I’m struggling a bit. However, I’ve been wanting to read these for so long that I’m gonna give them a chance and see how I feel as the month goes on. Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought of them. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

6 thoughts on “May ’17 TBR – Mental Health Theme

  1. Great theme for this month, Sara!!! Sorry you’ve been struggling ♥ I hope you’re feeling better soon and if you ever need to vent my DMs are always open.

    I LOVED Highly Illogical Behaviour SO much. As someone with agoraphobia I was really worried about how the rep would be, but it was great. A bunch of the other books are on my TBR too so looking forward to seeing what you think!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks beautiful! I’m doing my best to stay above water right now and it’s kind of hard making myself lean on others for support but I’ll keep that in mind.
      I’m glad you felt comfortable with the rep, now I want to read it even more!

      Like

  2. Sorry to hear that you’ve been struggling with your own mental health, Sara, and I hope things get better soon. I know I’m not around that much recently but my ears are all open if you ever need to talk it out!

    Anyway, I’m super excited for you to finally read Highly Illogical Behaviour! I really loved that book. Other than that, I’ve read Every Last Word, and while it’s not as good as HIB (in my opinion) it was still pretty good.

    And NOW I RISE. I’ll be looking out for your thoughts on that one bc that’s probably one of my most anticipated sequels this year. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks friend. I miss you so much! I hope you’re doing well and maybe we can plan a chat soon haha.
      I’m kind of excited, though nervous about how these books will make me feel. I just realized I did this because it’s mental health awareness month in the US so maybe it’s a good idea.
      I didn’t like the first book as much but I’ll definitely let you know how the second one turns out 🙂

      Like

  3. Out of all of these, I only read The Silver Linings Playbook and I have to say I didn’t really find it more emotional than the movie. Somehow I couldn’t connect 100% with the narration and writing style, but that could just be me. I hope you will enjoy it!
    Also, I approve of everything Nina LaCour, always!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

