Looks on Books #16 – Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder

Hello everyone!

I am back with one of my original features inspired by Lila @ The Bookkeeper’s Secret and Reg @ She Latitude to put together outfits inspired by book covers.Usually I pick the cover based on my favorite books (old and new), under-hyped books that I want to feature a bit more on my blog or just regular beautiful covers.

SO let’s get started!

On Display: Shadow Study

Looks on Books #16 - Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder

See through blouse/ T By Alexander Wang high waisted wide leg trousers/Chinese Laundry one strap sandals/ Michael Kors leather hobo purse/ Shoreditch band jewelry/ Lord Taylor sterling silver jewellery/ Kate Spade square stud earrings/ Humble Chic thin choker necklace

I could not help myself! I had to make a Looks on Books with this book just to be able to talk about it a little bit more. This is the first book in the last trilogy of the Chronicles of Ixia series. I know that’s really confusing but stay with me! This entire series is made up of three trilogies, all set in the same two countries and following the lives of various casts of characters, ones that end up working together at some point. This book sees the return of the first main character Yelena, now older and wiser and taking on another crazy adventure. I obviously loved this book and I’m obviously a little bit biased with my love for it but I still highly recommend it. They are stories full of action and suspense and I honestly feel like the characters are absolutely amazing.

Fun fact: I am planning on getting all the English editions of these books. There’s 9 books in total and they’ve all been released in the US, UK and Australia.

Synopsis:

New York Times bestselling author Maria V. Snyder wowed readers with Poison Study, the unforgettable story of poison taster Yelena. Now she’s back with a new tale of intrigue.

Once, only her own life hung in the balance…

Oddly enough, when Yelena was a poison taster, her life was simpler. But she’d survived to become a vital part of the balance of power between rival countries Ixia and Sitia. Now she uses her magic to keep the peace in both lands—and protect her relationship with Valek.

Suddenly, though, they are beset on all sides by those vying for power through politics and intrigue. Valek’s job and his life are in danger. As Yelena tries to uncover the scope of these plots, she faces a new challenge: her magic is blocked. She must keep that a secret—or her enemies will discover just how vulnerable she really is—while searching for who or what is responsible for neutralizing her powers.

Yes, the days of tasting poisons were much simpler. And certainly not as dangerous…

So that’s it for this post! Let me know what you think of the look and if you’ve read this book. I would love if you guys read this book and could chat about it with me! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post

send-off

5 thoughts on “Looks on Books #16 – Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder

  1. This is a great idea you’ve come up with! Great outfit choice. And I LOVE Maria V. Snyder’s books – Study, Glass, and Healer series 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

