T5W May 17th – Summer Reads

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Favorite Summer Reads. I tend to read a lot of contemporary in the summer for some reason, sometimes even some urban fantasy. This year right now I’m reading a lot of New Adult and I’m kind of addicted since I had my NA themed month. They’re super easy to read and fly through so I’m going to share a mix of entertaining YA and NA that I really enjoyed.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Sea Breeze Series
by Abbi Glines

This is one of the first NA series that I ever read and now I’ve come to accept that it’s my guilty pleasure read. It’s really dramatic and angsty and over the top. If I re-read it and try to take it seriously, I probably wouldn’t like it that much and I would most likely have a lot of complaints about it. But if you just want some mindless entertainment, I think this is a good series to read.

#4: Everything Leads to You
by Nina LaCour

I absolutely adore this book. This is one of my favorite contemporaries of all time and I really want to re-read it soon. It’s a great mix of summer romance and mystery as well as a coming of age story. It was everything that I was looking for in a story at the time and I think more people should read it.

#3: On the Verge Series
by Zoraida Cordova

This is one of my favorites series of all time. It’s kind of sad that there won’t be more books in it because I really wanted them but there’s a new series with a side character from this one so I will survive. It’s an NA companion series and the second book is my absolute favorite of all time because the main character is me and it’s amazing!

#2: The Sun is Also a Star
by Nicola Yoon

I absolutely love this book. It’s beautiful and emotional and powerful. I love the way the topic of immigration is handled and how the romance is. It’s instalove but it’s done so well! I swear, I know what you’re gonna say but it really does feel genuine and sweet and plausible and I loved it!

#1: Last Will and Testament
by Dahlia Adler

This is a brand new favorite for me. I just read this recently and it was so much fun but balanced out with some drama and serious themes. It was entertaining and easy to read but also really honest and real. I had to start the second book in the series because I really wanted to know more about the side characters and the writing was just so awesome.

So that’s it for this post! I’d love to know what kind of books you tend to pick up during the summer and if there’s certain books that you read in certain seasons. I don’t usually tend to do that, specially since I give myself themes for a year towards the end of the year before but I know some people who are interested in some genres during specific seasons. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

9 thoughts on “T5W May 17th – Summer Reads

  1. I’ve only read the Seabreeze books on your list so definitely have some others I need to check out too. I really enjoy Abbi Glines book, as you say they are great for just light easy reads without thinking too much about them. Just when you need a bit of an escape. I did a post on my summer reading plans too if your interested https://mortalreader.wordpress.com/2017/05/18/summer-reading-plan/. It’s definitely a summer of finally tackling the books on my TBR on my bookshelf and hopefully a reread of Harry Potter to mark the 20th Anniversary!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

