T5W May 24th – Favorite Minor Characters

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Favorite Minor Characters. This is kind of up for interpretation but minor characters are the smaller side characters. The ones that have very little page time throughout the story but end up doing something, however small, that helped catch your attention and made you interested in them. I really had to think about this to make sure that I wasn’t just picking regular side characters but I hope I did it well.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Onora
from Shadow Study
by Maria V. Snyder

I’m considering Onora as a minor character because she doesn’t show up until the last Chronicles of Ixia series. She’s such a freaking badass and she makes quite an impression as soon as she shows up on the page. I was very impressed with her skills and her attitude. She kind of had a standoffish personality which made sense as you get to know her but I’m glad she let herself be pulled into the group as the series went on. I’d love a prequel novella about her life.

#4: Ilsa
from This Savage Song
by Victoria Schwab

Ilsa is the most amazing character in this book, there I said it. She’s quiet and sweet and earnest and yet has so much story within her. I was kind of upset with how little we get to know about her in this first book and I want nothing more than for her to be elevated to side character status in Our Dark Duet which comes out next month! Ahh! I’m so excited for it!

#3: Tess
from Girl Out of Water
by Laura Silverman

One of my only complaints about this book is how little we get to see of Anise’s home friends because she spends so much time away. I loved Tess and I loved the friendship the girls have. It reminded me a lot of the friendship between me and my best friend and I really want to know more about Tess. I’d love a sequel to this story but from her perspective and like a coming of age story for her.

#2: Cosme
from The Bitter Kingdom
by Rae Carson

Cosme is kind of a side character in the first book but as the story goes on, she kind of blends into the background more. I really wanted to hear more about her though. While I loved Elisa’s coming into royalty story, I was really interested in the kind of life Cosme was beginning as the ruler of a now independent state. I really want her to have her own series but from after the first book of this series, to see what she had to go through as Elisa dealt with her own stuff.

#1: Celina
from Bad Blood
by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

I was really upset when Celine only showed up for this book and didn’t actually have that much page time because she’s amazing! I loved her attitude, I loved her personality and the way that she quickly managed to integrate herself into the Naturals team so effortlessly. She brought some much needed spice to the team and I wanted more books just to be able to get to know her better!

So that’s it for this post! Yeah, it’s full of female characters and I don’t feel bad about it. I did this basically on the fly so I picked the minor characters that most jumped out at me. It just shows me that I think women are amazing and they should have all the books written about them. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

18 thoughts on “T5W May 24th – Favorite Minor Characters

  1. I LOVED Ilsa so much in This Savage Song too! She’s just got such an intriguing backstory and I’m excited to read more about her in Our Dark Duet. Actually, I’m just REALLY excited for the book in general, despite my huuuuge reading slump. πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

      • I MISS YOU TOO! I’ve been really good, actually – just super hectic with work and friends and life, haha. How are you? Are you fully settled now?

        And totally hoping that Our Dark Duet will pull me out of my slump. I’m in the middle of Flame in the Mist which I was SUPER EXCITED for but just couldn’t easily get through. It’s terrible. πŸ™ˆ

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s great! I’m glad you’ve gotten into the groove of it. I’m still struggling a bit but I’m getting there πŸ˜€

        Oh no! I hope it’s not that the book is bad, that’d be really sucky. I try to read something I love when I’m slumpy just to get into the groove again

        Like

Leave a Reply

