May ’16 Wrap Up

Hello everyone!

I have been a little bit scatterbrained this month, so much so that I forgot that wrap ups are a thing and that I have to do one around May 31st haha. But I am here, relatively on time and ready to tell you all about the things I’ve been up to this month. Spoiler alert: it has not been blogging. For some reason I haven’t really had the time to sit and blog consistently in May and I didn’t post everything that I had scheduled so they’ve been pushed back and back and back haha. I’m gonna try and change my writing days to the week because my weekends have been packed.

SO let’s get started!

Personal Thoughts

Guys… I think I’m getting  myself situated again. I mean, it’s still been kind of tough here. I didn’t expect to have culture shock since I was coming back to the place where I grew up but I still got it haha. Getting use to moving with public transportation for the first time in this city is weird but I’m doing it. I’ve been hanging out with my best friend and just reconnecting and being a part of her daily life again which has been amazing. But that just makes me super busy haha. I honestly can’t believe that we’re coming up on June already. The year is going by so fast and I haven’t done most of the things that I hoped I would. I hope that I’ll be able to keep a positive attitude as the days go by.

Library Book Haul

Books I Read

  1. The Star-Touched Queen (The Star-Touched Queen #1) by Roshani Chokshi –   I really enjoyed this book! I think it’s kind of polarizing for people, not everyone is going to be a fan of the writing style but I really liked it. The story was really addicting and I was so lost in it that I totally forgot it was a retelling until the end.
  2. How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake –   This book was SO GOOD. I’m so glad that I requested this ARC from NetGalley, even though it came in that pesky PDF format because it was so beautiful. I probably would’ve read it in one sitting if I’d taken the time to do that. It was powerful and emotional and intense. Go read this book guys!
  3. Last Will and Testament (Radleigh University #1) by Dahlia Adler –   I’ve been wanting to read this book for the longest time. The author is so sweet and nice on Twitter and I’ve heard great things about her writing from other people and I’m so glad they were right. This was the perfect New Adult for me. Just enough drama and serious issues to keep me hooked but still a fast, entertaining and enjoyable read. Would definitely recommend.
  4. A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3) by V.E. Schwab –   OH MY GOD. I cannot even coherently explain to you my feelings on this book. I put it off for over two months because I was just so terrified of how everything would end but I should’ve known that Victoria never disappoints me. It was intense, it was addicting, it was heartbreaking. There was everything I needed to happen and more and I STILL WANT MORE FROM THESE CHARACTERS. My God, I don’t think I could ever have enough of this cast.
  5. Dirty Rowdy Thing (Wild Seasons #2) by Christina Lauren –   This book was almost four stars but I had some issues with it. Like any contemporary romance, it had drama and angst and sexy times which were great and entertaining to read. However, I wasn’t that sold on the relationship between the two main characters, I felt like the resolution happened way too fast (much shorter than the actual conflict) and I have to share this PSA: when someone is half-Spanish (as in Spain) that does not make them Latina authors! Latinx come from Latin America, the female lead in this book is Hispanic not Latinx.
  6. The Year We Hid Away (The Ivy Years #2) by Sarina Bowen –    I’m glad that I continued with this series this month. While I liked the first book a little bit more than this one, this book was also pretty good. This one had a bit more drama than I particularly liked but it tugged at my heartstrings in a crazy way. I can’t wait to continue with the rest of the books in this series.
  7. Right of First Refusal (Radleigh University #2) by Dahlia Adler –   I’m kind of disappointed to say that I didn’t like this sequel as much as the first book. The romance in this one was just as complicated but I don’t think there was any real on page chemistry between the two main characters. I didn’t feel like I actually got to know the narrator that well but I hope the last book in this series is good.
  8. Blonde Date (The Ivy Years #2.5) by Sarina Bowen –   I love reading novellas within series because I always feel like the author must have more to say if they publish them. This one is totally cute! I really liked the side characters featured in the second book of this series and I was quite happy to see some more from them in this one.
  9. Hold Me Like a Breath (Once Upon a Crime Family #1) by Tiffany Schmidt –   I was so disappointed by this book. I’ve been wanting to read it since it came out because I think the premise is really amazing and interesting but I just don’t think the execution was up to par. There was so much potential but the actual story was kind of disappointing. The main character is kind of on the outside of everything I was looking forward to reading about and I’m debating reading the sequel, though it is a companion novel.
  10. Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone –   I am so glad that this is the last book that I read this month because IT WAS SO GOOD. Honestly, this book to my heart and gave it the biggest, artery crushing hug of life. This is pretty much the only book from my original Mental Health theme TBR that I read this month and I’m so glad that I picked it. I can’t wait to review it and gush about all the amazing things that are done so well in this book.
  11. Shelter the Sea (The Roosevelt #2) by Heidi Cullinan – This is the book that I’m reading with my besties from The Mom Book Club. We read the first book together as well and it’s been really fun to continue a series with my friends. I’m really loving the plot of this book, it’s much more intricate and I can’t wait to see how it ends.
  12. Shadow and Bone (Shadow and Bone #1) by Leigh Bardugo – FINALLY! I am reading this book! Thank God for the library because I don’t think I actually could’ve sat myself down and started reading this if it hadn’t been for having a physical copy. It’s good so far but I feel like I should be more blown away.
  13. The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of Apollo #2) by Rick Riordan – I am so blessed to have a best friend that lets me borrow her books. I’ve only just started this but it’s just as funny and entertaining as I want it to be. Let’s see what kind of mischief these crazy kids get up to haha.
  14. Now I Rise (The Conqueror’s Saga #2) by Kiersten White – Last but not least, I probably should’ve started this book earlier in the month since it’s an ARC but I just wasn’t in the mood for it. The first book was just okay, and I kind of don’t want to read this one right now but let’s hope that it’s more fast paced and more entertaining than the prequel.

Posts I Shared

Reviews

Memes

Top 5 Wednesday

Book Traveling Thursdays

Features

Challenges Update

  • Goodreads Reading Challenge – 45/75 (60%)

I decided to raise my challenge up to 75 from 50 because I knew from the beginning of the month that I was probably going to reach the challenge or get very close. So now there’s more books I need to read but I’m still way ahead than where I need to be.

  • Read It While It’s Hot Challenge – 14/50

Got two more books for this challenge. I’m feeling okay with the way this one is going but I still hope to be able to read more new releases with the help of my library.

  • 2017 Debut Author Challenge – 3/12

Totally failing on this challenge but I’m making it a point to get debut books from my library as they come out as the year goes on so hopefully I can catch up.

  • Finishing the Series Challenge – 7/30

Not doing as well in this one as I want to but I’m definitely working through a lot of different series right now. That 7 is going to go up as the year goes on, I promise.

  • Read Like a Grown Up Challenge – 3/12

Yay for a few more books in this challenge! This one has been a lot harder than I thought it was going to be so I’m glad that I was able to read two adult books this month.

  • Stand With the Loners Challenge –11/12

Almost completed this challenge! I didn’t even notice that I was so close until writing this haha. I’m still more of a series girl but it’s been good to catch up on all the standalones I’ve wanted to read.

  • Catch Up with the Release Challenge – 16/24

Doing great in this challenge, even though it’s not as even as I want it to be. Let me know of some 2015 releases that I should check out because that’s what I’m reading the least of at the moment.

So that’s it for this post! I’m sorry I’ve been a little MIA lately guys. I’m going to try and get a new writing schedule going so I can share the posts I want to share when I want to. Also, I started posting sort of consistently on my bookstagram so if you’d like to see more photos like my Library one above, follow me! The link is on the right side of this blog. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

7 thoughts on “May ’16 Wrap Up

  1. You had such a great reading month, Sara, this is awesome! I’m glad you enjoyed How to make a wish, I want to read this book so badly! 🙂 I’m also glad to hear you are reconnecting with your best friend and everything, this has to be so much fun ❤ I hope you'll have a lovely month! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so happy to hear that you’re feeling a little better about things Sara! It’s definitely understandable for you to have been a little unsure of things. Great library haul! I LOVED Upside and I really need to read Shadow and Bone. So, so, so happy to see that you loved ACOL! I’m so sad it’s over, but the ending was PERFECT. I totally need more though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

