June ’17 TBR – Pirates Theme

Hello everyone!

I’ve been looking forward to this month for the longest time! Pirates are absolutely amazing and I love to read about them and watch them. So I decided to try and find as many pirate centric books as I could and make it into a theme for a month. I recently watched the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie too and it just got me extra pumped to dive into all the books I’m going to mention.

SO let’s get started!

First Order of Business:
Ash and Quill (The Great Library #3)
by Rachel Caine

I’m so excited for this book! I got to read and review the first two books in this series and while I really enjoyed, there was just a little spark missing to make them favorites. I really hope this finale ends with a bang because the plot of these books are super intense and intricate.

Goodreads

The Mom Book Club:

To be decided by us soon! haha

Read It While It’s Hot Challenge:
Once and for All
by Sarah Dessen

 

Sarah Dessen has been around since before I even knew what Young Adult was. I’ve only read two of her books but her repertoire is massive. This is her newest book and while I wanted to read something from her archives, I’m really into weddings and the plot of this book is really intriguing to me.

Goodreads

2017 Debut Author Challenge:
Song of the Current (Song of the Current #1)
by Sarah Tolcser

I’ve been a huge fail when it comes to debut authors and their books this year. I haven’t read as many as I’ve wanted to. However, I have found the trick! I am starting to request the books from my library before they’re released so I can get them ASAP. I hope that helps me with this challenge in particular.

Goodreads

Read Like a Grown Up Challenge:
Cutlass (Cutlass Trilogy #1)
by Ashley Nixon

PIRATES! Oh my goodness, I’m so excited for all the pirate things. This is an adult book that I’m really going to read because it looks so good. I read a fanfiction once that was named Cutlass and this is probably 100% different but all my love for that makes me so excited to read this book! I really hopes it’s good.

Goodreads

Stand with the Loners Challenge:
Beauty Queens
by Libba Bray

I’ve been hearing great things about this book since I knew it existed. So many friends of mine have read it and loved it so I’ve been wanting to give it a try myself. Libba Bray is an author that I have always been interested in, I thought I’d read The Diviners first but I think Beauty Queens will be a good way to get acquainted with her writing.

Goodreads

Catch Up with the Release Challenge:
Magonia and Aerie (Magonia #1 and #2)
by Maria Dahvana Headley

 

I’m still kind of debating whether I want to read this duology or not. These covers attract me like no other and the author is really sweet and kind on Twitter. However, I’ve heard a lot of mixed things about the story and maybe my interest has gone down a little bit so we’ll see if I actually end up reading these books.

Goodreads

Continuing Series:
Siege & Storm, Miss Mayhem, Dark Wild Night, The Invasion of the Tearling and The Understatement of the Year
by Leigh Bardugo, Rachel Hawkins, Christina Lauren, Erika Johansen and Sarina Bowen

       

I’ve made some progress!! Some of these series I’ve managed to continue, I failed with Miss Mayhem and The Invasion of the Tearling, but I’m going to try and get to those this month because I’ve been wanting to get to them for a really long time. As for the rest of the series, I’m going to keep chugging along through them.

Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads

The Assassin’s Curse #.5, #.6, #1 and #2
The Witch’s Betrayal, The Automaton’s Treasure, The Assassin’s Curse and The Pirate’s Wish
by Cassandra Rose Clarke

I’ve heard so many great things about this series from various booktubers that I enjoy watching and I’ve been wanting to read it for a long time. I hope that I’ll be able to get through the whole series, novellas and all, this month. Wish me luck and please let me know if you’ve read this series!

Goodreads

Tiger Lily
by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Considering that this is a Peter Pan retelling, I feel confident that it will involve pirates in some form or another. Again this is a highly recommended retelling and standalone. It came out a long time ago which makes me a bit apprehensive but I feel like it’s gonna be good and emotional.

Goodreads

The Ascendance Trilogy #1, #2 and #3
The False Prince, The Runaway King and The Shadow Throne
by Jennifer A. Nielsen

   

This is a middle grade series which has been recommended to me by one of the booktubers I watch which apparently includes pirates at some point in the series. I have been interested in reading from this author for awhile, she also has a YA standalone that I’ve wanted to read for a really long time. I hope this is a good introduction to her writing and her storytelling.

Goodreads

Tales of the High Court #1 and #2
The High King’s Golden Tongue and The Pirate of Fathoms Deep
by Megan Derr

 

This is an adult series that I’ve heard absolutely nothing about. I found this on Goodreads while looking for books for this theme and the plot sounds really interesting. I’m honestly more intrigued by the second book but I’m not gonna skip the first one so I hope it’s good too haha.

Goodreads

So that’s it for this post! I have more books that I wanted to share with you guys and I might update this later (specially once my friends and I pick our book club book for this month) but I wanted to share this with you guys before the day was over. Let me know if you know any more pirate books that I could get my hands on! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

5 thoughts on “June ’17 TBR – Pirates Theme

  1. I love the variety on this list! I’ve been wanting to read “The False Prince” and “Tiger Lily” as well. I’m STOKED for “Once and For All” and “Song of the Current.” Can’t wait to see what you think of them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

