Book Review – Wicked Heart by Leisa Rayven

Wicked Heart (Starcrossed #3)

Author: Leisa Rayven

Publication: May 3rd, 2016

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Format: Kindle Edition, 320 pages

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Read: April 2017

Leisa RayvenGoodreads

 

 

Synopsis
Liam Quinn is talented, gorgeous, and one of the biggest movie stars in the world.
He’s also the only man Elissa Holt has ever truly loved.
After being out of her life for six years, he and his gorgeous fiancé are set to star in the new Broadway show Elissa is stage managing. The only trouble is, when late night rehearsals bring Elissa and Liam together, the line between what is and what could have been gets blurred, and one moment of weakness will lead to a scandal that echoes around the world.
Elissa knows that falling for Liam again would be a tragedy in the making, but as any good romantic will tell you, love doesn’t always follow the script.

Critically

Plot – 3.5 out of 5 stars
Obviously considering the genre, there’s romance and drama (both in life and in theater production). The story line was kind of predictable. There was a lot more lying and cheating than I was expecting and that I wanted. I was hoping this book would be similar to the earlier stories but it wasn’t. However, the ending was really sweet.

Writing Style – 4 out of 5 stars
I always find New Adult books to be really easy to read and easy to get addicted to and this one is no exception. This book is fast paced, fun and sexy. There are some angsty parts and lots of drama, both on and off stage. Even though I didn’t like the direction the story took at times, I still liked the writing.

Characters – 4 out of 5 stars
I didn’t really like the main characters of this book as much as the ones from the first two books. Those grabbed my heart and wrenched it out of my chest but this relationship in this one wasn’t as emotionally impactful or as swoon worthy.
Elissa had a side character role in the first two books and I was really interested in seeing more of her personality in this book. She’s strong, smart and determined. I really liked her work ethic and how well and comfortable she is at her job. I felt bad for her in some moments. She was heartbroken and reluctant to open herself up to everything that was happening. However, she was still swept away by feelings and romance and stuff. I kind of wanted her to be tougher but it was okay.
I wasn’t the biggest fan of Liam. He was charming but also kind of an ass. He has a jealous streak and he’s aggressive. He also doesn’t make the best decisions and I had a lot of trouble understanding where he was coming from. As for the side characters, I was really happy to be able to see some of the old side characters and I quite liked the new characters introduced in this book as well.

Emotionally

I was really looking forward to reading this book and while I didn’t love it as much as I wanted to, I think it was enjoyable overall.

The plot was dramatic. We follow Elissa, a stage manager on Broadway who has just taken a job where her ex-boyfriend is the star and it’s the first time she’s going to see him since he left her for an acting career and an actress co-star. Immediately from reading the synopsis and first few chapters, I knew exactly how the plot was going to play out and what the hidden conflict was going to be. I was still into the story and was interested in what was happening but it wasn’t as addicting or engaging because it was really predictable. My favorite thing about the first two books in this series was the fact that there were alternating timelines that told the story. This one also had that feature but it didn’t do it the same way that the first books did. This one had the back story all together in a couple chapters back to back and it just didn’t have the same storytelling affect. I didn’t particularly like the way the story played out. There was a lot of cheating, lying and sneaking around involved. Because I had an inkling of what the conflict of the story was, I wasn’t as affronted but it just seemed so cheap in general. I’m the kind of person who prefers honesty, communication and slow development in relationship and this one is pretty the opposite of all of that. I’m glad the main characters got together because they did have a lot of chemistry and history together. I just wasn’t the biggest fan of the way they came out rekindling their relationship. I still enjoyed that there was a lot of mention of the play and the way it worked. I liked seeing that part of the first two books as well and I’m glad that kind of drama was highlighted as well haha. The ending was sweet and I loved seeing the main characters from the other books make an appearance. I was quite happy with the way the whole series managed to wrap itself up.

I liked Elissa but I kind of feel like she got taken advantage of a bit. She was quite determined to keep to herself and to stand her ground. I liked that she wanted to make sure her job came first and that she was professional and polite. But she was easily persuaded to through all of that away from this dude. I guess she’s fine with it because they ended up together but I kind of feel like she should’ve been able to stand her ground and to resist more. I would’ve liked the relationship better if they had taken their time and waited for the play to be over before getting together and giving in.

Liam is kind of an ass. Honestly, he’s one of the male characters that I’ve disliked the most. He was really aggressive and jealous. I didn’t like how he felt entitled to know about Elissa’s life even though he wasn’t a part of her life for years. I guess their relationship was nice and I’m glad they were happy together, I just didn’t ship it. Which is really strange for me which is what I usually do in books. As for the side characters, I loved Josh! He was such a positive personality within the book and I loved how he had Elissa’s back and pushed her when she needed it but protected her too. I loved their friendship and one of my favorite things about this book is that it shows two very sweet, platonic male and female friendships. I definitely appreciated it being shown that guys and girls can be friends and that’s it.

Overall, I kind of wanted more from this book. I’d been looking forward to it for so long but it just didn’t live up to my expectations. I didn’t really like the main male character and the way the relationship developed wasn’t the way I usually enjoy to read. I liked the new and old side characters and the way the whole series wrapped up because it was really sweet.

So that’s it for this post! Wanted to share it before midnight but I didn’t finish it on time haha. I’d love to know what you all thought about this book. I know a lot of you romance bloggers have read it and I can finally chat about it with you which is so exciting! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Wicked Heart by Leisa Rayven

Leave a Reply

