Book Review – A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3)

Author: V.E. Schwab

Publication: February 21st, 2017

Publisher: Tor Books

Format: Hardcover, 624 pages

Genre: Adult, Paranormal, High Fantasy, Historical Fiction

Read: May 2017

V.E. Schwab — Goodreads

 

Synopsis
Witness the fate of beloved heroes – and enemies.
THE BALANCE OF POWER HAS FINALLY TIPPED…

The precarious equilibrium among four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise.
WHO WILL CRUMBLE?
Kell – once assumed to be the last surviving Antari – begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. And in the wake of tragedy, can Arnes survive?
WHO WILL RISE?
Lila Bard, once a commonplace – but never common – thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magical trials. But now she must learn to control the magic, before it bleeds her dry. Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery of the Night Spire collects his crew, attempting a race against time to acquire the impossible.
WHO WILL TAKE CONTROL?
And an ancient enemy returns to claim a crown while a fallen hero tries to save a world in decay.

Critically

Plot – 5 out of 5 stars
This should be a surprised to no one, I loved this book! The plot was action packed and intense. It had its slow moments but it didn’t take anything away from my enjoyment. It had death, violence and sacrifice. There was mystery and we learned more about the history of some of the characters. There was love, magic, family and friendship. IT WAS SO GOOD!

Writing Style – 5 out of 5 stars
Schwab is one of my favorite authors of all time so I absolutely adore her writing style. It’s fast paced with multiple and complex points of views throughout. It’s emotional and intense. It explores the past as well as shows the present using descriptive and detailed scenes. It can be slow sometimes but it’s so addicting!

Characters – 5 out of 5 stars
MY BABIES! I can’t believe that this is my last book with my babies, that is so heartbreaking. Every single character that has crossed the pages of this series made me feel something and that’s priceless for me.
Kell is a little cinnamon roll to me! He’s grown so much and yet he is still the same. He’s determined to save everyone he loves but he also knows the stakes they’re up against and he’s torn and worried. I love how he managed his fears and the need to be brave, it was really inspiring to me. He was also super kind and I love him.
Lila is one of my favorite female characters of all time. She’s brave to the point of being reckless. But I love her passion and her tenacity. She charges head on into any obstacle, no matter what and while it freaks me out because I want her alive, I kind of look up to that kind of fearlessness.
I was really excited and happy to see that we got Rhy and Alucard’s points of views in this book. We got so much more background on Alucard and how he got into the situation when we first met him. It was also very important to see how Rhy was handling all the changes he was going through and everything that was happening to his capital and it all squeezed my heart to its smallest size (in a good way haha).

Emotionally

Reading this book was an amazing and heart wrenching experience. It’s such a bittersweet feeling to finally call this series over and finished from my end.

The plot was intense. We pick up right where the second book leaves off: Lila travels to White London to save Kell while the ultimate evil moves to Red London to try and control it. This book took my heart to pieces. From beginning to end, its an emotional and intense ride full of ups and downs. I could not get a grip. Honestly, from the moment that I held that library book, I was on a high of anticipation and dread haha. I honestly did not think that the world could get any bigger than it already was, but Victoria continued to expand on it. Not only do we get to expand more on the language, and on the magic system, but we also get to explore much more from Arnes aka Red London. It astounds me how much imagination Schwab really has in that head of hers. It’s insane! New artifacts, new cities, new side characters and all of this in the last book of the series yet it felt completely necessary and as a much needed part of the plot. There were so many different things going on in this story. Every time the characters were getting close to getting the upper hand, I had a little panic attack haha. I wanted everything to end well for everyone and I wanted everyone to be safe and happy. It didn’t actually happen like that but it was close! It’s really hard for me to articulate how amazing I think this book is because I don’t want to give anything away but I want to express everything that I loved about it! One of my favorite things was seeing more of the history behind some of the side characters. We get to learn more about the King and the Queen as individuals as well as about their relationship. I always wanted to know more about them, there were such prominent characters without ever having to have that big of a role within the story and it was very interesting to see more of their lives before the events of the books. We also get an in depth look at Holland and how he grew up in White London. It just made my heart ache for him all the more. Honestly, I was so scared that the characters weren’t going to make it out of this one. Things get so incredibly intense, I was on the edge of my seat until the final moments but the ending was absolutely perfect and everything that I wanted it to be.

The characters of this series are my babies. Each and every one of them has a special place in my heart, some corner where they buried themselves in and have decided to never leave. I’ve connected to each of them in some way and I’m really going to miss seeing their adventures. Kell and his uptight attitude and kind of haughty nature are both hilarious and frustrating. He’s the one we’ve gotten to know the most inside and out in my opinion and I think that he grew and learned a lot throughout the series. I liked that his life has kind of taken up a hopeful tone for the future. Lila and her struggles with opening up to love and to people is something that I can connect to a lot. While she kept all her inner demons and secrets to herself, I tend to shower them on people so they get scared and want to leave me. I understand that uncertainty with feeling like you’re a part of something but not really wanting to be a part of it 100%. I really loved her character and her personality and her growth and I’m gonna MISS HER SO MUCH! Holland is one of those characters that has the bad luck of the draw. He’s been an anti-hero from beginning to end and one of the most complex characters out of the entire series. Getting to finally learn more about his childhood definitely changed some of my perspectives on him and made me want to look beyond his actions to his emotions. His story line is the most bittersweet in my opinion and I kind of wanted something different for him. Yet at the same time, I totally understand why everything happened the way it did for him. We didn’t meet Alucard until the second book and I kind of thought of him as a playboy at first but that’s definitely not the case. You learn a lot more about him in this book too and I have to be honest and say that he slowly won me over. His desperation in this book is heart wrenching and I had no choice but to start rooting for him! Rhy is definitely a standout for me in this book in particular. He’s definitely up there with Holland for the toughest story line and I kind of wanted to just wrap him up in my arms and protect him forever. I learned a lot about his character and his integrity in this book and I was extremely proud of the man he became throughout the series. In the first book, he’s such a jokester and it’s such a huge contrast from the person he is when the book ends.

The relationships in this book are so complex and intricate and just real. I loved every romance, every friendship, every bromance, every meaningful relationship that had the chance to blossom as the series went on. While all the action and the drama is great, I think what really makes me love this series is the way the characters and their lives and their interactions feel real to me. They transport me to a world that is 100% true somewhere in the universe.

Overall, I’m sure you can all tell that I absolutely adored this book. I’m so sad to see this series come to an end but I’m even more excited to see what more Victoria has up her sleeve. She’s easily become one of my favorite authors of all time through the course of this reading journey and now all I want is to go back to A Darker Shade of Magic and start the journey all over again.

So that’s it for this post! I’ve been struggling a bit with getting these out and with trying to keep up with everyone else posting (I haven’t blog hopped in over a month I think), so I’m going to be reducing the amount of posts I share per week. I had it at four to five posts per week but I’m going to lower it to three, four towards beginnings and ends of each month for wrap ups and stuff. And though it pains me deeply, I will also cut down to only one review per week instead of two. I hope at some point to be able to go back to twice a week but I have to try to get my life in order a little bit more. Thanks to all of you who stick around and who still like my posts, you don’t know how much it means to me. I hope you’ll continue to stick around as I continue to try to find my groove again. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

9 thoughts on “Book Review – A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

  1. I’m so excited to read this book, and your review made me even more pumped to do so!! Thanks for such an awesome review.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. THIS WAS SUCH A PERFECT ENDING BUT MY HEART STILL HURTS SO BAD 💔😭 I love this series, the world and characters SO MUCH. Everyone really stood up in this book and I’m so proud of all of them. I love my kids 😭 So happy you loved it too, Sara ♥ Great review!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

