Book Traveling Thursdays Jun. 22nd – Book You Want to Read This Summer

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is Summer is here! Choose a book you want to read this Summer. There’s a lot of books that I really want to read this summer. Starting with all the ones I have on my TBR, to a whole bunch of new releases and older books that manage to grab my attention from the library shelves. I decided to pick one of the books from my TBR of next month that I hope to be able to read soon.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. I’ve heard a lot of great things about this book from a couple of different bloggers and booktubers. I’ve heard great things about the writing style but not a lot about the story as a whole. I’m willing to give it a try though and see how it is.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

 

These are the two covers that I’ve seen most in the US. The second one I believe was the first cover ever released for this book and the second is the cover change which stayed and continued with the rest of the series. Correct me if I’m wrong please! I don’t really like the second cover as much. I don’t understand what it means so maybe that’s one of the reasons I’m not a fan. I can’t say that I love the first one that much either. I enjoy the theme of the series but in person they don’t look as good.

My Favorite Cover

   

Oh my goodness, I cannot handle the gorgeousness of all of these covers! The first is the UK cover I think. I’m not really sure what edition it is but it’s absolutely beautiful in a picture as well as in real life. The purple color shimmers and glows in the light! The second cover is the Portuguese one and I think the illustrations are beautiful. Obviously the red doors from above have an important meaning since its illustrated in this cover too. I like the way the model is similar to the main character as I’ve heard she has blue hair too. The last cover is the Italian Paperback and I have to be honest, the only reason I like it is because I’m obsessed with feathers. I used to collect them when I was younger and while this cover is super simple, it’s absolutely beautiful.

My Least Favorite Cover

     

I know that all of these covers are versions of the original one (which I didn’t like that much anyway) so these aren’t the best. The first one is the most similar, it’s the Turkish cover but I just think it’s a cheap imitation of the original. If you’re basically gonna do the same thing, keep the real image! The second is another Italian cover but I hate the way the model is positioned. The background on the bottom is sloppy and the font looks cheap. Not a fan. The third one is the German cover and I just think it has too many images and illustrations to make it pretty. The last one the model looks more vampire like and the fonts are just not appealing, sorry Dutch people. The worse thing is that my family is Dutch but I hate most of the covers.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

send-off

10 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Jun. 22nd – Book You Want to Read This Summer

  1. I haven’t read this series yet either, but I’ve been hearing fantastic things about it – definitely needs to be on my TBR 🙂 I hope you’ll enjoy it when you get to it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read this book last year, I think, and unfortunately only enjoyed it a bit because I felt like the romance was insta-lovey. I’m also not a fan of any of these covers (haha) but I can definitely attest to the beautiful writing style and the world-building – hope you enjoy it if/when you get to it. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This book is still on my TBR too, I have the UK cover with the purple flowers and it is really pretty the way the light hits the feathers it looks so good.
    I actually got it on a second hand book website and it’s hard cover, first edition and amazing condition for like £2.50. I need to pick it up! I’ve heard mixed things too though so i’ve been apprehensive!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

