T5W Jun. 28th – Hate to Love Ships

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Favorite Hate to Love Ships. I went many through my Goodreads read list (as I always do when it’s time for T5W) and I realized that I don’t tend to read that many hate to love romances. It took me a little while to put the list together and I don’t think I would classify any of these as favorites but you guys will see!

SO let’s get started!

#5: Garrett and Hannah
from the Off-Campus Series
by Elle Kennedy

I had a list of couples but I’m now doing this post at my mom’s house so I’m winging it haha. I don’t think I had these two on the original list because it always escapes me that they’re a hate to love romance. Because I know the end so well, I tend to forget that it took them a little bit of struggle and antagonism to get there. I’m currently making my best friend read this series because I think it’s great so you should all check it out!

#4: Alasdair and Beatrice
from the Maids of Honor Series
by Jennifer McGowan

This is a hate to love beginning that was more one sided haha. The girl was definitely not feeling him, did not want anything to do with him but he kind of wore her down by being charming and kind and sweet and smart. I think it took too long for her to realize that she actually was into him but in general, I enjoyed their dynamic.

#3: Cole and Isabel
from the Wolves of Mercy Falls Series
by Maggie Stiefvater

This relationship is kind of toxic which is why I mentioned that some of these aren’t favorites on the top. These two hate and love each other in intense ways and it’s more of a back and forth relationship than the usual hate to love tropes. I didn’t particularly like this book that was centered on the two of them since I don’t like their relationship but I had nothing else to put on this list.

#2: Magnus and Cleo
from the Falling Kingdoms Series
by Morgan Rhodes

I don’t want to say everything that I feel about this couple but I will just say that the burn is good and worth the wait!

#1: Devlin and Opal
from the Glass Trilogy
by Maria V. Snyder

This relationship is also kind of toxic. I’m not the biggest fan of the way this relationship starts at all. They’re in two completely different sides and the development of the relationship is kind of strange and sort of implausible. I liked the way the ending of the series was and their relationship makes sense but the way they got there was a bit strange.

So that’s it for this post! Took me a little while and I don’t think I’ve done this topic justice so please let me know what kind of hate to love relationships you like! I need some recs to see if I can fall in love with this trope like so many other people have. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post.

One thought on “T5W Jun. 28th – Hate to Love Ships

Leave a Reply

