T5W Jul. 12th – Children’s Books

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Favorite Children’s Books. The description of the topic on the group’s page says it can be Middle Grade books as well but that we do our best not to recommend Percy Jackson or Harry Potter. However, because I don’t read a lot of kids’ books and it’s my fucking birthday, I will be recommending them!

SO let’s get started!

#5: The Polar Express
by Chris Van Allsburg

This was one of my favorite books of all time when I was little. My grandma gave me my copy of this and she would read it to me all the time even when it wasn’t Christmas because I just loved looking at the illustrations.

#4: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (The Chronicles of Narnia #1)
by C.S. Lewis

I haven’t read this book in a really long time haha. I don’t actually remember when I read this but I do remember the first time I watched the movie and it was amazing. Part of me kind of wants to re-read this book and try and finish the series because it’s so iconic but there’s so many books I want to read!

#3: Holes
by Louis Sachar

I vividly remember the first time I read this. I was in fifth grade and we had our first student teacher and she was the one assigned to give us a lesson on this. I remember we watched the movie after we finished the book and I still absolutely adore the song at the end haha.

#2: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Harry Potter #1)
by J.K. Rowling

Here it is! Like I promised! If you haven’t read Harry Potter for the first time yet, you definitely should. The only reason this is number two on this list is because I read it for the first time last year and I haven’t developed an intense and overwhelming love for it yet.

#1: The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1)
by Rick Riordan

My favorite children’s series by far. I read it 2014 I think but it definitely left an impact. It’s absolutely hilarious and entertaining and it was so much fun to read! I kind of wish I could experience it for the first time again but I want to re-read it soon to see how it feels the second time around.

So that’s it for this post! I broke the rules and talked about Harry Potter and Percy Jackson but I DON’T CARE! It’s my birthdayyyy! I will probably not be around much today so I’ll answer any comments you leave tomorrow. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

18 thoughts on “T5W Jul. 12th – Children’s Books

  1. Oh YAY! I chose a great day to blog hop! lol HAPPY BIRTHDAY SARA!!!! *throws confetti* this is a great T5W, I actually am thinking of p/u a copy of The Polar Express for my 2 tiny humans, it really does have STUNNING illustrations *heart eyes* I have NOT yet read Holes *for shame* it’s the 1 book my hubby holds over my head for not having read lol, one day I’ll read it. A list is NOT a list w/out HP or Percy so that rule makes no sense haha! I hope you’re enjoying your birthday <3!!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANK YOU! haha Honestly, I always think TPE is great for kids. I would definitely recommend it as like a Christmas bedtime story for the first time. It’s okay if you havent read that one yet, not everyone read it in school haha I had a great birthday honestly πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • OMG that’s actually a great idea!!! my 6 year old daughter would love that, thanks Sara! I’ll be buying it closer to Xmas time πŸ˜‰ & I am so happy you had a great birthday, hope you had some good cake too πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

