Book Review – The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan

The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of Apollo #2)

Author: Rick Riordan

Publication: May 2nd, 2017

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Format: Hardcover, 414 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Mythology

Read: June 2017

Rick RiordanGoodreads

 

 

Synopsis
Zeus has punished his son Apollo—god of the sun, music, archery, poetry, and more—by casting him down to earth in the form of a gawky, acne-covered sixteen-year-old mortal named Lester. The only way Apollo can reclaim his rightful place on Mount Olympus is by restoring several Oracles that have gone dark. What is affecting the Oracles, and how can Apollo do anything about them without his powers?
After experiencing a series of dangerous—and frankly, humiliating—trials at Camp Half-Blood, Apollo must now leave the relative safety of the demigod training ground and embark on a hair-raising journey across North America. Fortunately, what he lacks in godly graces he’s gaining in new friendships—with heroes who will be very familiar to fans of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus series. Come along for what promises to be a harrowing, hilarious, and haiku-filled ride. . . .

Critically

Plot – 4 out of 5 stars
As always with Rick Riordan, this book was funny and entertaining. It was action packed and intense, full of ups and downs and fast paced. I loved the adventure aspect and how there is always something new that the characters have to overcome, it keeps the story exciting. It’s complex and fun and I have a great time while reading.

Writing Style – 4 out of 5 stars
Again, really fun and entertaining writing style as always. It’s simple, easy to read and full of information on Greek mythology that I really enjoy learning about. However, I’m still struggling with Apollo’s POV. He’s not as laugh out loud funny as I was expecting. He’s self-confident bordering on egotistic and can be annoying sometimes.

Characters – 3.5 out of 5 stars
Like I said above, I’m struggling with Apollo’s POV. I feel like he sounds much older than I’m used to reading from YA books yet at the same time, his personality sometimes grates on my nerves.
Apollo is getting better but because he’s a god, he’s still self-centered and vain. He’s definitely growing through the series but it’s not as much as I would want though I understand why. He can be annoying sometimes specially when he’s constantly scared of everything that’s happening to him. I like the moments when he pushes through his fear and is brave and caring. I want that to happen more often.
One of my favorite parts of this series is being able to see where some of my favorite older characters are. This one has a few more characters that were prominent in the Heroes of Olympus that I loved and it’s just great to see them kick ass and take names still.

Emotionally

I am still not completely sold or in love with this series like I wanted to be. I’m trying because the biggest issue is my own preferences but I just can’t seem to get past Apollo’s personality.

The plot is fun. We follow Apollo as he travels with some demigods with the goal of restoring the Oracles of the world. There’s something about Riordan’s books that I learned from this one in particular. Each one shows the plot moving slowly through different crazy scenarios or challenges that the characters have to go through until they reach a big reveal that propels them into the plot for the next book. I can still enjoy the formula, it’s obviously something that works for this author and that he’s perfected over the years. I still love it and can be pulled in by it but I guess in this book it became more obvious and not as fun to read through, which I think comes from my struggles with the point of view of the book. But at the same time, there were some specific scenes that I really enjoyed and that I found interesting and entertaining and the kind of fun that I’m used to having with his books. The action sequences were really fun to read and kept me on the edge of my seat. There were several throughout the book which I loved! There was also a lot of great scenes where we get more insight into Apollo’s past and how it all connects to the current story and what he’s going through which I really enjoyed. The only thing that’s really faltering for me as a whole is the humor. With the first two of Riordan’s Greek series, I’ve become used to laughing out loud and having the best time with the story. But with this series in particular it isn’t as easy for me to get lost into the book. One of my favorite things about this author and his stories are the fact that they’re educational yet easy to get lost in kinds of reads but this series and this book in particular just ignite the same feeling in me. However, I’m still enjoying the way the story is going and I’m really interested to see how the rest of the series will play out. I’m really intrigued by the goal of restoring the Oracles because I never knew that there were more than one so I can’t wait to learn more!

Apollo is annoying as fuck. I’m sorry, I swear I tried because I had the same issue in the first book. My best friend was like cut him some slack, he’s a god, he’s not gonna act the same as a demigod but dang it’s really hard. I understand why his personality is the way he is. He’s a god first and foremost, they notoriously care about themselves more than anything else. That doesn’t just go away because he’s now in the body of a teenager but it just rubs me the wrong way. I also learned  through fellow book readers that a lot of the more questionable parts of his actions throughout his mythology are glossed over in this book. I don’t necessarily agree that we need to use graphic descriptions about his more negative actions in mythology but it shouldn’t be ignored or romanticized in these books in anyway.

I absolutely love the side characters of this series, so much more than Apollo. There’s several other adult characters involved which is something that I love about Riordan’s series. Their relationship with each other is really endearing and I love the guidance and care that they give to the demigods they encounter. One of my favorite characters is still pretty prominent in this book which I adored but I have a feeling he won’t be around as much in the third one which makes me sad. Meg is still a character that I’m trying to warm up to. I feel for her and I like her personality most of the time but she’s also kind of rude and closed off which makes it hard to get to know her. I am interested to see how many more new and/or old side characters will show up as the series progresses.

Overall, I liked this sequel. The plot was fun and entertaining, though the regular formula for Rick’s books is more obvious than usual. Apollo is still annoying but I can see that he’s growing as a character, slowly but surely. I’m looking forward to seeing how the rest of the series goes from here.

So that’s it for this post! I finally shared something this week guys! I miss you all. I really need to find some time to blog hop soon because I feel like I’m missing out on so many things. I would love to know if you guys have read this book and what you think of this particular series so far. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

7 thoughts on “Book Review – The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan

  1. I had similar feelings about this one! I LOVED the first book to pieces, but this one just didn’t have the same feel to it? Not sure if it was Second Book Syndrome or just because I loved how much the first book was set at Camp Half Blood, haha. I actually love being in Apollo’s head, but I totally get how it wouldn’t be everyone’s jam! The ending of this one has me super excited for the 3rd book though. Hopefully that one’s better for both of us 😀 Great review, Sara!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really loved the first one, but this one was a bit disappointing to me. I did enjoy it, but far less than the previous one and I felt like it was a bit of a filler book. I can see why Apollo annoys you, though personally I love him haha. Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it ^^
    I know what you mean when you say you’re still not completely invested in the series and in Apollo. I feel the same way. I love it, but I still have my issues with it. It’s why I had to rate The Dark Prophecy 3.5 stars – the first time ever I rated a Rick Riordan book less than 4 stars.
    Great review (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

