T5W Jul. 26th – Series That Got Better

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Series That Got Better. I’m actually really happy to say that I’ve read several series that I feel got better as the books continued. That’s one of my favorite kinds of series to read honestly. When each book gets better and better and the finale manages to blow you away, it’s a great time all around!

SO let’s get started!

#5: The Lunar Chronicles
by Marissa Meyer

The hype for this series is pretty big in the book community but when I read the first book, I was severely disappointed. It was really predictable and the characters didn’t really make much of an impact on me. However, as the books went on, the plots become more complex and intertwined and the characters were a lot more interesting. I’d recommend this series if you can wade through the first book and are actually interested in the entire story.

#4: Shatter Me Trilogy
by Tahereh Mafi

Again, another series that started off bland for me. The first book was okay, not bad, not good but as the series went on, the plot became more complicated and the characters’ were more engaging. This series as a whole is more of a romance than a dystopian so once I accepted that, each book got better and better.

#3: Jackaby Series
by William Ritter

This series is sooo good! I really enjoyed the first book but each one just gets better and better. There’s more action, new paranormal creatures, more laughs and the plot of each book becomes interconnected with the ones before in the most unexpected ways. The last book in this series is coming out soon and I’m so excited to see how everything will wrap up. I hope it’s amazing like I want it to be.

#2: Finishing School Series
by Gail Carriger

I’m a huge fan of Gail Carriger and her books but this series was a bit of a struggle in the beginning. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the main character and her point of view because I wasn’t used to younger characters from this author. But as the story went on, she won me over and the plot of the series got even better. I also loved seeing some of my favorite older characters in a different way within this series.

#1: Fire and Thorns Trilogy
by Rae Carson

Last but not least, this series is absolutely amazing! The first book is good, really good. However, you don’t really know where the series is going just yet so it wasn’t absolutely amazing. But the books after that are just mindblowingly good. I want to keep raving about this series because there’s not enough people reading it in my opinion and you all should give it a shot!

So that’s it for this post! Thanks for sticking with me guys. I’ve made some changes to my schedule and I’ve cut down on the posts I’m doing. This year has just been really busy and it’s going to keep getting busier for me but I never want to stop blogging or stop this connecting I have with you guys. I am trying to blog hop again soon so I can reconnect with friends, let me know if you’re new here and would like me to check out your blog! Let me know what you think of my choices this week. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

23 thoughts on “T5W Jul. 26th – Series That Got Better

  1. Ohhh great post, Sara! I agree with you on The Lunar Chronices, it just gets better and better, I love it so much! ❤ I'm glad you said that Etiquette and Espionnage gets better as well – I read the first book but wasn't too convinced by it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. great post Sara! I read Cinder and never ended up moving on, I don’t think its a series for me. I do want to try out Shatter Me and Etiquette and Espionage though, their on my TBR which I need to get to soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with you that the Lunar CHronicles just gets better and better, though I would say that my favorite is Scarlett. I have Jackaby in my shelve to be read and I’m so glad that you liked it. Now I want to read it more! Hopefully I’ll get to it soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These are a lot of great books to check out c: I’m glad they’re all on my TBR. I recently finished Cinder and I felt the same way. It’s not amazing but I’m pushing on because I’ve heard so many times that it just gets better.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Awesome awesome awesome! I have yet to finish The Lunar Chronicles. I read Cinder and Scarlet and haven’t picked it up since. I didn’t really enjoy Scarlet, however I heard that Cress and Winter are soooo worth the read. I definitely plan on finishing the series this year.

    I also really need to pick up Soulless by Gail Carriger, I have heard amazing things. I even read up to 70 pages once but I was on vacation at the time and never picked it up again. The little I did read, piqued my interest. Hopefully I get to read all her books. All I have heard is praise for this author.

    I always wanted to pick up Jackaby and one day I will! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

