T5W May 17th – Summer Reads

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Favorite Summer Reads. I tend to read a lot of contemporary in the summer for some reason, sometimes even some urban fantasy. This year right now I’m reading a lot of New Adult and I’m kind of addicted since I had my NA themed month. They’re super easy to read and fly through so I’m going to share a mix of entertaining YA and NA that I really enjoyed.

SO let’s get started!

Read More »

May ’17 TBR – Mental Health Theme

Hello everyone!

I’m kind of nervous about this month. When I made this theme last year, I didn’t really think that’d I’d be struggling with my own mental health during this month. However, I’ve been wanting to read some of the books on this list for a really long time so I’m gonna give them a chance. I’ll also be able to get some library books if need be and I can always read some of the New Adult books that I didn’t get to last month to relax a bit.

SO let’s get started!

Read More »

April ’17 Wrap Up

Hello everyone!

Compared to March, April has been pretty laid back. I had to study a lot of math because of an assessment test that I had to do but since I didn’t have much to do out of the house so I had a lot of time to read. Not only that, but I got to go to the library a few times throughout the month. Let me know if you guys would like to see what I haul from the library in my wrap ups because I’d be willing to do so. Besides that, I read quite a few books this month though there weren’t as many stand outs as I would’ve liked.

SO let’s get started!

Read More »

April ‘ 17 TBR – New Adult Theme

Hello everyone!

I’m really looking forward to this month! I’m a big fan of New Adult though I haven’t read it in a really long time. Considering how little I’ve been reading lately, I hope this month will help push me to read a bit more. These books are usually easy to read for me and I fly by them really fast, the last time I had a NA month I read 18 books so it looks like it might be a good month. I also hope to not be so busy, cross your fingers for me!

SO let’s get started!

Read More »

The Lunar New Year Book Tag

the-lunar-new-year-book-tag

Hello everyone!

I’m here today to share a tag with you! I haven’t done one since December so I’m feeling kind of rusty so bear with me. I was tagged by the awesome Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts who created this tag with Tiff @ Mostly YA Lit all about the Lunar New Year. I don’t really know much about this particular celebration but I know it was actually on January 28th and (as found on Tiff’s post) it revolves around the Chinese zodiac, which based on the year you were born and a corresponding animal. There are 12 animal signs and they each represent different personalities. They created the book tag based on those.

SO let’s get started!

Read More »

January ’17 Wrap Up

wrap-up-january-17-logo

Hello everyone!

Can you freaking believe that it’s the last day of January?! Like when did this happen?! How is life moving so fast? There are so many crazy, fucked up things happening in the world right now and I just want to tell all of you beautiful book people that take the time to read my ramblings, that I’m so thankful that you’re alive. I’m so thankful that you are the person that you are and I hope you know that you are loved! Now that I’m done with being a bit sappy, I’m gonna tell you what I did this month!

SO let’s get started!

Read More »

Book Review – Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger

book-review-last-call-at-the-nightshade-lounge

last-call-at-the-nightshade-lounge-cover

Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge

Author: Paul Krueger

Publication: June 7th, 2016

Publisher: Quirk Books

Format: Kindle Edition, 288 pages

Genre: New Adult, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal

Read: January 2016

Paul KruegerGoodreads

 

 

4-stars1

Synopsis
In this sharp and funny urban fantasy novel, booze is magic, demons are real, and millennial Bailey Chen joins a band of monster-fighting Chicago bartenders instead of finding a “real” post-college job.
Bailey Chen is fresh out of college with all the usual new-adult demons: no cash, no job offers, and an awkward relationship with Zane, the old friend she kinda-sorta hooked up with during high school.
But when Zane introduces Bailey to his monster-fighting bartender friends, her demons become a lot more literal. It turns out that evil creatures stalk the city streets after hours, and they can be hunted only with the help of magically mixed cocktails: vodka grants super-strength, whiskey offers the power of telekinesis, and rum lets its drinker fire blasts of elemental energy. But will all these powers be enough for Bailey to halt a mysterious rash of gruesome deaths? And what will she do when the safety of a “real world” job beckons?
This sharp and funny urban fantasy is perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World, and grown-up readers of Harry Potter. Includes 14 recipes from a book of ancient cocktail lore.

Critically

Plot – 4 out of 5 stars
I really liked this book which was kind of surprising for me. I feel like the premise is really new and interesting, I’ve never read anything like it before. It’s action packed, there was mystery, it was entertaining and I enjoyed it. I liked that the paranormal creatures described and involved were unique. There was some graphic descriptions but the ending was conclusive though slightly open ended which is great!

Writing Style – 3.5 out of 5 stars
The writing style is really simple, descriptive and detailed. I found that the world building was really interesting and thorough, there were a lot of special elements that made it so much easier to understand and to immerse myself in. It’s kind of graphic but also kind of funny and engaging. I was really invested in the book while reading and flew through it.

Characters – 3.5 out of 5 stars
I liked the majority of the characters in this book but they all have their annoying moments. Some of their decisions and actions were questionable and irritating but in general, I liked them and their personalities and they made the story fun and entertaining. Bailey is kind of annoying but I really liked her determination and bravery. She actually reminded me (and my book club) of me which I don’t really know what that says about me since she has a kind of anal and obsessive personality. She’s smart, hardworking, curious, kind and defiant. She had moments when she was kind of petulant and moments where I just wanted to shake her silly but overall, I liked her as the narrator. There are quite a few side characters in this series. Some that I loved that totally brought a lot of energy and joy into the book and into what was going on. Others that I did not like at all and that I was totally suspicious of. However, I feel like they were all really individual and complex by themselves. Some weren’t as fleshed out as I wanted them to be and I would’ve wanted to get to know them a lot better but they all added something special to the story. There was a lot more drama than I was expecting, specially for an urban fantasy book and we definitely talked about that in our book club book chat. Some of the characters had shitty stuff happen to them and that made me so sad and this whole paragraph makes no sense, sorry guys haha.

Emotionally

Read More »

T5W Jan. 25th – Favorite Underrated Books

t5w-jan-17-25

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Favorite Underrated Books. I have a really hard time with the word underrated. I never really know how to classify a book as underrated. I know there’s a lot of books that I’ve read that not many people that I know have read as well, but that doesn’t mean anything in comparison to the rest of the world. So what I did was go on my read shelf on Goodreads and picked the books that I’ve enjoyed the most that have the lowest average rating.

SO let’s get started!

Read More »

Top 10 Books of 2016

top-10-books-of-2016

Hello everyone!

It’s that time of year where I talk about my favorite books of 2016. I did this last year as well and on the very last day of the year too. It’s very important for me to spend every single moment that I can reading to make sure that this list is super accurate, because you never know, I could read a new favorite in this last week of December!

I will be sharing the books, their Goodreads link, my review if I have one and two sentences for why I love them.

SO let’s get started!

Read More »

Book Traveling Thursdays Dec. 29th – 2016 Is Coming to an End…

btt-dec-29

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is 2016 is coming to an end… Choose a book you want to read in 2017! Obviously, there’s a huge gigantic list of books that I want to read next year. Starting with all the new releases and continuing with all the books that I didn’t manage to get to this year that I really want to read still! So this one was kind of hard to choose but I picked a book that I’m really surprise I didn’t pick up this year because I was really anticipating it and I want to make sure to pick it up in 2017.

SO let’s get started!

Read More »